We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Steak in Brisbane” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakfast Creek Hotel

Breakfast Creek Hotel
Ranked #49 of 4,266 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Staghorn Garden is a Queensland institution, thanks to its relaxed, subtropical ambiance and lush landscaping. It boasts stunning timber decks which create an artful, soft separation between the food and bar businesses. The entire area is light, bright and inviting, merging seamlessly with an eight metre high breezeway structure that links the heritage listed Hotel building to the Substation No.41 building. An open kitchen and servery is situated on one side of the breezeway, where patrons are able to choose their own steak from the chilled cabinet, in classic Brekky Creek tradition. The hotel is renowned for introducing Beer Garden style dining to Queensland. The Brekky Creek continues to hold this tradition proud as the Staghorn Beer Garden offers the very best in casual outdoor dining. The Staghorn Beer Garden boasts seating for over 500 people.
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Steak in Brisbane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Finding a good steak is not hard to do, but Breakfast Creek proved to be the best I've found. I came across Brekky Creek after many recommendations from co-workers and several random polls. The selection of beef, informal/relaxed outdoor dining areas, and wood barrel beer make for an outstanding dining experience. The prices are not bad by Brisbane standards, I spent $57 for an eye filet with all the sides and a half dozen oysters. Its with the expense.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    609
    276
    89
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
171 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Been hear quote a few times and every visit has been good. A venue that I look forward to going to with friends or with business associates.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

we walked here from our hotel to have some dinner, we ended having two beers and leaving as the prices were very high $50 to $60 for a steak. We are on just 1 wage and that was to high for us.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank gail1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Live Music, beer of the Wood and Steaks - what more do you need?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Sundat session here is a must! There are a range of bars to choose from. Some will make you feel like it is 1973 again others are super modern. You can get just about any beverage here but you must try the XXXX off the wood. There was live music playing when we were there. A great arvo out! All that drinking and singing alongmight make you hungry so drool at all the red meat in the window. Something for everyone here. we took our young daughter. There's a huge lawn for the kids to safely run on within eye sig., All ages and walks of life welcome here. We took a 322 bus from the cultural centre with a short walk to get there (dropped off near the iconic Booroodabin Bowls Club and you'll get to walk past Newstead House as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meredith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pub Grub”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

This place is over rated and over priced,this place used to be one of the go to places for a steak in Brisbane and people talked about it all over Australia and overseas for that matter. Now unless you want a grainfeed piece of meat that is full of fat with no flavour forget it. The service to get a table is good, however once you have a table thats a about where the service stops having to stand inline to order my food and then having to pick it up myself at a restaurant is not service, drinks are exspensive. Most people could cook a better feed at home on the BBQ, you can buy a bottle of wine for the missus and a 6 pack of premium beer for yourself, cook a couple of grass feb rib on the bone you got from the local butcher at home . My advice is have a few friends around and cook the same feed yourself for a 3rd of the cost. I bet you have a better feed and you could probably get the missus some flowers with the savings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazontrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakfast Creek Hotel also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Breakfast Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing