We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience & Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 62 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

New owner has made some nice improvements to an already good bed and breakfast accommodation option which close to the city but easy to access and doesn't have the crazy parking costs of inner city hotels - will return

Room Tip: I prefer the layout of the 2 front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank YanniBannani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 356 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

great location near Fortitude Valley easy walk to venues & restaurants, comfortable rooms, air conditioned & secure, nice garden area for drinks and breakfast, friendly hosts, wi-fi is free, free coffee & snacks

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank smarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed at One Thornbury for one night. The room was lovely. Very clean and comfortable and with lots of nice touches, like fresh milk and chilled water in the fridge. It is the little touches that really demonstrated the proprietors were interested in the comfort of their guests. I loved the garden breakfast room and lounge and had a lovely breakfast there.

The service was wonderful. Even though I was only there for one night, Geof showed me to my room, let me leave my bags for the day and helped me with directions to the city. He even carried my bags to my car on my departure!

I will not hesitate to stay again and to recommend One Thornbury to all my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kategb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My partner and I stayed at One Thornbury in January and we LOVED it. We've stayed in B&B's around Australia and in Europe and THIS one makes you proud to be Australian!! The owners Kerry and Geoff looked after us and there were so many lovely touches - delicious afternoon tea and breakfast and the rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean. An historic, classy and quiet location very close to the Valley and City of Brisbane - wonderful for dining out and an easy walk to our business meetings during the day! A special hello to "Carltie the B&B Cat" who was very welcoming and cuddly!!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equally nice - although the attic suite looks great for a group!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sal_star1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here 2 times at the beginning of our stay to Australia and cause we liked it so much at the end of our stay we added some days to stay here again. It is really lovely, quiet, beautiful cottage, with a very short walk you are in the city. My wife has a neural sickness and one day was late for a trip we had planned so I went ahead and gave her directions to meet me later. When Geof the man of the house got note of it he packed my wife in the van and drove her to our meeting place. Geof is someone that one likes to meet so far away from home. A real soul of a man. We can only recommend this place to travellers coming to Brisbane. They will leave with years of good memories looking back :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Armin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Beautifully appointed accommodation, with the old world luxury and charm of yesteryear! Very clean, central only a stroll into town with a great opportunity to view the city. Very welcoming owner and helpful. If you're looking for a private enjoyable and relaxed stay in Brisbane city you can't go wrong! Great spot between city and Fortitude Valley! Lovely place, exceptional owner! Travelled with my 19 year old son, even he enjoyed the place!!! MC

Room Tip: All rooms excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at One Thornbury from 9 till 13 March and we simply felt at home here. We've been traveling around the world for half a year and this B&B was one highlight of the whole journey. The place itself has a phantastic style and offers a relaxed atmosphere. The service was more than perfect. Geof and Kerrie helped us out with everything we needed and gave us useful hints about places to go (e.g. for dinner). And their cat is simply gorgeous!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#9 of 169 in Brisbane
818 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
0.3 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
0.8 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#15 of 169 in Brisbane
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Thornbury St | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range: $96 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Thornbury is an affordable boutique Bed & Breakfast less than 1 km from the Brisbane City Centre. The property is a quaint (circa 1886) heritage "Queenslander" cottage with loads of style and character. We offer a casual alfresco Garden Lounge and ideal spot to relax/unwind and enjoy complimentary drinks/snacks, free WiFi and large screen TV. Shuttle bus (con-x-ion shuttle services, charges apply) and Train services are available to/from the airport. Contact us for details. We offer daily/weekly B&B as well as a whole-of-house rental package, ideal for that special City gathering of friends/family or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing