We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for those moments of craving”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Makanan Indonesia

Makanan Indonesia
Ranked #1,270 of 4,294 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Indonesian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great for those moments of craving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

I would say most good Indonesian restaurants are in Sydney and Melbourne, but Makanan Indonesia (which literally translates to Indonesian food) is something Brisbane could be proud of. We come here occassionally when I am having those moments of craving (born and grew up in Indonesia) and we always leave satisfied. The last visit was last week where we ordered kwetiaw goreng; nasi campur with beef rendang and tempe belado to share. Could not finish the whole lot so the leftovers went home with us. Whilst it might not be the most excellent Indonesian food I have ever tasted (for that you would really have to be in Indonesia), it does the work for me. The beef rendang tastes authentic; love the tempe and tahu dishes; and the bakmi Jakarta is nice too. You would not go here for the atmosphere, but the place reminds me of so many restaurants in Jakarta with the same vibe. Simple and quick - no fuss. Certainly better than Jakarta Indonesian Restaurant at New Farm. Will return for more.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JIG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    19
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great find in Brisbane's West End”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Small Indonesian restaurant in Brisbane's West End. Nothing fancy but great food. Sotomie Jakarta is the signature dish. Take the kids and the owner, Ken, will entertain them with his magic tricks. Great food at reasonable prices. Suggestion: go to the West End Farmer's Market on a Sunday morning then walk up to Makanan for lunch after.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Unsatisfactory”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

The last time we were here we were impressed with the food. Recently, when we returned, we ordered a similar meal; however the taste was not the same. I'm Indonesian so I know how Indonesian food should taste. The portions were very small and the food tasteless. Seems like food that had been stored before being served to us. Also, there is very little ambience. If they are trying to replicate an Indonesian restaurant they have failed. Everything is plastic and all signage amateurish. I'm a proud Indonesian and don't like to see my culture and food disrespected. We eat out often and have never had reason to post our concerns about restaurants before. We will never be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Junevioleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Goldie
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed everything makanan had to offer. The food was awesome, the service quick and friendly. The atmosphere was truly topped off with Mono providing his own style on easy listening hits. Will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shorty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good fresh light and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

The host Mimi and her fresh and light but very tasty makanan is pure delight

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trevortango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makanan Indonesia also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Makanan Indonesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing