We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Internet Rip-Off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Ranked #53 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Internet Rip-Off”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Bottom line up front: Though the rooms can differ a little, the standard of accommodation and service in this place overall is very good - designer type trimmings all round and well appointed with all mod-cons. If I were rating purely on those aspects, and the fantastic location, this would be a 4 star rating from me for accommodation in Brisbane (along with the other Oaks in the Brisbane CBD); I have stayed here on over 20 trips for business, over the last 3-5 years and thoroughly commend the standard of accommodation and indeed service in general. For ~$190 per night for a single bedroom apartment (through my business) I have no complaints in these areas - it is the CBD after all. Noting previous review comments on the friendliness of staff...hmmm…I've never personally had a bad experience, but I travel in the US a lot so that probably explains things… I found the staff efficient enough, without being fantastic.

But…I'm going to take exception and use this report to make a point, in the hope that the chain will pick up their game; I am sick of being fleeced by Australian chains for Internet access fees that are simply ludicrous on an international, or even domestic standard. The casual Internet fees here are through a proprietary provider who charge (from memory) ~$5 for 2 hours or 50MB (whichever comes first), ~$22.50 for 24hrs or 200MB of usage (whichever comes first) and ~$90 for 7 days access or 1GB usage, whichever comes first. At first glance, $22.50 for 24hrs did not seem a bad option, but do you have any idea how quickly 200MB is used when you are just browsing the Internet, or even just accessing work through a CITRIX server to do some work away from you company's location? The answer is; a lot quicker than 24 hrs, and before you know it your prices are soaring!

Dear Oaks Charlotte Street, here is my message to your management; fix! I had this same issue with a hotel in Sydney, right near the CBD, who, after my constructive feedback actually did change supplier and provided a much more value oriented package. For example, unlimited usage rates, 48 hrs for $49. I'd be happy to pay this, for work purposes! What you offer is purely fleecing your hard won business customers. If it was easy enough for that busy Sydney chain to fix, then you have no excuse. I hope to see a better value oriented Internet access package at your chains in future - none of this per MB usage rate restrictions garbage thank you - what chain does this these days I ask? - or I shall not stay again, and shall pass the same advice to fellow customers who have your chain in my works extensive business accommodation options portfolio. Your hotels are a high quality standard and will keep loyal customers coming back, including me…but your Internet is a rip-off which compromises those same loyal customers and is at odds with standards in similar hotels chains in higher cost CBD areas of Australia than Brisbane! I trust you can receive this sincere feedback in the constructive way it is intended. I travel a lot, and you hotel's Internet charges are a thumping big anomaly I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Have stayed in every room location in the hotel, and they are all great as far as I am concerned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudeDudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We appreciate your feedback regarding our current internet pricing. Our IT Department are currently exploring alternative options for internet and we hope to have different pricing options available in the near future. We trust you enjoyed your stay otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    302
    130
    69
    46
See reviews for
155
168
55
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have strayed here and other Oaks properties in Brisbane for work on several occasions. Being a relatively light sleeper I always request a high from but never get one at Oaks Charlotte.

Last week was extremely noisy. I had a band playing bag pipes almost directly under my room from around 8-9pm. Even with the tv on maximum volume I could still hear them over the tv.

Then around 5am the rubbish out the bag was emptied. Again very loud for around 10 minutes.

The king bed was interesting. One side was super soft and the other almost hard as a rock.

Definitely disappointing because of the noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room when you book and check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacalyn Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for letting us know of your recent stay at Oaks Charlotte Towers. We sincerely apologise we were unable to allocate a higher floor for you and that you were inconvenienced with outside street noise. We hope to welcome you back in the future and that we are able to allocate a more suitable room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great Location: Right in the city centre.
Great Facilities: One bedroom aparment, very spacious. Full size kitchen, Big TV in the living room and a small one in the bedroom, all with lots international channels. Huge balcony with a view.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Nomad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Oaks Charlotte Towers. We are very pleased you enjoyed our close proximity to the City Centre and the facilities of our apartments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first return to Brisbane in some 15 years so we booked our four-nights’ accommodation in the CBD to enjoy the experience of walking around the main part of the city. The Oaks Hotel and Resort in Charlotte Street was perfectly located. We could easily access the Queen Street Mall, the Arts area on Southbank, the River Cat ferries, etc. Great.
Staff at the hotel were helpful and pleasant. The apartment was well set up with everything we needed. It was quiet and comfortable with a nice view of the city, so we didn’t feel ‘hemmed in’ by the tall surrounding buildings.
Our only ‘niggle’ was with the room service; it wasn’t as good as we’ve come to expect. It was not serious enough to complain about but did just take a little of the gloss off the stay.
Notwithstanding, the Oaks has helped to ensure that it won’t be another 15 years before we return to Brisbane and we would definitely stay with the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We are delighted that you chose to stay at Oaks Charlotte Towers on your return to Brisbane after 15 years! It’s fantastic that you enjoyed our close proximity to the Queen St Mall and Southbank. Thank you for letting us know about the room service. We are currently investigating alternative options for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on a work trip, and was pleasantly surprised. My 1br apartment was well furnished, quiet, and had a comfy bed. The staff were friendly at all hours of the day or night (it was a very full on trip....), the plunge pool was nice, and whilst I didn't end up having time to use it the gym looked well equipped. It was also in a great spot close to queen st mall and plenty of restaurants. On my next trip up to Brissy I'll definately be asking to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgrant666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of our one bedroom apartments and enjoyed the plunge pool. We hope to see you again soon with some time to enjoy our gym next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Location and room was good but that was it.

There are several parking lots around the hotel so make sure to use the correct one. When we arrived we asked for a car space but were told to use the public one next door because the hotels was full, which we did. Long story short and after being locked out of the public lot later in the night we were given access to the hotels parking and sure enough there were heaps of spaces left. We spent an extra $40 dollars on parking that was necessary because the original receptionist mislead us. Frustrating.

Every question or request directed at the staff was met with a lazy and frustrating response. Everything seemed too hard and they clearly had answers but could not be bothered helping. Eg. Checking out we ask if we can leave the luggage and car in the parking whilst we get breakfast-no worries at all- they take our room key and swipe card but do not tell us we need the swipe card to use the elevator to get to the parking lot. didn't know this until after a trip to the 30th floor. Several problems and questions like this were left for us to figure out with no proactive attempt to anticipate potential problems. It wastes time for everyone and comes from pure laziness. Even upon asking staff if it is a common problem they have with parking, they responded with yes it is. Then why not deal with it and inform people rather than wasting time??? Dealt with 3 staff members and all came across as unwilling to help, held back useful information, made untruthful excuses and wasted time and money for everyone.

5th bed (portable type) was not in the room and had to be sorted out, wifi did not work, aircon was very noisy as well.

They need to change the culture within the staffing or hire more motivated people. A few other reviews have had similar experiences and suggested maybe this was due to a discounted offer they used. I used points from a booking website and thankfully did not pay much for the night. No matter how much someone spends at the hotel, service needs to be good. Any good business knows the importance of that.

Usually stay at rydges across the river- will be going back there from now on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for contacting us regarding your recent stay. We take your comments most seriously and will follow up with all staff. We have replied to you directly in more detail and again apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed overnight in the city & the unit at Oaks Charlotte Towers was great- very clean, attractive decor & fantastic location. Only negative was parking- ring & reserve otherwise you have to park next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our apartments. Unfortunately, car parking is limited in the CBD and we apologise for any inconvenience to you regarding this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#56 of 157 in Brisbane
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#57 of 157 in Brisbane
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#10 of 157 in Brisbane
610 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#27 of 157 in Brisbane
977 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
#59 of 157 in Brisbane
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Charlotte Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Charlotte Towers

Property: Oaks Charlotte Towers
Address: 128 Charlotte St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Charlotte Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Charlotte Towers is the prime Brisbane accommodation, located within the city’s business and financial district within walking distance to the shopping heart of Queen Street Mall and the gentler pace of the City Botanic Gardens. Stylishly incorporating creature comforts and modern technology, Oaks Charlotte Towers still displays the ornate facade of the original 19th century architecture. The hotel is popular with both leisure and corporate travellers, offering one and two bedroom apartments all boasting well appointed kitchens and full-width windows with spectacular river and city aspects. Some rooms have alfresco balconies which provide an extra dimension to panoramic views of the skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Charlotte Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Charlotte Towers Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing