We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tastes to saviour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Urbane Restaurant

Urbane Restaurant
Reserve with
Urbane Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 4,263 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $84 - $111
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Tastes to saviour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

On a recent trip to Brisbane, a Brisbanite living in London recommended Urbane highly. I was not disappointed. The degustastion menu was very good: excellent fresh ingredients, creative and well presented and explained. Having visited half a dozen good restaurants in Brisbane in a week I reckon this is the best though it is dearer than others.

There were 6 amuse bouche to open up with; some of these were somewhat unusual (like Duck Consomme Tongue) while other were creative themes on mussels, snail and Oyster. All were good even if I found some odd.

The main menu was a choice of 5 or 7 plate; the for small difference in price it seemed a no brainer to go for the lot. Each dish is a small delicacy ranging from fish, egg, beef and lamb. At the end I was feeling well full before a selection of desserts arrived. The Eucalyptus Pain Perdu was amazing . .. and beautifully presented.

The wine selection to accompany the meal is extensive and well thought out.

The overall atmosphere is the restaurant was subdued: almost like a temple where the attention is focused on the food and nothing else. The sister brasserie, EuroUrbane next door is much more lively and the food, cooked by the same chef, is also very good.

I highly recommend a visit here if you are a foodie and enjoy eating a succession of small tasty morsels.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben-Saud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urbanemanager, Manager at Urbane Restaurant, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Ben, Many thanks for your recent review of Urbane. We were delighted to read your comments and really enjoyed your interpretation of the dishes and atmosphere at Urbane. We always aim to have this type of effect on our guests and we really like having your comments! Equally thanks for taking an interest in The Euro, again spot on with your observations. We hope to see you again in the future to share further creative ideas with you and your plate and glass! All the best from Urbane & Euro Teams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    41
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Main Beach, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The menu we had could not be faulted. Great for a romantic dinner, small and intimate. My favourites were the popcorn ice cream and duck consumme

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Serena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urbanemanager, Manager at Urbane Restaurant, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Serena, Many thanks for your high rating and recommendation! We very much hope to see you in the future, there will always be a new surprise on the menu, especially with the change of seasons. Once again, thanks from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Sorry, I can't recommend it.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Being a fan of degustation menus, and having read the generally great reviews on this place, I was anticipating a great dining experience. It didn't happen.

The flavours among the courses were definitely interesting and varied, but the taste was hit and miss. Nothing knocked my socks off, and the rest ranged from okay to just downright weird!

The service was friendly, but lacking. We had to retrieve the decanter from the serving table many times ourselves to refill our glasses. The wine was exceptional, but at $230 a bottle, you would expect that.

The most disappointing thing, though, was this size of the servings. We ordered the 7 course menu and we all went away hungry. At $900 for 3 of us, all I can say is that I'm glad I didn't foot the bill!

Go with Esquire if you want a great degustation experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urbanemanager, Manager at Urbane Restaurant, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Apologies for the delayed response to you. We do understand everyone has different expectations and taste. We can only apologise for your table decantering your own wine, we expect this was a result of a busy evening, however would always aim to have this done for you as part of the service, absolutely. Understanding that Urbane was not for you, we would recommend you to try our sister restaurant, The Euro (next door) which offers a fantastic la carte menu with larger portion sizes than degustation. Thanks again for your feedback. The Urbane Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
497 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our experience was nothing but wonderful. We had 13 courses (9 + 4 tasters). As is the case with this sort of restaurant, some dishes did not wow as much as others, but as they are taking risks with flavours it is to be expected. We found the service and the drinks excellent. We also thought it very reasonably priced. $135 for 13 courses is only $10 each! Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urbanemanager, Manager at Urbane Restaurant, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review back in Aug. We apologise for the gap in response, your comments have been read by the team before this point. Glad you seen the value in your meal and very glad you have highly recommended us to fellow Trip Advisor potential and future guests. Hope to see you again in the future, our format has been refreshed since we seen you last! All the best, Urbane Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Degustation Frustration”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Experienced a few degustation menus this one by far the most interesting and creative looking. Food... hmm nothing exceptional lots of woodsy tastes mushrooms, consommes, meat nice not melt in mouth though, sweet dishes not wowing there.

However this experience was not by choice but by summons so unfortunately I was a reluctant diner but on the bright side I wasn't paying! And thank god for that because it's xxsy. $135 plus $100 for wine to match.

Here's the thing... what's it's about? Kind of like performance art, you wonder why you are watching it. Clap, clap chef..... whatever.

Oh and what's with the view of the strip club?? You pay 100's of dollars to sit and watch patrons go in and out of the club across the road. If you they think this is cool - it's not. Get some blinds or something!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MinyamaMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urbane Restaurant also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Urbane Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing