We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, quirky and good value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edward Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edward Lodge
Ranked #3 of 66 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Byron Bay, NSW
Level Contributor
175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Friendly, quirky and good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Located in a quieter, leafy part of New Farm, Edward Lodge is well located for restaurants, cafés and shops without the bustle of the northern end of the peninsula. Close to the river, the ferry and a lovely park. A short stroll to the Powerhouse. The owners are friendly and welcoming, the place is comfortable and clean. Serve yourself breakfast buffet in the courtyard has a good feel. Strongly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DK9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    53
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
35
88
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The Edward Lodge is in the nicer and quieter part of New Farm. It's located in a leafy suburban street off the main Brunswick Street that runs right through New Farm and so there's lots of (free) street parking and the bus / ferry is just a stone's throw away within walking distance. I like old houses with character and Edward Lodge doesn't disappoint with its funny rooms and dark corners and a relaxed open garden area in the back dining area. I had the big room on the ground floor with a big comfortable bed, aircond, tea/coffee making facilities, TV, writing desk. The free wifi was an added bonus and it worked a treat. Just before going out to dinner, I sat at the writing desk, answering emails and confirming my flight, with the birds twittering outside and house noises in the background, it felt like home.The ensuite was separated by a sliding door and had kitschy black white floor, toilet/shower but no bath tub. I found that it is not as luxurious as it markets itself to be (boutique hotel) but having said that, I really had a peaceful night's sleep and felt it was worth the $125 that I paid for the room. I would recommend it if you want a peaceful place to rest and only if you don't mind old houses,

Room Tip: Only take the breakfast if it's free. It is just tea/coffee, bread, yoghurt and cereals. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalgoorlie Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Edward Lodge is accommodation with character. The place is oldish but very adequate for a night out in Brisbane celebrating New Years.
Very clean and nice touches added to the room we had. It also includes a simple breakfast.
I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Very quite residential street. street parking no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spooky476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This looks like an old house or previous boarding house building. Everything seemed pretty old and in need of some work. The walls of the rooms needed to be painted and the carpet looked worn. It's location is good, and they have a breakfast area where you can make your own light breakfast which was nice.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller4170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DancerA99, Owner at Edward Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2016
Dear Traveller4170,
Your review is from 2013 which is quite some years old now and relates to a time and management that is now long gone.
In 2016 Edward Lodge enjoyed extensive renovations, coordinated by one of Brisbane's finest interior designers, Harriet Redmond and has now been returned to its heritage best.
Built in 1912, Edward Lodge is a unique property, a hidden gem in New Farm. This Brisbane boutique Hotel has loyal followers who fall in love with the charm and come back time and time again.
We highly recommend a fresh visit to our new web page for the latest pictures and information.
We hope to see you here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The couple running the place were really warm and friendly and made us feel at home. We got an upgrade and the room was perfect and very clean.Excellent value for money. You can even do your laundry here just for 5 $ . If you´re looking for a more relaxed and quite place to stay this is definetly the place to stay but a bit far out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Jbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Staff went out of their way to help, felt like home, basic breakfast that you help yourself to, but is all you need. Old building with charm. Owners only bought it a few months ago and were doing some maintenance. Can't wait to see the changes next time we stay. Very comfortable large rooms. Not overly sound proof, but that's the only negative and it's not bad enough to stop us staying there again. Easy free parking.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyliem3437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I had decided to spend a weekend in Brisbane after attending the recent Caravan & Camping Expo in June 2013. We had decided to book in at Edward Lodge due to its proximity to all the important amenities and feel we had made a really good decision. The king size bed was so comfortable all thanks to a recent revamp by the new hosts, Barbara & Ray who have returned to the hospitality industry after a few years absence.

The unit itself was very comfortable with plenty of space and a nice outlook over the garden / courtyard area. Being so close to Newfarm also meant we were only a stones throw from lots of great restaurants and eating houses. (Try Zafron's for a great fusion of Moroccan / Turkish / Mediterranean food along with "Smoke" which is the place to go if you like your ribs in hickory sauce. (We even joined Ray & Barbara for Sunday dinner here for a huge meal which went down a treat)

The highlight for us however, was the incredible friendliness of our hosts, Ray & Barbara who very kindly allowed us an extra nights accommodation free of charge to compensate for some strolling minstrels who were staying at the lodge and who had been booked to perform a few venues in the area. The guys were really nice musos and despite being a little noisy after their night's performance somewhere up the road, were easy going and great people to chat with. They also would have appreciated having their shirts ironed by Barbara who was concerned the guys had typically left such important matters to the last minute. Talk about service!!

We've told a few people about this great place to stay and can recommend it without reservation. I'm confident we'll be booking in again on our next long weekend in the big smoke.

Greg & Jane

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#3 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
1.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#1 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
1.3 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#11 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edward Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edward Lodge

Property: Edward Lodge
Address: 75 Sydney St | New Farm, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edward Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation in Brisbane at Beautiful New Farm - Your boutique hotel! Situated in the leafy heart of New Farm, Edward Lodge is a Brisbane accommodation favourite for travellers of all kinds: families coming for a visit, old friends catching up and a romantic weekend enjoying the city. Built in 1912 Edward Lodge offers quiet enjoyment along with top notch Brisbane accommodation for our guests. Each one of our guest rooms has been individually designed with a private bathroom designer decorated to reflect the tradition and ambience of the building. This comfortable, boutique hotel offers spacious rooms, filled with light and atmosphere. The fittings and soft furnishings are carefully chosen to be consistent with 1912 style but with a 21st century interpretation. You'll love the colours which complement and enhance the rich interiors of the property. We've also paid attention to the things which make the travellers life worthwhile, well-proportioned rooms, the comfortable beds, crisp linens, soft towels and exclusive toiletries. And did we mention that a fresh continental breakfast is included when you stay at Edward Lodge, no extra charge? Featuring Byron Bay products, it's all ready for you each morning in our light, bright breakfast room downstairs, please help yourself. . And complimentary Wi Fi is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Edward Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing