We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,variable service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Regis City Quays
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Well situated in very close proximity to Convention centre, however service was variable. Rooms were not ready until 3.00pm. We wouldn't have minded if staff had been honest about this rather than keeping on promising it would be only another 5 minutes. Otherwise staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Rooms did not seem to get a full service each day; certainly carpets were not vacuumed daily. There was only a sheet on the bed...the blanket in the wardrobe was too stained and dirty to contemplate using. There is no breakfast room which could be an inconvenience for some. Satchets of milk were avaiable in the fridge however had obviously been there a while as two were green on opening!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KayPChCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear KayPchch

Thank you for taking the time for your email after your recent stay with us at the Park Regis Cairns. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused during your stay.

Your comments have been received and will be investigated fully with the Housekeeping department and staff. I thank you for bringing these matters to my attention.

Park Regis Hotel Cairns is strongly committed to providing a high standard of facilities and customer service and we very much value your comments and views in this instance.

Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Park Regis Hotel Cairns in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Wayne Booth
General Manager
Park Regis Hotel Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 561 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Super large one bedroom apartment with decent size of balcony facing the pool from next door's hotel. Spacious and clean! We were impressive of tspas use of one bedroom and cleaness compared to the previous apartment we stayed. The sofa is a bit dirty that I saw a lilltle bug crawling out. Overall, we enjoyed the two nights stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

While the apartments are conviently located...two minute walk to convention centre or esplanade the whole place is pretty tatty. Starting with the coridoors, they are marked and poorly patched , carpets are not properly vacumed and have a strange smell which is really offputting.
The room themselves are spacious but have also seen better days while the bed linen and towels are reasonable quality and clean the couches in the apartments are grotty and badly need cleaning and again the apartments have a strange smell. Internet is available but not wifi and you have to pay an additional fee.

We had a two bedroom apartment which is a really strange arrangment they are not actually two bedroom more like one bedroom withan ajacent room but with no connecting door which is strange and isolating for the person in the second room who doesnt even get a key for the kitchen area....just werid !!

On the plus side reception staff were friendly and efficent but given the number of choices in Cairns I definately wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderingirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear Wanderingirl23


Thank you for taking the time for your comments on trip advisor after your recent stay with us at the Park Regis Cairns. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused during your stay.

Your comments have been received and addressed with the relevant departments and staff. I thank you for bringing these matters to my attention. And with layout of the 2 bedroom Unit this is very common style in Cairns and is what you call a dual keyed apartment

Park Regis Hotel Cairns is committed to providing a high standard of facilities and customer service and we very much value your comments and views in this instance.

Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Park Regis Hotel Cairns in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Wayne Booth
General Manager
Park Regis Hotel Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My 'superior hotel room' - more like an apartment - was modern, sleek and comfortable. My room was on the side of the building so it faced another building next door and was always windy on the small balcony. A room at the front of the hotel would have excellent views. The hotel had no restaurant but there are so many in Cairns that it didn't matter. It was in a very good position being handy walking distance to the city centre and The Esplanade. There are terrific views from the rooftop where the swimming pool is.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneTom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Disappointed that I was not told that I had to pay the full amount for 4 days upon checking in. It was our 40th wedding anniversary and I wanted something special, however as we had already paid we were trapped.

View from the room was a concrete wall. Very thin walls, noisy people in next room. No room service at all during our 4 day stay, towels were not even replaced. Had another 5 nights in Cairns and were offered the same room for the same price. However we managed to get a beautiful hotel, one of a large chain at a much cheaper price and were treated the way we should have been. I will never stay at the Park Regis again, nor will I ever recommend this.

Room Tip: Before checking in and paying for your accommodation make sure you ask to see the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trevarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear Trevari

Thank you for taking the time for your email after your recent stay with us at the Park Regis Cairns. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused during your stay.

Your comments have been received and addressed with the relevant departments and staff. I thank you for bringing these matters to my attention.

Park Regis Hotel Cairns is committed to providing a high standard of facilities and customer service and we very much value your comments and views in this instance.

Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Park Regis Hotel Cairns in the near future.

Yours sincerely



Wayne Booth
General Manager
Park Regis Hotel Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

just got here and the room is amazing. facing the courtyard, a large balcony, double bed and spacious living and dining room/kitchen area. Here for the International Coral Reef Symposium and they have water saving features on the toilets and shower.
There is a guests only swimming pool on the roof. too cold for this time of the year if you ask me.
Downsides:
there is no dining inside, but it is just as well because there are lots of restaurants nearby.
You can hear the nightclubs and the upstairs guests at night.

Room Tip: top floor so you do not hear the neighbors stomping around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LenoDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for 3 nights. We were very impressed, this place was great value for money. The room was clean, modern and a good size with a very comfortable bed. The only negative aspect was the lack of free parking although paid parking was available, however due to the great location we were able to walk to most places we wanted to go like the esplanade, casino etc and leave the car at the hotel in the free parks. As a bonus with our booking, a 1 hour free internet voucher for each day and a continental breakfast was included which was very convenient. Our room even had a nice balcony with a decent view. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molly_Moo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.8 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Regis City Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis City Quays

Address: 6 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $78 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Regis City Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Regis City Quays invites you to discover Cairns and surrounds by providing the ultimate base during your next visit.With the Esplanade, harbour foreshore, restaurants, shops, Night Markets, Reef Casino and Marlin Marina merely a short stroll away; you are close to everything that makes Cairns a great destination. For guests attending tradeshows, conferences and other events, Cairns Convention Centre is conveniently located directly across the street from the hotel.Spectacular sights and experiences await you in Cairns. Take advantage of Park Regis City Quays’ tour booking service and find yourself snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, sailing the crystal blue water on a catamaran or white water rafting on the Tully and Barron Rivers…the options are endless.Whether your stay is for business or pleasure (or a bit of both) – Park Regis City Quays is your ideal ‘home away from home’ whilst in Cairns. Extended and long stay guests are welcome at Park Regis City Quays - click here for more information.Relax and unwind in your modern hotel room or one/two bedroom self-contained apartment – all with individually controlled air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans, internet access, cable TV and most with large balconies. To enhance our guests’ experience, our superior rooms have recently been given a fresh new look including new pillow top beds and bedding, modern desks/work areas and new technologies such as iPod docking stations and high definition LCD TVs.Make the most of Cairns’ fantastic weather and cook up a classic Aussie meal at our rooftop sundeck and BBQ area. Afterwards, take a relaxing and refreshing dip in our outdoor swimming pool – perfection!Park Regis City Quays ensures a truly peaceful and relaxing retreat during your next visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Regis City Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Regis City Quays Hotel Cairns
Park Regis City Quays Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing