We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood splendour”

The Walnut Restaurant
Ranked #180 of 4,632 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Walnut Restaurant is found within the historical Royal on the Park Hotel overlooking the Botanical Gardens. In a lovely location opposite the Botanic Gardens both hotel and restaurant are steeped in tradition. The Walnut Restaurant Brisbane offers Brisbane's best fine dining experience that other Brisbane city restaurants simply cannot compare to. Elegance returns with shimmering Egyptian crystal chandeliers, polished Walnut wood paneling with gold trimmings and leather seating. With our exquisite a la carte menu and only the very best of service, we offer a charming and relaxed atmosphere for our diners. In addition a series of special functions are held - our chefs design a weekly degustation menu, available every Saturday with paired wines chosen by our Sommelier to provide the ultimate dining experience. At The Walnut we set out to surprise with both our quality of food and levels of service, For bookings please call us on 07 3112 1650. The Walnut Restuarant won the Bronze Medal at The Australian Culinary Federation Salon Culinaire 2011, Jimmy Sawyer Restaurant of the Year Competition and in 2016 a ‘certificate of excellence for service’ from Tripadvisor.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We just ordered the seafood platter and loved it!! Super fresh and super tasty!! Also was the perfect amount of food for two really hungry people.

Advice for eating: start from the bottom!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Our Seafood Tower for two seems to have its own loyal following! A world away from what you would normally get, diners are treated to the freshest fruits of the sea, including pan-fried white fish, baked Moreton Bay bug, Coffin Bay oysters, Queensland king prawns, Huon River smoked salmon, New Zealand green lip mussels and gratinated scallops in shell with shoestring fries and a refreshing garden salad with vinaigrette dressing. Share a bottle of chilled white wine from our extensive list and it's the perfect start to a wonderful evening.

Diners enjoy complimentary car parking (one free car parking validation per $100 spend) and also the fastest free Wi-Fi connection whilst dining. Members of our Royal Rewards Card programme also receive bi-monthly promotions at the Royal on the Park Hotel, so do sign up on our website before your next visit to Brisbane!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for The Walnut Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 172 of 298 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

Had the 3 tier seafood platter, it was galactic. Great service and romantic enviroment. Tip: before entering sign up with the Rewards membership on the restaurants website, you will receive a 25% discount - bonus!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lost_in_the_city68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are so glad you enjoyed our service and Seafood Tower last weekend. We pride ourselves on sourcing only the best and freshest produce for this mountainous feast for two (or for one VERY hungry diner!).

Many couples have enjoyed a romantic dinner in the intimate and luxurious milieu of the Walnut Restaurant. As temperatures heat up for the start of summer, do hop onto our website to take advantage of our refreshing Summer Package at the Royal on the Park Hotel for the best value accommodation and dining deals in Brisbane CBD.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Had the lamb - just beautifully underdone with salad (but should have gone the mash). Service excellent, wine bril (i am a chardonnay tragic had 2011 Margaret River, just superb). Thank you I enjoyed it's meal so much, but I would have enjoyed more fruit in the marshmallo desert, just to break it). Yummmmmmm.
Thanks!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MsArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

What a delight it is to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience recently! Our Chef de Partie, Cobi Riethmueller, is thrilled that you enjoyed her sweet creation and is currently working hard on conjuring up more magical confectionary for our new A la Carte menu launching early next year.

We hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back to the Walnut Restaurant. Do sign up for our complimentary Royal Rewards Card on our website before your next visit to the Royal on the Park Hotel to enjoy a multitude of members-only benefits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We have been coming for years and the food has always been exceptional. However on our last visit, the food was very disappointing. The French Onion soup was bland (basically just onions, potatoes with cheese on toast), the quail was good, the steak with polenta was okay, and the lamb was average. The chocolate tart was so yuk, tasted stale and the crepe suzette was ok.. a bit doughy. I was given a taste of champagne to try and it was flat! So not impressed at all.....
We won't be coming back anymore.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your honest feedback and note with grave concern that our food offerings have not met with your approval. We wish to assure you that we use only the freshest ingredients in our culinary fare. As one would expect, certain dishes may not appeal to some and although we have received mixed reviews, the general consensus is a positive one.

Our Executive Chef, Rhian Rodrigues, is planning to launch a brand new menu in early 2014 packed full of new creations of the highest quality. Backed by chefs who recently won silver and bronze medals at the Nestlé Golden Chefs Hat Challenge in Sydney, the new menu promises to delight, tease and WOW our guests with a complete revamp.

We would love for you to return to the Royal on the Park Hotel and sample the new menu with our compliments. Please feel free to contact the Walnut Restaurant at any time to discuss any issues you had on your last visit or to accept our humble invitation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

A great restaurant somewhat hidden away but with a good wine list and menu. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the service prompt. The staff were knowledgeable about the wine list.
I had the rack of lamb which was nicely prepared although a little fatty. The ratatouille was very tasty.

1  Thank Rossland58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Our lamb comes from Milly Hill in Armidale, NSW. Having been awarded Australia's Best Sheep Producer in 2009 and the Sydney Fine Food Show's Blue Ribbon Grand Champion last year, we are fortunate to deal directly with the producer. This both reduces our food miles and carbon footprint and also assures our guests the freshest and best quality lamb available.

This is cooked to perfection by our Sous Chef, Frederick Marechal, and his team. Tender, moist, full of flavour, melt-in-the-mouth - these are the most common remarks by our guests when they take their first bite.

Frederick's menu changes seasonal to capture the best produce available. He is currently working hard to create a gastronomic fantasy for his next offering due to launch after Christmas. Do stay tuned by logging on to our Royal on the Park Hotel website (and the Walnut Restaurant now has its very own website!!) for updates on new menus and promotions. While you're there, sign up for our Royal Rewards Card which you can use on your next visit. We hope you will join us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Walnut Restaurant also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to The Walnut Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing