We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pho in Brisbane”
Review of The Vietnamese

The Vietnamese
Ranked #119 of 4,314 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Pho in Brisbane”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you want to try the best beef noodle soup in Brisbane you can't miss this place!!
All the food I tried was very good, some dishes are a mix between Vietnamese and Chinese food but I like both so was ok!
The service is good and the wait was alright (30 min) considered we arrived with the restaurant full.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurahsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    66
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The food is good - service quick and attentive .”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have been here several times and always have a good meal and leave happy as it is good value.
I am not sure about it being " Vietnamese " food - more like Chinese or a cross between the two.
It is OK and there are worse. ( and better ) I would go again maybe for the duck?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oziemuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A rather disappointing experience”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

It did not live up to my expectations, having lived in Vietnam for two years. I always order fresh spring rolls if it's on the menu and somehow you can tell by the quality of the spring rolls what kind of restaurant it is. Unfortunately, these spring rolls were dull, with almost only noodles and not well rolled. Our mains were prawn paste and lemongrass/ginger beef. The prawn was ok but boring and the beef was something I would expect in a bad Chinese restaurant in Sweden. It had that slimy thick sauce and a strange choice of vegetables and there was no taste of any lemongrass or ginger.

The day before we ordered the similar prawn paste at Trang restaurant in West End, which was simply to die for. I strongly recommend this restaurant instead.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank YlvaKronheffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dining in Fortitude Valley”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Family dined out at The Vietnamese Restaurant on a weeknight...arrived early and not all that crowded. However when we left, the place was packed so it's obviously very popular

Seated upstairs as we were a party of 11. Service quick and efficient. Recommend the Steamed Mussel Chilli with Black bean sauce. All dishes most enjoyable though a few were just a bit too salty
(Unfotunately took photos after we had eaten)

Parked nearby in The Valley Metro (lookup Secure-a-Spot on internet and prebook - only $5) - it's only a short walk if you cut through Brunswick Street Station

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food, cheap and fast”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The packed restaurant showed the popularity of this place and it didn't disappoint. The menu had plenty of choices while the service was quick and efficient. The prices were a welcome relief from the high prices paid elsewhere in the country whilst the taste was excellent. Will definitely tell family and friends to drop by this little gem and will be sure to go back when next in town. We tried the steamed fish, vietnamese style as well as the crispy fried chicken fried rise and ho fun noodles with prawns. All great.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank epaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vietnamese also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to The Vietnamese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing