We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little spot for long lunch, but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baguette Bistrot+Bar - CLOSED

Baguette Bistrot+Bar
Price range: $14 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Unpretentious, light, airy and fresh. Baguette Bar & Bistro is quintessentially Queensland. This award winning restaurant is one of of Brisbane's oldest French restaurants (award winning too) and it's Located in tres magnificent Ascot, Baguette is a beauty for both meals and drinks, with a lounge bar, alfresco area and a more formal dining room all part of its make-up. This Brisbane icon has all your French and European fare faves, Baguette changes the menus frequently according to the season. Service is as impeccable and polished as the food, making this northside bistro a cherished gem
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great little spot for long lunch, but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a nice cosy venue. Good food, it was recommended to me for business lunch.
I would go back, but did find the service very slow. Its not cheap either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bmwmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    59
    28
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Service is the best at this restaurant - staff are friendly and food is not a long wait away.
Cosy and sophisticated decor, a great setting for good conversations!
I had the fish of the day - groper which was tenderly cooked and quickly devoured!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blinkybillWhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
319 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Time to refresh and find your- Je ne sai quoi...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Have been to Baguette a few times over the years but not for a few years now. The place is looking very stuck in the 80s and tired. It's clean and dimly lit but the furniture is overdue for a face lift.
Service was good but staff seemed in a fluster and very rushed the whole time.
Food was delicious although at an average of $40 for mains it ought to be.
Would love to go back once they reinfect some life and "joie de vivre"!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Willstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baguetteowner, Owner at Baguette Bistrot+Bar, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Sorry you did not like the decor however we employed top designers to completely re-do the dining room 4 years ago, at a cost of over $400,000. And we get lots of very positive feedback about Baguette's atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food again at this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We really enjoy this restaurant - consistently good food, great service and friendly staff. It was a very busy night but the staff managed well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieB992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This restaurant never disappoints / Always a high standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Go out of your comfort zone & try something different Duck or sardines We tried the set menue & it was great Service was very good Always busy and a bit noisy so a bit hard to have a chat We will return

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molkentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baguetteowner, Owner at Baguette Bistrot+Bar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
What good advice! I think often people go for what is "safe" and miss out of discovering food they love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baguette Bistrot+Bar also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing