We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, good value Italian restaurant”
Review of Gino's Restaurant

Gino's Restaurant
Ranked #425 of 4,313 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“No frills, good value Italian restaurant”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I can see why this place has remained open for so long. It's good value, good wholesome food, and friendly no-attitude staff.

Luckily we were there for schnitzel and pasta though - early on a Thursday evening and they'd run out of pizza dough and spinach fettuccine!

Looks like a lot of locals go there - always a good sign.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OzRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    37
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
127 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian Fare beautifully done!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is a subtle little restaurant, with quite austere cafe-like decor, but they make up for the austerity with the most beautiful quality, tasty food. We checked in at Ginos one evening while walking back to our hotel, and had a very satisfying meal. We tend to be very critical of Italian food. After all, there are many Italian dishes which most of us cook at home regularly, so you would want the Italian restaurant experience to be something special. This certainly was the case here! The garlic bread was wonderful, the pasta superb and the sauces very tasty. They even have the old favorite Italian ice cream confections (tartufo, cassata etc) available for dessert. Prices were very reasonable and the serve size typical of most Queensland restaurants - quite large! It was quiet (a Sunday night) but I suspect this would be a very busy restaurant most times - it certainly deserves to be!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank josaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A local favourite”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We live nearby and this is our local.
Good, hearty and tasty food with no frills to the point that it's fun.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Tradition!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have been comming to Ginos for years. Unpretentious great tasting food and fantastic value. On so many levels this place could talked down but ultimately its always a great atmoshpher and satisfying meal at a brilliant price!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“This time we dined in.”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Having had good takeaway from Gino's, I convinced our party of 10 that Gino's was the right choice for our pre Cirque du Soleil dinner. The night we attended was extremely busy for this small restaurant and they did struggle due to staff absences. Nonetheless, the food was hot, tasty and presented in the traditional family style. Overall our party was very happy with the food and the value we received from Gino's. (I have since been back for more of their delicious takeaway pizza.)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foxylynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gino's Restaurant also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Gino's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing