We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top quality food. Fresh. Good value.”

The Brasserie on the River
Reserve with
The Brasserie on the River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #941 of 4,297 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northam, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Top quality food. Fresh. Good value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had lunch at the Stamford Brasserie as we were staying at the Stamford but would definitely go back just for the food. Sunday lunch $45, weekday $35. Plenty of choice and everything made on site. The waitstaff were lovely and we could tell the chefs were proud of producing high quality food. Seafood alone included prawns, mussels, oysters, bugs, salmon and blue swimmer crab. Finger bowls were brought without us asking and the water was warm!
Lunch was so good we went back for breakfast the next day and had the same impressive variety of quality food. (Including cappuccino)
Highly recommend you find time to have a leisurely meal by the river and watch the boats go by.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ESSOinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    50
    37
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brasserie lets the hotel down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had the seafood buffet dinner included in our package. The buffet was filled with the usual fare of cold king prawns, oysters, cold larder and a couple of hot dishes. It was mostly boring and uninspiring. But worse was the atmosphere. There was music playing, but barely audible. We just wanted to eat and get out. Wouldn't go here for a romantic long dinner. Breakfast was little better, the other patrons all looked miserable. It seemed the wait staff were understaffed, rushing around frantically and no-one asked us if we wanted coffees etc. We had to interrupt a waitperson to ask for a cappuccino. There was a chef on the floor making fresh to order omelettes, but he packed up and left fairly soon after our arrival. My daughter ordered a fresh omelette, when it finally came, it was cold and leathery and she couldn't eat it. Such a shame. We love staying at the Stamford, but the Brasserie needs a whole lot of cheer to make it a place you'd want to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlfriday67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lobby High Tea Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Three of us went one Friday.
The table was set very nice
We were asked which tea we would like some minutes later we were given a curry puff then they brought the three tier serving plate with a dismal array of food.
On the lower plate were some sandwiches not dainty little ones but rather thick bread with not much filling as well there was three nice blinis which we enjoyed.
We all had a taste of a sandwich and left it as it was nearly all bread.
I then asked if our plates and cutlery could be changed as we had used these to eat the curry puff,she grudgingly changed our plates but told us they do not change the cutlery we wiped them on our napkins.
Layer two had uninspiring cakes I tried a macaroon which was so hard it shattered when I tried to cut it the rest were either soggy sponge creations or stale pastries.
We didn't even try the top layer of scones as they were only about half an inch high.
We never had an individual teapot
at our table the waitress went around topping up the cups to every table from the same pots which I might add the tea was lukewarm I ordered a coffee which was nice.
The champagne was from a well known brand which you can buy for ten dollars.
I will add that we did not personally pay for this it was won as a door prize at a function at the Stamford Hotel.
We were served exactly the same as other tables.








,

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Buffet dinner and breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

the seafood on the night was fresh, oysters great, light on salad selection, hot food was bit plain and dry, so stayed with cold larder. Breakfast was

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annielec01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“wonderful food in a gorgeous setting - shame about the service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Enjoyed the buffet here on Boxing Day; the selection of seafood was reasonable (the old favourites; prawns, bugs, crabs, oysters, smoked salmon) and an even better selection of roast meats were enjoyed by my fellow diners. I was impressed by the 'different' food available; for vegetarians, there were a number of creative dishes and loads of anti-pasto items.
A 'lavosh' bar made things even more interesting with garlic brushed lavosh bread and an interesting array of fillings; tabouli, humus etc. The salads were also inventive with the option to create your own.
Deserts were largely traditional Christmas fare; a little disappointing really with a very limited range and as we were dinning towards the end of the evening, when things ran out they were not replenished, which is just rude considering we had paid the same amount of money as those who ate quickly/dined early.
The ambiance of this restaurant is stunning with it's glamorous white tented room alongside the river, I would definitely recommend requesting a table outside to fully enjoy this.
The service was the biggest draw back - there virtually wasn't any. I had 3 glasses of wine and had to wait to hunt down a waitress to order each one - at times my glass was empty for half an hour or more, as I couldn't find a waitress to order another; disappointing in a restaurant of this calibre. Disturbingly, the other issue was the lack of menus - each time we were given a menu (drinks or food) it was whisked away minutes later, explained by one of the staff as being due to only having a 'few' to go around - I have to say - really??? Surely menus would be one of the important things to ensure there were enough of?
The buffet was $65 per person, reasonable for a seafood buffet, and the food was delicious. There was an option to order a-la-carte if buffet isn't your style, but good luck securing a menu to do so.
The alcohol was a bit expensive, with basic beers at $9 + each and wine starting at $12 per glass.
Still a great dinner had by all, just let down by the lack of service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brasserie on the River also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to The Brasserie on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing