We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Regis City Quays
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed September 24, 2006

The City Quays in Cairns was an excellent base for attending a meeting at the nearby conference centre. The rooms are new, clean and well equipped. The small kitchen area was a great facility and a group of brits had a great ozzie barbeque on the roof. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Wilko45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Park Regis City Quays
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 539 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2006

Ok.. so it aint the Ritz but....

I stayed here for a conference for 4 nights in a studio room, for these purposes hotel was good.

Rooms - Near new, and spotless, not somewhere you would want to spend hours, but hey who goes on holiday to sit in a hotel room. Bathroom was clean with a good shower. Only complaint, the bed was hard as a rock.

Amenities - Rooftop pool and BBQ area was good, the provide additional towels for swimming at reception. Room had a Microware and Fridge.

Staff - Alway cheery and helpful

Location - Close to convention centre, reef terminal and just far enough off the main drag to be relatively quiet, but only a couple of minutes walk from all the action

Price - is the clincher here, it is a good hotel for a great price. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Elektricblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2006

The location of this hotel was excellent, BUT the little things were missing. We had a one bedroom apartment which did provide microwave and oven etc but we had to ask for a toaster. The cleaning of the rooms was done about 2.00 in the afternoon and this only after I rung up reception to get it done. We ran out of towells and had to ask for more and then every day had to re ask for more than the usual amount of one per person, which was not enough for three adults who apart from swimming also was into running etc. Ran out of toilet paper, tissues, soap, dish washing liquid etc. No pens and pads to write down any notes. Not decent TV chanels and no TV guide. Generally we found for the money we paid it was definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nzwestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

We stayed in Cairns city for one night before moving out to the beaches. Its OK for that - but we stayed in a studio and it had no kitchen facilities other than a microwave/fridge so had to go for a take away. Only problem was that there was no take away anywhere near!

Room is OK - no sofa, you just sit on the bed, and there were one or two things missing (like batteries in the TV remote, and light bulbs in the lamps)

If you are going to stay in Cairns on holiday for any more than 1 night then head off to the Northern Beaches. One bedroom apartments may be better but I'd still head for the beach areas.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triggeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2006

Most of the staff at this hotel were terrible.
I requested two morning "wake up" calls and once i didn't even get one and the other was 10 mins late.

I asked a member of staff to book me a taxi for the airport, but they were reluctant to do so. They were more intrested in chatting using MSN messenger.

There was no safe in the hotel and also they didn't have any foreign adaptors. They even had the nerve to ask me to purchase my own.

Stay away until their staff get training in customer service.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank notsure-cruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2006

I stayed here for 3 nights in March 2006. I picked this hotel as I arrived early in the morning and they have a 24 hour reception. They don't run a shuttle service to the airport but its less than $10 per run. Reception were fairly helpful and contacted me almost immediately on email when I had some questions. The room was quite large and clean. Everything is still pretty new. I had a TV, small fridge etc. The shower room was decent. There was a shared balcony with tables, chairs but I did not go out there much. The room has air con and a fan. There was a small pool area. The hotel has an excellent location - it's close to the esplanade about 10 mins walk to Cairns Central shopping/railway. I would consider using again. Consider booking direct to the hotel as the rate I payed through a travel agent was quite a bit higher than the rate the hotel were charging.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveGifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2006

New hotel that is perfectly located - close to bars, restaurants, shops and the reef terminal.

We got a fantastic deal on a 4 night stay in October of last year as the hotel had only recently opened. The staff were courteous & helpful & the whole hotel was spotless.

The room was a decent size & was modern, bright & air-conditioned.

We had a small balcony with a table & 2 chairs. There wasn't a great view, (see attached picture!), but it was nice to have a drink in the sun.

The only criticism I would make is that we were a little disappointed with the rooftop swimming pool, the water was a funny green colour & there was only two sunloungers!

If you want to visit a nice beach I would recommend getting a bus or taxi to Palm Cove which is only about half an hour from Cairns - truly stunning.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stazran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Regis City Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis City Quays

Address: 6 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $101 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Regis City Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Regis City Quays invites you to discover Cairns and surrounds by providing the ultimate base during your next visit.With the Esplanade, harbour foreshore, restaurants, shops, Night Markets, Reef Casino and Marlin Marina merely a short stroll away; you are close to everything that makes Cairns a great destination. For guests attending tradeshows, conferences and other events, Cairns Convention Centre is conveniently located directly across the street from the hotel.Spectacular sights and experiences await you in Cairns. Take advantage of Park Regis City Quays’ tour booking service and find yourself snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, sailing the crystal blue water on a catamaran or white water rafting on the Tully and Barron Rivers…the options are endless.Whether your stay is for business or pleasure (or a bit of both) – Park Regis City Quays is your ideal ‘home away from home’ whilst in Cairns. Extended and long stay guests are welcome at Park Regis City Quays - click here for more information.Relax and unwind in your modern hotel room or one/two bedroom self-contained apartment – all with individually controlled air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans, internet access, cable TV and most with large balconies. To enhance our guests’ experience, our superior rooms have recently been given a fresh new look including new pillow top beds and bedding, modern desks/work areas and new technologies such as iPod docking stations and high definition LCD TVs.Make the most of Cairns’ fantastic weather and cook up a classic Aussie meal at our rooftop sundeck and BBQ area. Afterwards, take a relaxing and refreshing dip in our outdoor swimming pool – perfection!Park Regis City Quays ensures a truly peaceful and relaxing retreat during your next visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Regis City Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Regis City Quays Hotel Cairns
Park Regis City Quays Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing