We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Cove Waterfront Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
North Cove Waterfront Suites
Ranked #24 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Madeira, Portugal
1 review
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Travelled from Europe with family.
From the moment we arrived at Northcove we were well looked after by the owners Sam & Rob. Nothing was a problem for them.
The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Ours had just been repainted and our parents room had been refurbished only a few weeks prior.
The pool is large, clean and we did laps most mornings. Two BBQ areas which were superb.
We were given good advice regarding our day trips and all the bookings were dealt with by Sam. Toaster broke on day 3 and we had a new one within 10 minutes. Now that’s service.
I noticed a comment about the airport on other reviews and have to say that this is a load of rubbish. We stayed for three weeks and we thought that the peacefulness of the place was excellent. As a matter of fact it is so quiet that we slept most days well into the morning. More than I can say for some of my other friends who stayed closer to the city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banjo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    46
    13
    4
    8
See reviews for
59
42
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

The apartments are located away from all the noise of the city but there are still loads of places to eat and drink and its a really easy, flat walk into town. The apartment was clean, tidy and had everything we needed for a self contained unit. Spent most evenings in the pool, very nice and relaxing, right next to the BBQ so we didn't have far to go from pool to food. We got the Managers to book all our trips, we never had to worry about anything other than deciding which to go on, but we took their advice and really enjoyed them all and would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funsun028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

We had an apartment meant for 4 and were told if we used the other bedroom and bathroom we would be charged and on the day of checking out if we did not tidy away and clean all kitchen items we would be charged I think $20-50.
it was clean and the beds comfortable. there were 2 leather sofas in the lounge area and in the kitchen black granite worktops. dishwasher and all the usual cooking facilities. one problem here was the notice that warned of the sensitivity of the smoke alarm and so as not to have the fire department arrive and be charged a heafty fine we were advised to open all doors and windows when cooking but that let in the mozzies and I fed them well.
I believe the apartments are under refurbishment.
There is aircraft noise but it never woke us but we were on the ground floor.
Our nephew made the booking for us for 3 nights and we chose to stay another 2, when we asked for a price we were offered them for $30 less per night as they were offering standby rates.
We were on a tour of queensland and the rain forests for 2 weeks.
English expats run this place and they were one of 2 places to charge us the same rates as Aussies were charged. everyone else insisted we pay the high season prices....rip off the tourist season i think.
pool is smaller than in the picture but we still enjoyed our swim.
The managers were helpful and also booked our excursions at the same price as others were charging.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkabout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

These apartments in no way resemble the pretty pictures on their website.
On arrival it looks old and tired, with the pool area small and uninviting.
Our apartment was dirty. with only the most perfunctory cleaning having been done before we arrived. lower shelfs had inches of dust and under the couch seats was weeks of debris, small change and even toys! We found dying cockroaches upon waking on two separate occasions. Both the furniture and the appliances are of the cheapest available, not at all what you would expect of an establishment of this star rating. Mismatched crockery, carelessly folded blankets, extra furniture shoved wherever, a safe that did not work. The only member of staff we ever saw was on the day we left.
The apartments are on the side of the Esplanade closest to the airport so you will be woken every day at 6 am by jumbo's taking off for international flights. This is not North Cove's fault of course, but something you should bear in mind if you wish to book here, which I personally don't recommend. It is also not practically feasible to walk into town, which means you will have to drive in always and pay for the parking meters.
If all this sounds a bit mean spirited I have to say this is the first time I have written an unfavourable review on anything on the web, and that my comments in my opinion are completely justified.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank loricait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.3 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#42 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edge Apartments
Edge Apartments
#47 of 89 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Getaway On Grafton
Getaway On Grafton
#15 of 89 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vision Cairns Esplanade
Vision Cairns Esplanade
#20 of 89 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cove Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cove Waterfront Suites

Property: North Cove Waterfront Suites
Address: 275-277 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Cove Waterfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Cove Waterfront Suites is ideally situated on the Cairns Esplanade, set in its own lush tropical gardens, overlooking the Esplanade parkland and the shores of the Trinity Inlet Located at the Northern end of the Cairns Esplanade, we are away from the main central area of noise, but within walking distance to Cairns city centre, restaurants, shops and the Casino Featuring one, two and three bedroom air-conditioned fully self contained apartments that have been designed with style,comfort and convenience in mind, North Cove Waterfront Suites is an ideal choice for business or pleasure, for small or large groups or for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your North Cove Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing