We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Regis City Quays
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“OK for one night”
Reviewed September 11, 2006

We stayed in Cairns city for one night before moving out to the beaches. Its OK for that - but we stayed in a studio and it had no kitchen facilities other than a microwave/fridge so had to go for a take away. Only problem was that there was no take away anywhere near!

Room is OK - no sofa, you just sit on the bed, and there were one or two things missing (like batteries in the TV remote, and light bulbs in the lamps)

If you are going to stay in Cairns on holiday for any more than 1 night then head off to the Northern Beaches. One bedroom apartments may be better but I'd still head for the beach areas.

  • Liked — In city for a meeting the next morning
  • Disliked — In city and no facilies anywhere near
  • Tips/Secrets — Try a 1 bed apartment
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triggeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    225
    96
    27
    25
See reviews for
98
197
50
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2006

Most of the staff at this hotel were terrible.
I requested two morning "wake up" calls and once i didn't even get one and the other was 10 mins late.

I asked a member of staff to book me a taxi for the airport, but they were reluctant to do so. They were more intrested in chatting using MSN messenger.

There was no safe in the hotel and also they didn't have any foreign adaptors. They even had the nerve to ask me to purchase my own.

Stay away until their staff get training in customer service.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank notsure-cruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gifford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2006

I stayed here for 3 nights in March 2006. I picked this hotel as I arrived early in the morning and they have a 24 hour reception. They don't run a shuttle service to the airport but its less than $10 per run. Reception were fairly helpful and contacted me almost immediately on email when I had some questions. The room was quite large and clean. Everything is still pretty new. I had a TV, small fridge etc. The shower room was decent. There was a shared balcony with tables, chairs but I did not go out there much. The room has air con and a fan. There was a small pool area. The hotel has an excellent location - it's close to the esplanade about 10 mins walk to Cairns Central shopping/railway. I would consider using again. Consider booking direct to the hotel as the rate I payed through a travel agent was quite a bit higher than the rate the hotel were charging.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveGifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2006

New hotel that is perfectly located - close to bars, restaurants, shops and the reef terminal.

We got a fantastic deal on a 4 night stay in October of last year as the hotel had only recently opened. The staff were courteous & helpful & the whole hotel was spotless.

The room was a decent size & was modern, bright & air-conditioned.

We had a small balcony with a table & 2 chairs. There wasn't a great view, (see attached picture!), but it was nice to have a drink in the sun.

The only criticism I would make is that we were a little disappointed with the rooftop swimming pool, the water was a funny green colour & there was only two sunloungers!

If you want to visit a nice beach I would recommend getting a bus or taxi to Palm Cove which is only about half an hour from Cairns - truly stunning.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stazran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2006

Brand new building just off the esplanade with all the bars shops and tour offices for the reef. I think the hotel would be better described as a serviced apartment our room which was a double room rather than an apartment was quite small although it was spotlessly clean had a fridge tea/coffee making facilities , iron and board but had only a shower and no bath and air con. Room had a little balcony with table and chairs but not much of a view. You could clearly see the apartments and they looked a lot bigger so would go for one of those if not to expensive.Hotel has a pool and free BBQ on the roof unfortunatly when we wanted to use the pool one evening none of the lights were on so we asked reception who told us they were on a timer and could not be turnede on manually, other than that I would stay here again for the location.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Regis City Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis City Quays

Property: Park Regis City Quays
Address: 6 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Regis City Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Regis City Quays invites you to discover Cairns and surrounds by providing the ultimate base during your next visit.With the Esplanade, harbour foreshore, restaurants, shops, Night Markets, Reef Casino and Marlin Marina merely a short stroll away; you are close to everything that makes Cairns a great destination. For guests attending tradeshows, conferences and other events, Cairns Convention Centre is conveniently located directly across the street from the hotel.Spectacular sights and experiences await you in Cairns. Take advantage of Park Regis City Quays’ tour booking service and find yourself snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, sailing the crystal blue water on a catamaran or white water rafting on the Tully and Barron Rivers…the options are endless.Whether your stay is for business or pleasure (or a bit of both) – Park Regis City Quays is your ideal ‘home away from home’ whilst in Cairns. Extended and long stay guests are welcome at Park Regis City Quays - click here for more information.Relax and unwind in your modern hotel room or one/two bedroom self-contained apartment – all with individually controlled air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans, internet access, cable TV and most with large balconies. To enhance our guests’ experience, our superior rooms have recently been given a fresh new look including new pillow top beds and bedding, modern desks/work areas and new technologies such as iPod docking stations and high definition LCD TVs.Make the most of Cairns’ fantastic weather and cook up a classic Aussie meal at our rooftop sundeck and BBQ area. Afterwards, take a relaxing and refreshing dip in our outdoor swimming pool – perfection!Park Regis City Quays ensures a truly peaceful and relaxing retreat during your next visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Regis City Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Regis City Quays Hotel Cairns
Park Regis City Quays Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing