We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MacArthur Museum Men's Shed Visit”

MacArthur Museum Brisbane
Ranked #61 of 339 things to do in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum focuses on Brisbane's time as Pacific headquarters during World War II.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“MacArthur Museum Men's Shed Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

A very good and informative visit.
The Old men could relate to the stories and information given from that period of time.
The staff were very helpfull and plesent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curly65Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    27
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
362 reviews
329 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Best Museum in Brisbane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I went to the museum after doing a bit of shopping in the adjacent shopping centre and was blown away by how good it was. From when you first enter the building the staff are very friendly and helpful and the admission fee is very reasonable. There is a superb balance between actual artifacts and explanatory text as well as video and audio that further enhance the experience. Visiting the General's study was an amazing experience. I learnt lots about this fascinating era of Brisbane history and hope to return again soon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank geographyguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan City Queensland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A valued part of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was born during World War II and my parents and their siblings served and , even as a child, I well remember America's massive presence, contribution to the defence and ongoing protection of Australia and valued support in a time of great danger. The Museum accurately portrays much of those grim days and my only disappoint was in some of the restrictions on photography of things as I exactly remember them.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden history of Brisbane”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

A visit to this Museum provides an insight into the history of Brisbane during the war. Some real memories of the time, great historical records and a very entertaining visit, right in the heart of Brisbane.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This museum provides a fantastic insight into the pre-war Brisbane and the effect the WWII had on both the town and it's people. The museum is really central and near to the Queen St Mall, but you do need to look for it.
There's a great short video to start off the visit, then really well thought out information and displays. We didn't allow anywhere near enough time to go through all the exhibits and when next in Brisbane will be definitely be visiting again.
A true hidden gem.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank simpsonllynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacArthur Museum Brisbane also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to MacArthur Museum Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing