We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oakwood not good at all”
Review of Oakwood Theme Park

Oakwood Theme Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oakwood Theme Park is Wales' Biggest Family Adventure located in Pembrokeshire, West Wales. With over 35 rides and attractions spread over 90 acres of spectacular countryside, we have something to offer the whole family. Whether you are looking for young adventure, family adventure or adrenaline adventure, you will have an amazing fun filled day out!
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“oakwood not good at all”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

i want to oakwood twice when i was young it it was good then, but now its is boring and looking very tired and tatty - i have been to super other theme parks and they are so much better - food was not good and it was expensive - which is the usual thing with these parks.
When we got there we waited for this little train to come into the station only to be pused out the way my other people - my child was very upset and i was not happy - so we had to walk - it not far anyway - first impressions while waiting for the train the pictures looked good - but once he it was not so good
For a normal fee to get its £36. for 1 adult and 1 child - a wee bit too much for this theme park - some of the rides ie the fun factory and other parts were closed - due to construction????

I see they are doing a neverland part to the theme park - opening soon - so they say -I bet they put up prices to pay for that

I wont be going there again and i wont be reccommding the park to no one at all

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodThemePark, Jess Spooner - Marketing Manager at Oakwood Theme Park, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review, it is always good to get customer feedback to enable us to exceed customer expectations.

Our new area 'Neverland' with 10 new attractions is now open to the public and with most rides suitable for children ages 2+, as well as Neverland new for 2013 is 'Circus Land' aimed at children under 5 which includes a coster, carousel and sand pit.

Our prices for 2013 are fixed at 2012 prices, even with all these new additions to the park so we hope you return soon to experience the magic of Neverland, you will not be dissapointed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    375
    392
    331
    416
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mixed experience - great family fun but overpriced food/drinks”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visited the park - 3 adults, 2 children - on the early May bank holiday Sunday.

Plus points: Kids had a great time on the rides and the day was all the more enjoyable thanks to short queues and great weather.

Minus points: Unfortunately, a lot of the food outlets were closed and the few that were open, were overpriced. £6.50 for a jacket potato or £3.95 for a (lukewarm) bowl of soup. Although the hot drink plus 2 doughnuts for £3.00 was reasonably good value.

If we were to return, we would pack a picnic - there are no other food outlets within easy reach of the park - it has a captive audience - it can't be that difficult to cater reasonably priced, healthy food for so many visitors, can it ?

As my 10 year old nephew sagely commented, after seeing a small drink priced at £4.00 - "I'm not surprised they can afford £4m rides with prices like that !"

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alderberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great fun!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

visited on 2nd May 13, with a group of students from London......what a fantastic day out we all had....the sun was shining, and the park wasn't very busy so there was no queuing for the rides. All the rides were open and some were a little daring for me, but all the students went on all the rides not once but sometimes three times. Food is a little expensive, but then i suppose being a theme park you are a captive audience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodThemePark, Jess Spooner - Marketing Manager at Oakwood Theme Park, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, its always fantastic to hear our customers have had an enjoyable and fun experience at the park.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING !!!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

visited today with my family and had one of the best times ever. The adrenalin rides are awesome. Speed and Megafobia got a BIG thumbs up from all of us. The weather was really good which might have helped the atmosphere, but everybody seemed to be enjoying themselves. The staff were very pleasant and seemed like being there.
Food was a little overpriced but it was to be expected really, at least it tasted great.
Overall I would say this was a brilliant day out and I would certainly recommend Oakwood to friends and family

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodThemePark, Jess Spooner - Marketing Manager at Oakwood Theme Park, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review, its fantastic to hear you had an fun day out at the park and enjoyed our catering outlets.

we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Fun in the Sun!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Well I was apprehensive about our weekend in Wales from London to start with but had the BEST weekend - made even better by my first trip to a theme park, I am now addicted to rollercoasters!!

Speed on a sunny day - highly reccomended - Thanks Oakwood!!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank justjessLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakwood Theme Park also viewed

 

Been to Oakwood Theme Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing