We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Spot for Dinner”

The Walnut Restaurant
Ranked #176 of 4,659 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Walnut Restaurant is found within the historical Royal on the Park Hotel overlooking the Botanical Gardens. In a lovely location opposite the Botanic Gardens both hotel and restaurant are steeped in tradition. The Walnut Restaurant Brisbane offers Brisbane's best fine dining experience that other Brisbane city restaurants simply cannot compare to. Elegance returns with shimmering Egyptian crystal chandeliers, polished Walnut wood paneling with gold trimmings and leather seating. With our exquisite a la carte menu and only the very best of service, we offer a charming and relaxed atmosphere for our diners. In addition a series of special functions are held - our chefs design a weekly degustation menu, available every Saturday with paired wines chosen by our Sommelier to provide the ultimate dining experience. At The Walnut we set out to surprise with both our quality of food and levels of service, For bookings please call us on 07 3112 1650. The Walnut Restuarant won the Bronze Medal at The Australian Culinary Federation Salon Culinaire 2011, Jimmy Sawyer Restaurant of the Year Competition and in 2016 a ‘certificate of excellence for service’ from Tripadvisor.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Had a meeting at the Royal on the Park and decided to have Dinner at the Walnut room afterwards. Great food, service and atmosphere.

Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so glad that our services at the Royal on the Park Hotel Brisbane met with your approval! With fantastic meeting rooms that cater up from 8 to 800 guests, a good portion of our delegates choose to dine at our Walnut Restaurant as a seamless continuation of their conferences. With free WiFi throughout the hotel and complimentary car parking for our diners (subject to availability and based on 1 car park space per $100 spend), our corporate guests' needs are not left wanting.

With intimate settings for our diners, the Walnut Restaurant also has two Private Dining Rooms for that important business luncheon or celebratory dinner that can cater up to 20 persons. We hope you will be able to join us again soon for both business and pleasure on your future visits to Brisbane!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 300 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

I have visited the Walnut restaurant for breakfast before, with a client and with my mother. Both times the breakfast was well presented, and well cooked so I felt confident recommending it for a special event. Last Friday night we had a private dining room booked for an elopement. They were the only venue in town happy to accommodate varying food requirements. The bride was also very pleased with the service we received prior to the actual evening.

I don't even know where to start. We were attended to before and during by Rudy, who is the epitome of exceptional service. Even my husband, who has dined at some of the finest in London, was suitably impressed with the attentiveness and professionalism of Rudy.

We sampled many types of meals within the group, including the steak, risotto, and the lamb saddle, which is presented in a giant antique silver serving trolley. We also had desserts, with the sweet yum cha and chocolate mousse taking the absolute cake for exquisite taste and smell. The entire food experience was a sensory overload, in the best way possible. The wine was chosen well and the champagne flowed and seemed never ending.

As we had the private dining room, we really did feel as though we were the only people in the restaurant. Yes, it was not cheap, however we left very happy with the amount we paid for such an incredible experience. We even met the chef which was a great way to finalise the evening and compliment her on the accomplished meals.

Rudy, THANK YOU! We will most definitely be telling everyone we know, and coming back shortly - no excuses for us locals ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

What an honour it was for the Walnut Restaurant to be part of such a special occasion! We are so pleased that our service and menu met with your expectations.

Frederick Marechal, our Sous Chef, has just finished his draft for his new menu due to launch at the end of next month and our diners are in for a treat! Featuring favourite winter warmers, Frederick will be slaving away in his kitchen for 12-hour braisings and slow-cooked meats that guarantee to melt in your mouth. Our Chef de Partie, Cobi Riethmuller, is introducing the most indulgent of desserts to chase away those winter blues. Both chefs have sworn us to secrecy so do stay tuned for sneak previews!

We hope you will join us again in our Private Dining Room soon for another Degustation and so look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal on the Park Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Really good wine, lovely food. Entree and main perfect. The chef even came out to see how it was. My duck was so good, great sauce and duck cooked very nicely. Old fashioned styling but still welcoming and not too stuffy. Would love to come back. Pretty pricey. Rum baba was flamed at my table, very theatric and fun!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DomK602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to our Walnut Restaurant! It is nice to know that we were able to make your dining experience special. Our Chefs have a habit of popping their heads in to interact with our diners and to garner feedback about their food. Sous Chef Frederick Marechal is especially happy to know that he is able to continue the tradition of the classic French Duck a l'Orange with his own interpretation (his secret ingredient? Star anise!).

We hope you will join us again soon on your next visit to Brisbane and enjoy our special hospitality at the Royal on the Park Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

What a great restuarant. Fantastic service, menu and food. We were tremendously impressed as were all the other diners we heard complimenting the staff. Go for the Scallops in the Entree!

Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

You have put a smile on our faces with your kind words! We are very happy that our Scallops Signature Dish has impressed. Frederick Marechal, our Sous Chef, is deep in thought about his next menu due to launch next month and we hope to be able to entice you with another offering of our Hokkaido scallops.

Speaking of gems, it's our Sapphire anniversary this month! It's hard to believe that we have been part of Brisbane's dining history for the past 45 years and to celebrate, we have launched our new-look Royal Rewards Card with brand-new offers for both accommodation and in the Walnut Restaurant. Do head to our website for your complimentary card and enjoy our members-only benefits the next time you are in Brisbane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Cauliflower puree w seared scallops was on point. Perfectly seared and the puree was beautifuly seasoned. Great service and parking was free. Highly recommended and I've been back a few times and never a drama. Quite cheap too.

Thank Matty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

What a delight to have your continued patronage at the Walnut Restaurant! Everyone who has tried our Signature dish of Spiced Scallops St Jacques loves its moist natural sweetness, testament to our Executive Chef, Rhian Rodrigues's, goal of sourcing the very best produce and selecting the cooking method that showcases the flavour of our sashimi-grade scallops from Hokkaido, Japan.

We are celebrating our 45th anniversary this month with the launch of our Sapphire-themed Royal Rewards Card program, with new-look cards that include a keychain tag for added convenience. Do head onto our website before your next visit for your complimentary card and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Walnut Restaurant also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to The Walnut Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing