We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meals were superb, service was so so for a 5 star restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baguette Bistrot+Bar - CLOSED

Baguette Bistrot+Bar
Price range: $15 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Unpretentious, light, airy and fresh. Baguette Bar & Bistro is quintessentially Queensland. This award winning restaurant is one of of Brisbane's oldest French restaurants (award winning too) and it's Located in tres magnificent Ascot, Baguette is a beauty for both meals and drinks, with a lounge bar, alfresco area and a more formal dining room all part of its make-up. This Brisbane icon has all your French and European fare faves, Baguette changes the menus frequently according to the season. Service is as impeccable and polished as the food, making this northside bistro a cherished gem
Brisbane
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Meals were superb, service was so so for a 5 star restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

You cannot go wrong with the meals here. A group of 6 of us all rated our meals as superb. It is a 5 star restaurant with 5 star prices but we were very satisfied and knew mains would be approx 40 each. Cocktail were yummy and wine menu extensive.
Fantastic French restaurant in Brisbane.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    59
    28
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I had lunch at Baguette yesterday with 4 girlfriends (all Mums with school aged kids) and it was just delicious. We all had just mains and desserts (although some were able to resist the desserts). I had the most delicious spatchcock with corn and peas and a garden salad.Just perfect for lunch. I am writing this review as I would love to go back today and have the same meal! My friends all enjoyed their mains- the fish looked divine as did the classic steak. I read that the restaurant has changed hands and wanted to say that it is every bit as charming and high quality as it has always been. The staff were excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant as a place for dinner or lunch. It is not cheap but definitely worth the money because of the high value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Japtour2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Gone off!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Four mid aged adults shared a birthday dinner and wanted to return to Baguette to celebrate.
Well what a disappointment!
Service was efficient but that was all one could comment on positively.
No gluten free options. Had to advise four days ahead we were informed.
Mains were such small portions and well above average price. Tasty but not to the standard we had received a year ago. The freshness was just not there.
Deserts added to the disappointment. Creme brulee was boring with little taste, the chocolate dessert recommended by the waiter was a rich slab, decorated with three coconut macaroons the size of a fingernail and a strawberry that had seen better days.
Coffee acceptable but the choice of only two teas was not.
The complimentary birthday log cake (sufficient for four) looked impressive but lacked any good flavour.
The restaurant lacked atmosphere and was very noisy.
No we will not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baguetteowner, Owner at Baguette Bistrot+Bar, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
I am sorry that your meals were disappointing. The last weeks at Baguette have been difficult with my husband and partner in Baguette (for 37 years) dying. This de-stabilised the staff resulting in the head chef departing. Things are now however back to normal with our previous head chef of 4 years, Graham Waddell, back in the saddle. Please contact me at Baguette and I will arrange for a refund.
Marilyn Domenech, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Still OPEN for business and how!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

There seem to be rumours going around that Baguette is closed/closing....nothing could be further from the truth. My husband and I shared the steak tartare - wish I'd taken a photo - beautiful presentation and flavours to match! My husband had the veal w spinach the last time we were there - it was so good we both had it this time...melt in the mouth flavours.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helenjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tuesday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had lunch with a couple of friends . The menu is very french, so two of us had entrees with a shared salad. The other friend had a main. Food was delicious. Service was excellent. Only strange thing was friend asked for some parmesan cheese with her main. This seemed to be a drama with a request to chef and a charge of $2.50. Really? A bit petty and off putting. Waitress seemed embarrassed also. And rightly so.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kayc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baguette Bistrot+Bar also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing