We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard pub fare, generous sizes”
Review of Tower Mill

Tower Mill
Ranked #1,094 of 4,325 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Standard pub fare, generous sizes”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Having lived up the street from The Mill for a couple of years, we decided to be adventurous and wonder up to the restaurant on a Friday evening. It was quite busy, and we were advised upon entry that we would be waiting 30 minutes for any meals. We weren't in a rush so appreciated the heads up. When the meals arrived, they were presented neatly. The chicken parmigiana was slightly burnt on the edges, but still quite edible. The garlic prawns was extremely generous in size but far too much rice, and the nacho's were slightly bland. Overall, I think the price was proportionate to the size of the meals, this is definitely a pub meal restaurant for when you can't be bothered cooking, not somewhere to take someone on a first date.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cutieb00tie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very rude breakfast staff, mediocre bar staff”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The morning staff (blond girl) was very rude when dealing with me. I was told by hotel staff I would not need a voucher, yet my breakfasts was charged back to my room (bnb package). I was so upset I could not eat their very mediocre breakfast. Ask for baked eggs, the scrambled rubber available is 3/4 water or milk. Dinner not worth the price, there are many restaurants around with exceptional food for the same price. We arrived the first night 3 minutes after 9 due to delayed flights. They were actually offended when we asked for a quick meal. It is the norm to collect your own room service meals, so we just wanted a sandwich or SOMETHING to take to the room. Had to tear our tired and sore (medical reason for staying there) butts off in search of food. Not worth it, stay away.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Unusual enough to come and see....”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is part of Brisbane early history and is easy to find. It sits right next to the Roma Street Parklands and makes for one of the things you need to see while in Brisbane. And if you are hungry and thirsty, step across the road and duck into the The Mill Hotel Restaurant; airconditioned and comfortable seats to rest a spell. Have fun all.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not very good”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went for a light dinner at this eatery as we were staying close by. Prices were reasonable but the dishes were not well prepared, the burger roll was cardboard like and stale and the corn chips / nacos were flavourless.
Several people had come in for the steak special and all seem pleased - possibly the staff were so busy concentrating on all the steak dishes that they paid less attention to ours.
Would not recommend except maybe for the specials!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank effbeezw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

3 meals were ordered, steak, pasta and I had grilled chicken with garlic mash and vegetables. Everyone was very happy with their selection. My chicken was juicy, the garlic mash very nice and the vegetables cooked just right. Thought it was a little overpriced for what it was (chicken around $25) but it was very good. The staff were really nice. Wouldn't seek out but if you are staying in the hotel or near it was pretty good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MegandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tower Mill also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Tower Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing