We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great venue”

Breakfast Creek Hotel
Ranked #48 of 4,314 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Staghorn Garden is a Queensland institution, thanks to its relaxed, subtropical ambiance and lush landscaping. It boasts stunning timber decks which create an artful, soft separation between the food and bar businesses. The entire area is light, bright and inviting, merging seamlessly with an eight metre high breezeway structure that links the heritage listed Hotel building to the Substation No.41 building. An open kitchen and servery is situated on one side of the breezeway, where patrons are able to choose their own steak from the chilled cabinet, in classic Brekky Creek tradition. The hotel is renowned for introducing Beer Garden style dining to Queensland. The Brekky Creek continues to hold this tradition proud as the Staghorn Beer Garden offers the very best in casual outdoor dining. The Staghorn Beer Garden boasts seating for over 500 people.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
171 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A great venue”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Been hear quote a few times and every visit has been good. A venue that I look forward to going to with friends or with business associates.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    624
    283
    94
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very pricey”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

we walked here from our hotel to have some dinner, we ended having two beers and leaving as the prices were very high $50 to $60 for a steak. We are on just 1 wage and that was to high for us.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank gail1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Live Music, beer of the Wood and Steaks - what more do you need?”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Sundat session here is a must! There are a range of bars to choose from. Some will make you feel like it is 1973 again others are super modern. You can get just about any beverage here but you must try the XXXX off the wood. There was live music playing when we were there. A great arvo out! All that drinking and singing alongmight make you hungry so drool at all the red meat in the window. Something for everyone here. we took our young daughter. There's a huge lawn for the kids to safely run on within eye sig., All ages and walks of life welcome here. We took a 322 bus from the cultural centre with a short walk to get there (dropped off near the iconic Booroodabin Bowls Club and you'll get to walk past Newstead House as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meredith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pub Grub”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This place is over rated and over priced,this place used to be one of the go to places for a steak in Brisbane and people talked about it all over Australia and overseas for that matter. Now unless you want a grainfeed piece of meat that is full of fat with no flavour forget it. The service to get a table is good, however once you have a table thats a about where the service stops having to stand inline to order my food and then having to pick it up myself at a restaurant is not service, drinks are exspensive. Most people could cook a better feed at home on the BBQ, you can buy a bottle of wine for the missus and a 6 pack of premium beer for yourself, cook a couple of grass feb rib on the bone you got from the local butcher at home . My advice is have a few friends around and cook the same feed yourself for a 3rd of the cost. I bet you have a better feed and you could probably get the missus some flowers with the savings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazontrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great steak & good atmosphere”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

One of the best steak venues in town. The Brekkie Creek is a Brisbane institution that you should visit - great group venue. I had not been here for about 12 months and it was excellent as usual. We dined in the Staghorn Garden Restaurant. If you are going for dinner and want to be sure of a table I suggest you make a reservation. I believe the Spanish Garden offers full waiter service etc but we preferred the Staghorn for a more relaxed evening (family birthday). You get your own drinks from the bar. Order your food from the counter where all the different cuts of meat are on display so you can see what size the meat is before you order. The queue will be long even on a quiet night so allow 20minutes to stand in line to order your meal (maybe take your beer or wine with you while you wait).

Specific how you want your steak cooked, choose pepper, chilli or mushroom sauce, green salad or coleslaw, Idaho potato with bacon topping or chips - all of this is included along with a bread roll. From memory the prices for steaks ranged between $33-$39. There are petit eye fillet to much larger steaks to cater for all appetites. I think larger steak on the bone was dearer. There are a couple of non steak dishes but 99% of people are here for a steak. The Caesar salad (chicken etc was extra) was about $18.

You will be given a buzzer that will alert you as to when the meals are ready. The plates will be on a tray for you to carry to the table. The meal took about 20-30 minutes (quieter night). Most people will not need starters or dessert.

The " Creek" is about half way between the airport and the city so an ideal spot to or from the airport. There is some parking provided. The Creek is usually crowded and often packed but is always a fun place to be. You can view the menu on their website. Just google Breakfast Creek Hotel Brisbane. They also do lunch which is excellent too. I don't now what time the kitchen closes.

This is also a venue where people bring their family - including kids (strollers to toddlers to teenagers etc) - it is family friendly but i dont know if they provide anything specific for kids.
I am not a beer drink so can't comment about the beer off the wood but all beer lovers rave about it. If you want to watch the game (AFL, NRL, football/soccer etc) is shown on the huge screen. You may have to request a table witha view of the screen - ring and check if you are interested.
You don't have to get dressed up, smart casual is fine, jeans & t'shirt or come from races/work in your suit.

Great spot for locals, visitors and tourists. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakfast Creek Hotel also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Breakfast Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing