We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean and friendly”
Review of Edward Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edward Lodge
Ranked #3 of 62 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic but clean and friendly”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at Edward Lodge over New Years and the lovely people there were so accomodating with us chaging our booking several times after our family pulled a few surprises on us which forced us to change our dates.

We had a room upstairs, not the biggest in the guesthouse but plenty of room for us. Aircon was good, had a little fridge and teeny tiny ensuite. The location is good, the price is good and the place is a little tired and home spun but clean and comfortable. We were surprised to have someone offer to make up our room and change our towels since we were only staying a few nights. One complaint was that it's advertised you can use the laundry but when we went to investigate the machine was all full of towels.

Overall, room 7 was probably a bit overpriced but since we messed them around so much with our booking we didn't mind. I'd recommend this place, but ask for one of the bigger rooms, they looked nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinynewcoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    57
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
42
99
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I ended up here due to a last-minute booking here during a business trip when prior accommodation plans with a friend fell through. It was $130 a night and for that I had a "comfortable, simple accommodation" to quote a previous tripadvisor reviewer! Unfortunately it has a feel of a boarding house rather than a Lodge - in the communal areas anyway. However once in my room, the furniture had an Asian feel - and to be honest felt more like a room in a friend's house than a lodge or a hotel - and a nice room at that. The room had a comfortable bed, a small fridge with tea/coffee making facilities. There was also a bathroom which although small, was perfectly adequate. One of the big bonuses is free wifi. But acid test -would I stay here again? No, I think there would be options that would better suit - even at that price.


g

Room Tip: I think Room 8 (on 1st floor) was one of the biggest (judging from the hotel room map on the inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I enjoyed my night at Edward Lodge. It's a lovely older house set in funky New Farm, close to shops, cafes, and the river. The rooms are clean and comfortable, though basic, and I found the bed to be very comfortable. The aircon in my room was good, too.
The kitchen was quite well set-up and there were plenty of breakfast essentials such as bread, cereals, yoghurt, juice, and fruit. The wifi was free and worked well.
My room was on the ground floor so the couple in the room above could be readily heard throughout the night - earplugs would solve that problem, though.
Good value for money for a small, cosy place in a great location.

Room Tip: Maybe an upstairs room would be quieter? I was on the ground floor and could easily hear the couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a pretty cute place (if you can find the reception) - the room is big and clean and nicely furnished. I am not sure that the owners have taking the desire to sleep into the plan though. The bed is the hardest thing I have ever slept on, a little like the floor with sheets!! We kept wondering what on earth had possessed them to choose that mattress.

The walls are thin and you can hear much from other rooms, above us it sounded like two people were dying of lung cancer.... so bring ear plugs and your own mattress and it will be wonderful.

I rang the place direct to book and my message was not answered so I eventually booked online with another site.

Room Tip: The ones near the front door are pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonip123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Good location close to all cafes, restaurants, galleries and theatre. Easy drive to Southbank. Clean and friendly. I think I might be converted to B & B's from now on, not so much ...processing and parking and noise.....more comfort, less speed which is in keeping with age and sagging arches...yeah good, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geezerart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were very happy with our 2 night stay here, its a good price for comfortable, simple accommodation. Edward Lodge has the feel of a boarding house but our room was well presented, with its own small but adequate bathroom, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a wee balcony. The things you need while traveling - a very comfortable bed and free WiFi were very much appreciated. We also liked the area of New Farm - a 5min walk to some very good cafes and an easy stroll to the city cat for a short boat ride to the CBD. If we could add some notes for improvement it would be that it would be useful to have some local information available re these great local cafes, transportation, maybe a map that sort of thing. Its not glamourous but its actually really good - thanks Noel !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed two nights at Edward Lodge and really enjoyed our stay. It is a very quiet accommodation in a suburb of Brisbane. The room was spacious, the mattress was good, the bathroom was clean. We also liked the basic continental breakfast. Edward Lodge is a 20 minutes walk from the city. You could also take the ferry, which is a very good idea, as you get a nice view of the city skyline. We would recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#6 of 157 in Brisbane
617 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
1.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
1,140 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 157 in Brisbane
1,040 reviews
1.3 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edward Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edward Lodge

Property: Edward Lodge
Address: 75 Sydney St | New Farm, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edward Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation in Brisbane at Beautiful New Farm - Your boutique hotel! Situated in the leafy heart of New Farm, Edward Lodge is a Brisbane accommodation favourite for travellers of all kinds: families coming for a visit, old friends catching up and a romantic weekend enjoying the city. Built in 1912 Edward Lodge offers quiet enjoyment along with top notch Brisbane accommodation for our guests. Each one of our guest rooms has been individually designed with a private bathroom designer decorated to reflect the tradition and ambience of the building. This comfortable, boutique hotel offers spacious rooms, filled with light and atmosphere. The fittings and soft furnishings are carefully chosen to be consistent with 1912 style but with a 21st century interpretation. You'll love the colours which complement and enhance the rich interiors of the property. We've also paid attention to the things which make the travellers life worthwhile, well-proportioned rooms, the comfortable beds, crisp linens, soft towels and exclusive toiletries. And did we mention that a fresh continental breakfast is included when you stay at Edward Lodge, no extra charge? Featuring Byron Bay products, it's all ready for you each morning in our light, bright breakfast room downstairs, please help yourself. . And complimentary Wi Fi is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edward Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing