We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views in prime position”

Alchemy Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with
Alchemy Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 4,325 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $49
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Alchemy Restaurant and Bar is a unique Australian dining experience. Located in a stunning position on the Brisbane River, the venue has an atmosphere of relaxed elegance inspired by the exquisite cuisine and the spectacular views. Perfect venue for private functions and special occasion. Owners, Brad and Angelica Jolly, have had a wealth of experience in restaurants in Australia and abroad. They are driven by a philosophy that incorporates the traditional values of exceptional service and the highest quality produce. They have consistently maintained Alchemy's commitment to quality. Voted Best Restaurant with the Brisbane Locales.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful views in prime position”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was at Alchemy for a dinner function recently - the staff were champions, the five-course degustation was absolutely delicious and did a wonderful job of showing off Queensland flavours and the view was beautiful, looking over the river and across to the Story Bridge.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    78
    30
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful night out!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We turned up on a Wednesday night without a booking. It was not a problem even though it was well attended (usually a good sign). Our French waiter was attentive and helpful and our 3 course meal was first class. We enjoyed the marinated octopus and the chilli and coriander oysters for our entree, followed by the trout confit and the pork cheeks for the main, all delicious and impossible to fault. It was just our wonderful good luck that they had run out of the Geoffrey Merrill 2003 Cab Sav as they replaced it with the '95 for the same price and it was exceptional. The view of the Story Bridge at night is a lovely sight. Probably my only negative and it is tiny is that the dessert of Hot caramel coffee is probably not as described but yummy nonetheless. I will return here as often as I am able.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aussiemum70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“You just have to try it!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Fantastic restaurant beside the river at Eagle Pier. The menu is innovative and exciting, and the setting is perfect, particularly at night with the sparkling lights of the bridge downstream. And the service is just right - not in your face, not so slow that you feel abandoned! This is a restaurant where the flavours will tantalise your tastebuds, but you will also feel satisfied rather than hungry when you've finished.
Oh, and you have to try the stuffed olives with white chocolate!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coffee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Location, service and taste”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

A little hidden from the street scape this restaurant is a gem in Brisbane's growing culinary bank. Fantastic service that was pleasant, fun and efficient (not sure why they were all speaking with French accents, Alo Alo). Great innovative menu, excellent presentation. High price point but to be expected and good value.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I dont think this restaurant is too badly priced considering location and scenery. Great for special occashions. I loved

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MicciMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Alchemy Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing