We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd or 4th time unlucky!? No just bad service.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagelis Cafe & Bar

Vagelis Cafe & Bar
Ranked #367 of 4,263 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Cafe, Mediterranean, Greek, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London
1 review
“3rd or 4th time unlucky!? No just bad service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

A friend who lives in this area reccomended Vagelis for breakfast & actually droppd us off here. The food was nice but service from the start to finish was frustrating. When we first arrived we were left standing at the door for what seemed like a good 5 mins, then a waitress came over & said she wld b with us & then seemed to forget about us whilst another seemed blind to us until a regular appeared behind us. When seated the waitress didn't give us a menu. A couple who came in after us got served before us & only then did another a waitress notice we hadn't been served following my partners efforts to get another's attention. We ordered food, drinks & tap water. Glasses came for the water but no water arrived and when i asked for it, the waitress said as she was walking away "I don't think we have any spare bottles!
Food was good when it arrived but itwas a Thursday morning and wasn't mad busy so why the anoyingly bad service!?

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lbarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    74
    34
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Not sure if this place is under new management/ownership as we have been there a number of times prior to the last visit and had an enjoyable experience. However, last visit was very disappointing. Our main meals took two hours to arrive and two meals arrived after the other 6 were 3/4 eaten. Customer service was patchy - some staff great others not even on the radar.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jacknjill_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly awful service and average food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

. It was my first visit to this establishment, and it will also be my last.
The service provided by the staff was nothing short of appalling.
After being shown to our table (there were 2 of us for lunch), we were asked what type of water we would like, we asked to tap, and that’s exactly what we got, tepid tap water. Not cooled, no ice in our glass, just warm water.
After perusing the menu we placed our food and drink orders. I asked for a glass of rose – and was asked which rose? I had to point out there was only 1 type of rose on the wine list. Clearly the staff don’t bother to learn what is on offer.
I was then brought a bottle of rose, not the glass I requested.
When we had finished our meals, we had to wave to the group of 3 staff members who were standing around chatting, in order to request the desert menu.
I also ordered a flat white coffee, and was brought a short black instead.
Finally when we went to pay, we went to pay I noticed the ‘one bill per table’ notice. Really in this day an age where most people pay by either debit or credit cards??? What happens when 2 business people come in for lunch and both need to use a corporate card and also require a tax invoice?? . Customers should be advised of this rule when the initial order is taken so the orders can be taken separately and then rung up separately.
Also went we finally got to the cash register, we were asked what table we were sitting at, I pointed to our table and was told in no uncertain terms my the bad tempered young lady to ‘go back and get the number from the table’, and then come back and pay. Why was the bill not brought to our table when we had finished our meal???
Clearly the staff to give a damn about their customers, and do not understand the principle of no customers =no job.
the food was just average, and certainly not cheap. there are far better places to eat in the Ascot /Hendra area.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shanehb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An interesting meal, but maybe some identity confusion.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

We ate dinner recently on a Sunday night and whilst the food was tasty, it doesn't sit in a category easily. I had a greek main with an italian salad. Service was patchy, always polite and friendly but they all seem very young and slightly frantic. They ran out of the desserts as they get them delivered on Mondays. We used a cudo voucher and at no time were we made to feel inferior, or a nuisance, so 10 ot of 10 for their personalities, just feel they were all stressed over something and the worry rubbed off on the diners to some extent. Would I go again, maybe.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1navajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane, australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had purchased a voucher for dinner at Vagelis. We were not disappointed. It was a great night. The food was excellent and the service fast and efficient. The restaurant was quite busy for a suburban restaurant with couples, families and a couple of party groups. We will definately return.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisav29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vagelis Cafe & Bar also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Vagelis Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing