We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, old fashioned comfort in great location.”
Review of Edward Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edward Lodge
Ranked #2 of 62 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2012

You could almost walk by Edward Lodge, thinking it a nice, private home in a trendy, popular suburb. With a lovely oriental style garden it provides a neat, nice, homely atmosphere for a budget tariff. The room has everything you need including cute kitchenette and spotless bathroom. There's aircon, internet, TV, even bath robes. The location is incredible. A stroll to the trendy Merthyr Centre with Italian outdoor cafes and specialty shops and boutiques. The beautiful New Farm park with its display of roses and river views is just down the road. My tip as an Art Deco collector is to make sure you admire the exquisite exterior of the Coronet Flats-
one of the most beautiful Art Deco buildings I have seen in this world. City Cats leave from the park and will take you to the museums and galleries or the CBD. Anything else of interest like The Valley and Chinatown are a quick cab ride away. If, like me you love finding something wonderful for a few dollars, Fortitude Valley has several trendy, upmarket second hand shops.
Overall, bargain accommodation in an amazing location!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelerose_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 256 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

Edward Lodge was clean and comfortable - not flash, but reasonably priced, so no worries there. Managers were friendly and the location was great for our visit.

We had a few hiccups as follows:
- We arrived one night late as our flight was cancelled and as we didn't give 48 hours' notice (we gave notice as soon as possible - that morning), we were charged for the missed night. This is understandable, but still frustrating.
- Our credit card was charged in NZD, when we specifically loaded AUS dollars onto our travel card - it meant we lost out on the exchange rate twice, costing us an extra $30, which again, was annoying. I don't know how we would have prevented this (we just handed the card over); but if you're using a pre-loaded currency card, make sure you're charged in the right currency before signing!
- The A/C was broken in our room on the last night and no other rooms were available - it was about 25 degrees, so with no fan, we didn't get much sleep.
- The bread for the self-serve breakfast was moldy.
- Other guests woke us up a few times, but that's not the hotel's fault!

All in all, an ok visit - had we not had the hiccups above, I would have given a higher rating.

Room Tip: The family suite (ground floor) is nice and large, but late-night kitchen users who don't shut t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrlew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

There was a full house at my mother-in-law's place this Christmas so we were just looking for a place close by drop our suitcases and sleep. Edward Lodge more than fit the bill - it really was like a home away from home. We were in and out so quickly though that we really didn't get the chance to enjoy the features of the place, such as the gorgeous garden (I caught a glimpse) or the breakfasts offered. The owners were so kind and accommodating - we arrived early on Christmas Day, before our room was ready, but the owners very kindly kept us informed and called us as soon as it was ready.

Apart from the convenience of the location for us personally (just being a round the corner from my mother-in-law's), it is located right near the cute New Farm shopping strip and it is only a short walk or bus ride to Fortitude Valley or ferry ride to the city.

My only criticism of the place is that the sound insulation isn't fantastic, but that would be the trade off for having beautiful timber floors in a large converted house. The hustle and bustle of people getting up, getting showered and checking out isn't conducive to a sleep-in, but otherwise, this is a wonderful, friendly place to stay. We'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Visiting my sons in Brisbane & came across Edward Lodge, a great find for easy accommodation for a short stay. New Farm is a lovely area with coffee shops, cafes easy walking distance. Hosts are very welcoming & present very clean accommodation, the best thing was fresh milk for my cup of tea! Will stay again.....

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairymeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This accommodation feels like a "home away from home". It is particularly good if you want to stay for more than a few days in Brisbane. Noel and Robyn are helpful and friendly hosts. Location is fantastic. New Farm is beautiful and everything you need for an extended stay is close by. Methyr Village has a coles supermarket and good little coffee shops. Can recommend this!

Room Tip: Ask for a discount for an extended stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthPip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

The service was friendly. The manager, Noel, carried my case up the stairs when I arrived and down again when I checked out. This seems to be a rarity in other places.

The deal includes breakfast, but it is self serve and very basic fare. I don't have a problem with this, but it is worth knowing that if you expect more.

The hotel is very clean and quiet. I put high value on both of those things. As observed by others, you need to ask if you want towels etc changed before a week is up. I was asked every day if there was anything that I needed so that I was comfortable.

It is time that Edward Lodge traded in the old TV sets. The remote only operated when we were standing close to the set.

I like New Farm very much. It's close to the City Centre and you can reach most things by City Cat.

There is free internet, but it disappeared for 24 hours. I hope this was a one off.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antigone50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We stayed at the Edward Lodge for three nights. The house is located in a very nice area. It is close to the City Cat stop so we could get to Brisbane CBD very easily. Shops and restaurants are also within 5 minutes walking distance.

The house itself is nicely decorated. We had a very spacious room on the ground level which had its own fridge, microwave and water boiler. Despite this excellent equipment the room was not all clean. There was quite some dust and the dishes were a bit dirty, too. The bathroom, however, was clean.

The king size bed was very comfortable. Our sleep was only disturbed by the noises on the corridor to the common area especially in the morning.

The hosts did not serve breakfast but there were toast, butter and jam, fruit salad and cereals, as well as coffee and tea making facilities in the kitchen for everybody to help themselves. We did not make use of this opportunity because neither the kitchen nor the fridge seemed to be particularly clean. Given the price we didn't expect breakfast at all, so we weren't really disappointed.

Overall, we do recommend the Edward Lodge as a good alternative to the rather expensive hotels to explore Brisbane.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groessner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#11 of 169 in Brisbane
676 reviews
1.3 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
0.9 mi away
Sage Hotel James Street
Sage Hotel James Street
#21 of 169 in Brisbane
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 169 in Brisbane
1,209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 169 in Brisbane
2,519 reviews
1.3 mi away
One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edward Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edward Lodge

Address: 75 Sydney St | New Farm, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range: $107 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edward Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation in Brisbane at Beautiful New Farm - Your boutique hotel! Situated in the leafy heart of New Farm, Edward Lodge is a Brisbane accommodation favourite for travellers of all kinds: families coming for a visit, old friends catching up and a romantic weekend enjoying the city. Built in 1912 Edward Lodge offers quiet enjoyment along with top notch Brisbane accommodation for our guests. Each one of our guest rooms has been individually designed with a private bathroom designer decorated to reflect the tradition and ambience of the building. This comfortable, boutique hotel offers spacious rooms, filled with light and atmosphere. The fittings and soft furnishings are carefully chosen to be consistent with 1912 style but with a 21st century interpretation. You'll love the colours which complement and enhance the rich interiors of the property. We've also paid attention to the things which make the travellers life worthwhile, well-proportioned rooms, the comfortable beds, crisp linens, soft towels and exclusive toiletries. And did we mention that a fresh continental breakfast is included when you stay at Edward Lodge, no extra charge? Featuring Byron Bay products, it's all ready for you each morning in our light, bright breakfast room downstairs, please help yourself. . And complimentary Wi Fi is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Edward Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing