We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the centre of Brisbane. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 62 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oasis in the centre of Brisbane. ”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night. Wish we had more time to stay more nights. Lovely hosts. Very welcoming and we really enjoyed chatting to both of them. Look forward to staying with them again. Forget the big chains and stay where the hospitality is provided.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cortinatf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    58
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
183
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here when doing a training course in the CBD which was easy to walk to after a delicious breakfast and we could leave a car there whilst we attended it. Very comfortable with all the facilities we needed and great service from the owners.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alimas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at One Thornbury recently with a female friend when we went to a show in Brisbane. Geoff's greeting was friendly and his help with directions and parking was very welcome. We stayed in the top room, a comfortable well decorated two bedroom suite with plenty of room to relax. We were sorry not to have more time to enjoy the garden sitting area and delicious breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

I really felt at home at this bed and breakfast. This was the last leg of our trip in Australia and we stayed at the Park Hyatt in Sydney and the Hilton in Cairns. Both were lovely, but here at One Thornbury I felt like I was staying with relatives. The rooms are very nice with top quality linens and towels that you won't get from a chain hotel. The owners are lovely and cook you a homemade breakfast each morning! This was my first bed and breakfast stay and I'm sure I will return if ever I'm in Brisbane again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casuarina, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Couldn't be happier with my stay, after eye surgery at a nearby hospital I was picked up by Geoff the B&B owner and taken back to the hotel to recuperate. Wonderful service and fully recommend this place for anybody looking for a peaceful place only a few minutes walk from central station. Beautifully fitted out rooms as well.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hapsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A secret surprise! Very friendly and professional welcome from the host, stunning modern room in a classic house. Very tasty omelette made by my host and what a remarkable outdoor/indoor seating and eating lounge. A true oasis in a busy city. Great breakfast again by a most attentive host. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 28Ninki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Decided to try a B&B rather than a 'traditional' and 'big' hotel chain.
Really happy we did and really pleased with One Thornbury - an intimate experience in a traditional Queenslander house.
Close to the city , close to the station , good personal service , great room.
Will be back.

Room Tip: Because we wanted a slightly different experience we took the Sky Train from the airport into Brisba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sammyblackstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
0.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.3 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
1,140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Brisbane Fortitude Valley
0.3 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#8 of 157 in Brisbane
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Thornbury St | Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Thornbury is an affordable boutique Bed & Breakfast less than 1 km from the Brisbane City Centre. The property is a quaint (circa 1886) heritage "Queenslander" cottage with loads of style and character. We offer a casual alfresco Garden Lounge and ideal spot to relax/unwind and enjoy complimentary drinks/snacks, free WiFi and large screen TV. Shuttle bus (con-x-ion shuttle services) and Train services are available to/from the airport. Contact us for details. We offer daily/weekly B&B as well as a whole-of-house rental package, ideal for that special City gathering of friends/family or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing