We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful food, great wine!”

The Walnut Restaurant
Ranked #169 of 4,734 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Walnut Restaurant is found within the historical Royal on the Park Hotel overlooking the Botanical Gardens. In a lovely location opposite the Botanic Gardens both hotel and restaurant are steeped in tradition. The Walnut Restaurant Brisbane offers Brisbane's best fine dining experience that other Brisbane city restaurants simply cannot compare to. Elegance returns with shimmering Egyptian crystal chandeliers, polished Walnut wood paneling with gold trimmings and leather seating. With our exquisite a la carte menu and only the very best of service, we offer a charming and relaxed atmosphere for our diners. In addition a series of special functions are held - our chefs design a weekly degustation menu, available every Saturday with paired wines chosen by our Sommelier to provide the ultimate dining experience. At The Walnut we set out to surprise with both our quality of food and levels of service, For bookings please call us on 07 3112 1650. The Walnut Restuarant won the Bronze Medal at The Australian Culinary Federation Salon Culinaire 2011, Jimmy Sawyer Restaurant of the Year Competition and in 2016 a ‘certificate of excellence for service’ from Tripadvisor.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had a wonderfully enjoyable meal at The Walnut Restaurant, The four of us had lamb or duck - both house specialities. Without a doubt, the service was wonderful and attentive. We had great help selecting wines to go with our mains. If we wanted to try a sample of wine, we were poured a bit so we could decide. Lovely spot for dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback during your recent visit to the Walnut Restaurant and Lounge Bar.

Our Head Chef, Frederick Marechal, is so happy you enjoyed his signature dishes. He has just launched his new Spring 2014 A la Carte menu that takes advantage of the best local produce available such as Venison Striploin for two, carved tableside with cabernet merlot-poached red sensation pear, celeriac purée and blueberry sauce.

It will be an honour to welcome you back to the Royal on the Park Hotel on your next visit to Brisbane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 151 of 307 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

The food here wasn't innovative cuisine but who cares - it was absolutely delicious! Lamb shanks falling off the bone, steak done to perfection, both served with scrumptious sides, sauces and vegetables. Desserts that had us in heaven. The chef here knows what he's doing and he does it well. The wait staff were excellent, and the chef came by to check that we were happy with our food. A lovely meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank feebles07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are really happy that you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us! Our Head Chef, Frederick Marechal, and his Sous Chef, Joshua Williams, have a delightful habit of popping their heads out to interact with our patrons and to garner feedback about the meals.

Both of them are in the midst of fine-tuning their new menu due to launch in Spring, sourcing the best and freshest ingredients for their latest culinary creations. Do sign up for our complimentary Royal Rewards Card before your next visit to the Walnut Restaurant. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal on the Park Hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have had a few family evening at the Walnut room. The service is polite and attentive. and the food is good and well priced. The venue is charming and old world and the private rooms perfect for the larger groups. The Crepe Suzette is a real treat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ebony4561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Our team at the Walnut Restaurant and Lounge Bar is delighted to know that our Mission, "Where Service Comes First", has found resonance with our patrons. Your positive comments are a wonderful affirmation of our goal of continuous improvement to provide you with a better dining experience.

We hope you will join us soon for the launch of our new A la Carte Menu, or perhaps try our 6- and 8-course Degustation on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Splendid meals for a lovely family reunion. Our waiter, Allen, was absolutely wonderful. Meals were well priced and a reasonable size.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chanty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. Allen is one of our long-serving staff and is so happy he was able to make your family reunion even more special.

Our Head Chef, Frederick Marechal, is close to finalising his new A la Carte Menu due to launch next month. Parts of his new menu are currently available as Daily Specials, to tantalise and tease our patrons. We hope you will join us at the Walnut Restaurant and Lounge Bar very soon to preview his latest creations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We visited the Walnut Room recently whilst overnighting in Brisbane CBD for our Wedding Anniversary - we had a wonderful time and the food and service were superb - we will be returning - make sure you order the Crepe Suzette - very special indeed!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kazza1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that our Crepes Suzette flambéed tableside met with your approval! Our new Spring A la Carte Menu is only weeks away from launch and this oft-requested classic dessert looks certain to entertain and delight our patrons for another season.

Do head to our new website and sign up for your complimentary Royal Rewards Card before your next visit to Brisbane. Members enjoy exclusive offers and priority bookings for both dining and accommodation. We hope it will not be too long before you and your wife are able to join us again at the Royal on the Park Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Walnut Restaurant also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to The Walnut Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing