We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some charm remains” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakfast Creek Hotel

Breakfast Creek Hotel
Ranked #49 of 4,263 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Staghorn Garden is a Queensland institution, thanks to its relaxed, subtropical ambiance and lush landscaping. It boasts stunning timber decks which create an artful, soft separation between the food and bar businesses. The entire area is light, bright and inviting, merging seamlessly with an eight metre high breezeway structure that links the heritage listed Hotel building to the Substation No.41 building. An open kitchen and servery is situated on one side of the breezeway, where patrons are able to choose their own steak from the chilled cabinet, in classic Brekky Creek tradition. The hotel is renowned for introducing Beer Garden style dining to Queensland. The Brekky Creek continues to hold this tradition proud as the Staghorn Beer Garden offers the very best in casual outdoor dining. The Staghorn Beer Garden boasts seating for over 500 people.
adelaide, australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Some charm remains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Little sad that the Breakfast Creek that we remembered from years gone it is no longer rustic or as real, but suppose that's the way it goes. It is just a place where you can just enjoy a really good steak pub meal. It is good and there is nothing fancy. Staff, for us, were faultless, friendly and service orientated. That said, not sure why there can't be any adjustments to the combinations on the menu, that was a bit irritating. Don't think we'll make a special trip there again but happy with our meal on the night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cassandnigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    609
    275
    89
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“no options”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Yes I do know the breakfast creek hotel is a steak house however thats about it. If you don't eat steak or sea food like me there is literally nothing else?? They offered me a veggie thing that looked like a microwave meal. But they have no burgers, no pasta only like 1 salad and no entrées even with out sea food in them??

I walked out didn't even end up staying to order a $20 salad in a loud restaurant i could not even hear by partner talking at a 2 person table.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kat_travel_Bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Brisbane Icon that has never lost her shine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Four of us enjoyed a business lunch at the Brekkie Creek last Wednesday and I am pleased to report the food and atmosphere remain fantastic. It is open air dining at its best and also a great place to take kids for a Saturday or Sunday lunch as you can run around out the front with them. I was also impressed with the pie van for those who don't want a large meal and the history of the place is second to none. They also have a wide variety too as one of my guests had the fish and said it was beautiful. We all had steaks and they were excellent. It is the kind of place where you can just sit and idle an afternoon away in a wonderful environment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
766 reviews
478 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Steak at Brekkie Creek - Mmmm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Good place for a quality steak. Pleasant atmosphere sitting outside on a sunny day savouring a delicious rib eye accompanied by a XXXX (when in Rome) or glass of Coonawarra Cab.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Riddoch88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Easy and casual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Place was great. I was easily able to make a reservations for a large group of people. Lots of bars around so we didn't have to wait LNG for drinks however the line for food was long and took a while to order - but the food came out pretty quickly.
Area was really good and spacious with a nice atmosphere - the was even a grass field for kids to play on.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mossk92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakfast Creek Hotel also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Breakfast Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing