We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb views from top floors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Ranked #50 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were on one of the very top floors and the views towards the river and over the surrounding buildings were very good.

The apartments are well designed and spacious with good bathrooms and kitchen.

The only downsides are that you often wait too long for lifts, on one occasion the rubbish bag and used towels were left behind and there was no plug for the sink (and it wasn't replaced despite telling them it was missing).

Internet use was ok but you only get a single free access for up to half an hour a day.

Location is tops being 2 blocks from Queen St Mall and even closer to restaurants and supermarkets.

The lap pool and sauna were good but the outdoor pool was out of action at the time of our stay.

I can't comment on value as were were part of an organised trip so don't know the accommodation cost.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_M30a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke W, Front Office Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you kindly for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay at Oaks Charlotte Towers.

We appreciate all feedback and take all comments and suggestions very seriously.

We are very lucky to be situated where we are, we are so close to number of beautiful restaurants, bars , cafes and of course the Queen St Mall.

Brisbane has much to offer all the family in and around the CBD aswell as the surrounding areas such as South Bank and the Art Museum.

I'm vey happy to hear you enjoyed one of the many stunning views whilst staying with us.

All comments have been passed on to relevant departments .

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 979 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Its an apartment hotel. The apartments are pretty basic. They look like they were built 10+ years ago and havent had much renovation. However, if you want more facilities than a hotel (a small kitchen, washing machine, dryer) then it could be a good option. The location is good right in the centre of the city. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyTravelJunkkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke W, Front Office Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Firstly thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback , it's greatly appreciated .

Oaks Charlotte Towers is definatley in a great location and close to many restaurants, bars, shops and public transport.

We are also a short distance from South Bank , QPAC Theatre and the Science Museum, there is definatley plenty to do in Brisbane.

Oaks Charlotte Towers is undergoing a refurbishment but this can take time given the impressive amount of rooms we manage.

Once again thank you for your feedback .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Staying at the moment. Came home this afternoon and the room was not serviced, no towels, no linen. I rang reception and the young lady I spoke to advised me that the housekeeping staff had marked it as done. It was not. I told her we were going out for dinner and asked for it to be done while we were away. When we returned around 10 it still wasn't done. When I rang again she told me she had said that the housekeeping staff were gone and it would not be done. This was a straight out lie. She also told me she'd had towels brought up. Another lie. I rang again and a gentleman eventually brought towels. If you enjoy being charged for things you don't receive, being lied to and treated like a fool, stay here. In any other circumstances, avoid these people like the plague. They get your money up front and they DO NOT care about you at all after that. Terrible way to do business. Avoid.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Indiman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke W, Front Office Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you kindly for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am terribly sorry that your experience wasn't a more positive one.

I have spoken to the relevant staff involved and am looking into find out as to why you did not have any service during your stay.

My most sincere apoligies.

I would be more than happy to discuss this further as the last thing we want is a negative experience when staying at our property.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great location, staff friendly but failed to advise us that you need to swipe card to enter building after hours. Their was a rubbish Shute outside our room that was extremely smelly and the odour wafted into our room. Advised the receptionist who said she will ask for it to be emptied, but at the end of our stay the smell was worse. Would not stay again for this reason.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke W, Front Office Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for providing us with your feedback , this is always greatly appreciated wether it be positive or negative.

Oaks Charlotte Towers is definatley in a great location and has something for everyone to enjoy wether it be a nice meal in one of the many beautiful surrounding restaurants or a leisurely walk around the stunning Brisbane River.

Your comments regarding the bin chute have most definatley been addressed and for this i can only apologize that this wasn't during your stay.

I would be greatly disappointed if this was the only incident that would deter you staying with us again in the future.

Please don't hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss this matter further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Booked this apartment using wotif.com and got an Easter special deal In: Fri Out: Mon.
Apartment 3301 was very comfortable, and recently refurbished. View of river as requested.
Any requests were promptly attended to and we were happy with the limited room service offered because it was Easter weekend. Walking distance to South Bank.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river, or go higher than 33-01. We were very satisfied with our request and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevR4414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke W, Front Office Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you kindly for taking the time to provide your feedback, we do take all feedback on board and are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay . As always your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments.

Oaks Charlotte Towers is in a great location and close to lots of restaurants , bars , shops and lots more for all the family to enjoy .

We look forward to inviting you back in the near future.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed here for a week in May and there are some things that are pretty ordinary about this place.
They say that they have a fully equipped gym, I wouldn't have stayed if I knew the truth because I enjoy a workout while I am away. There are no towels in the gym and no water, bring your own. No weights, only some old and clunky weight machines, two treadmills, two bikes and two rowing machines. But the worst thing is that most of the guests didn't bring a towel and the sanitary wipe dispenser was empty for the entire week so the equipment is, well, gross!! Reception assured me that they would fill the dispenser but they never did. How you can say that a gym like this is fully equipped is just beyond me.
Other than that, my room wasn't made up one day and another day they left the rubbish bag on the kitchen top. Bizarre.
Great location right in the city centre. No restaurant in the building.
There are much better options.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karpy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke W, Front Office Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Firstly i must thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback , i must say i am disappointed that it isn't more positive and have definatley taken your comments on board and passed this feedback to the relevant departments.

Unfortunatley we do not keep towels in the gym however we do keep well stocked cupboards in reception of all amenities including towels but i have suggested some towels to kept in the gym.

The sanitising machine should definatley have been filled and i can only apologise for this oversight.

I do hope this will not discourage any thoughts of future bookings at Oaks Charlotte Towers and would be more than happy to discuss this with you more directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

First time visitors to Brisbane. We arrived at 3pm, after a long day of travel from Melbourne, to be told that our apartment had not yet been cleaned because there was less staff on over the Easter weekend. The hotel was buzzing & obviously had many guests. Having additional staff on board may have been a better choice.

We waited a further 45 mins, then headed to the lift to go up & settle in. OMG ! Four...verrrrrrryyyy slow lifts & so many guests waiting to use them (this was typical of the 2 nights that we stayed). Yes ...waiting again - 15 minutes! & we were at the head of the line!

Finally made it to our room - had a view of the roof of the hotels next door, but it WAS a quiet room, as we had requested.

The apartment & furnishings were very outdated & tired looking. A strange looking bowl (complete with dead insects) sat on the coffee table - we eventually worked out that it was the cover of the entrance light which was missing!

An unusual odour lingered for the two days - ? cleaning product.

The kitchenette contained a mishmash of utensils,cutlery & dinner set. We were booked as 3 people - we had a choice of 5 cups (no saucers), 2 wine glasses & 1 water glass. No complete set of anything. Fortunately, we ate out most of the time.

The heating/cooling system was effective but one needed a technology degree to drive it (no instructions to be found).

Beds were comfy & snug.

Shower/bathroom/laundry was adequate. Bathroom towels were well overdue for replacement - thin & worn. Bathroom products were poor quality.

Staff were friendly (when we could find them), but lacked the knowledge of the area to effectively
assist tourists. The best we could do was to be directed to the 'mall' - it seems this is the place to go in Brisbane.

We had chosen an Oaks facility because we had stayed in several in Melbourne & Sydney, and always have been impressed by the quality of the accommodation & the staff. On this occasion, we felt that we were not treated as guests, just an add on to the general activity of the hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke W, Front Office Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Firstly i'd like to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and secondly apologize that your stay here at Oaks Charlotte Towers wasn't a more positive one.

All comments have been passed over to the relevant departments for immediate actioning.

Oaks Charlotte Towers is currently going through a refurbishment to update our rooms, this can be a slow process but is definatley under way . We would have been very happy to move you to a different room had we have known how dis satisfied you were, we also keep a very well stocked room of replacements items such as glasses, pans etc.. i will be following up as to why your room wasn't fully stocked .

I can confirm that the Queen St Mall is not the only attraction in Brisbane and again apologize you weren't given any further information, Brisbane has many sights and attractions and i do hope you'd visit again to experience these.

All of your comments have been taken very seriously and will be actioned accordingly.

Please don't hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss this matter further

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#56 of 169 in Brisbane
773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#58 of 169 in Brisbane
754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#59 of 169 in Brisbane
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 169 in Brisbane
1,246 reviews
0 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#32 of 169 in Brisbane
1,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Aurora
Oaks Aurora
#70 of 169 in Brisbane
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Charlotte Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Charlotte Towers

Address: 128 Charlotte St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $100 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Charlotte Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Charlotte Towers is the prime Brisbane accommodation, located within the city’s business and financial district within walking distance to the shopping heart of Queen Street Mall and the gentler pace of the City Botanic Gardens. Stylishly incorporating creature comforts and modern technology, Oaks Charlotte Towers still displays the ornate facade of the original 19th century architecture. The hotel is popular with both leisure and corporate travellers, offering one and two bedroom apartments all boasting well appointed kitchens and full-width windows with spectacular river and city aspects. Some rooms have alfresco balconies which provide an extra dimension to panoramic views of the skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Charlotte Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Charlotte Towers Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing