We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pasta and seafood”
Review of Otello's on Oxford - CLOSED

Otello's on Oxford
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pasta and seafood”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I dined at otellos two weeks ago and had an excellent food experience. We in four and ordered the spaghetti vongole(clams), linguini gamberi(prawns), calamari and ravioli. All of it was delicious, especially the vongole dish, light and delicate but with so much flavour. The calamari were yum, maybe the best I' very had in Brisbane and the ravioli with sage and butter, just awesome! For dessert we got the tiramisu and Nutella crepes which were excellent and the espresso coffee was an authentic Italian ending to the meal. Service good, not pushy or overbearing. Will return again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saava S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Definitely average”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was really surprised to have such an average experience at this restaurant when most of the places on the Oxford strip are good.

Many of the reviews (I'm now reading) I would agree with. Service was very average - we had no one come near us and then three people try to take our order. Entrees sat on the table for ages before being cleared. We had to prompt someone to get another drink order at $9 a hit!

The food was incredibly dull. Pasta was gluggy - Nice tasting but not worth the $ paid. I was actually astonished at what the price on some dishes were - $33 for a chicken dish and $40 for a marinara risotto - you're not even paying those prices for comparable dishes in the city on the river!

If you decide to brave it. Pack a jumper or shawl - it's cool and breezy.

I simply wouldn't go back...not sure how I could be more helpful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chileandreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice, but Service could be better”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

OK, it was a Monday night and we popped into Otellos for Dinner as it was open but what, were we doing you a favour?? Seriously, cut the attitude, forget checking yourself out, keep the main door open and you might have more people staying for dinnner. The food was good. I had the risotto, portion sizes could be more.. I would consider going back but maybe on a weekend....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pixie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Not a bad place for dinner”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We didn't set out to eat here tonight but ended up giving the restaurant a go. It was what it promised on the box: an Italian restaurant with food at it's price point. If you're looking for high end fine dining, this is probably not the place. But if you want an honest pizza or pasta that is good value for money, then you probably will like it here.

The service was friendly and efficient. The prices were fair. The food was tasty. The portion sizes were generous.

The Nutella pancakes are really good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Average”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Everything about this restaurant is average. It definitely doesn't fit in with all the great restaurants that Oxford street has to offer. Do yourself a favour and close your eyes, spin around and go to whatever other restaurant on the street you are pointing to when you open your eyes!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imacca_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otello's on Oxford also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing