We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bohemian Rhapsody abounds”

The Three Monkeys Coffee & Teahouse
Ranked #3 of 337 Coffee & Tea in Brisbane
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Bohemian Rhapsody abounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Set in an old Queenslander at West End, this place has a cosy "hippiness" about it. There are various nooks you can squeeze into and also an al fresco dining area. The coffee is great together with a fine selection of cakes. We have snacked here several times and of course we will be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    176
    43
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good cheesecake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The two things I like about Three monkeys are the cheesecake and the atmosphere. The cheesecakes are really good and I recommend you to stick to that only, the other cakes failed to live up to expectations and as a result, that really brought some gloss off the surface. The cakes are a little too pricey I feel. Chai Latte lovers would be disappointed too as the coffees here are at best above average. The atmosphere is good if you can get a seating area, especially a warm cosy booth, but then again, anywhere with a bunch of good friends will result in a pleasant atmosphere! But I feel that the service level may have gone down a little. There are instances where the cashier appear irritated when you stall on your choices instead of providing some recommendations to speed up the whole process.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xavierwoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overrated Overcrowded Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a cute cafe with some nice food but not worth a long drive or all the hype it seems to have caused.

Food is overpriced and is simply general 'cafe' fare. The staff were friendly but not overly so. I was given a lukewarm milkshake and asked nicely for it to be replaced, it apparently was though the new one was lukewarm still.

I drank a little and was sick that night.. I assume from the milkshake.

A quirky place and worth a visit if you are in the area, just don't go in peak times or order a milkshake.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank diamondsandpearls_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some of the Best Coffee Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I often eat at the Little Greek Taverna then head on over to The Three Monkeys for some of the best coffee in town.

I have eaten my main meal and continued on with desert here, which was all delicious. There are so many deserts to choose from that you need the time you spend in the great line-up of customers to make your decision. The line sounds a little off putting, but don't be, it moves very swiftly and the service of food and drinks is just as efficient.

The decor is just perfect. It looks like a mixture of several different cultures all coming together as one. The numerous little alcoves make for very private and cozy coffee parties with the lighting just low enough to be soft and flattering but bright enough to be able to see what you're doing properly.

This is an especially great place to visit on a rainy day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't see the fuss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Average coffee and food. Cakes are nice but not amazing. Don't see how it can be #20 out of all the cafes/restaurant in Brisbane?!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruciesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Monkeys Coffee & Teahouse also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to The Three Monkeys Coffee & Teahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing