We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Customs House Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 4,377 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $60
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Customs House has a licensed restaurant which provides inside dining in heritage surroundings as well as outside dining overlooking the river and the Story Bridge. The relaxed dining ambience is popular with tourists, business clients and local customers. Guests can be assured of excellent food, fantastic river views and friendly professional service. The cuisine is modern Australian with an emphasis on fresh seasonal produce including seafood. The wine list has quality wines at competitive prices.Head Chef: Didier Pollaert Chef de Cusine: John OffenhauserLunch: Monday - Sunday 12 noon until 2.30pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday from 6.00pm Sunday Breakfast from 9am Cake and Coffee: Every day from 9am
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Enjoyed a great two course set lunch with a wine. Very reasonable price, great food and very good service. Cannot beat the location, on the Brisbane river, quiet, lovely surrounds and gardens. No negatives, terrific for that special occasion or to impress your first date. Pork belly and lamb was my choice and I wasn't disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LTP-BCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    120
    41
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional cuisine”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful building with outside setting overlooking Story Bridge? Fine dining with meal size reflecting that. We couldn't fault the food or service so looking for something different, classy and memorable this is the restaurant for you

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank daviesgibbsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

After our first visit to Customs House Restaurant in January, we were very impressed with the food, i.e. taste, appearance and quality, that we decided to dine here again for a special occasion.

Without any doubt, the service is top-notch. Excellent waiting staff serving with smiles on their faces - and ever so kind.

There were five of us in our party and each ordered a main culminating in 2 steaks, 1 duck breast, 1 veal medallion and 1 chicken tender (child's meal). We also used our dining privilege for a complimentary bottle of red wine - however the red wine offered was different from the website's showcase (i.e. not a Shiraz). Regardless, the red wine arrived at our table within 5 minutes of sitting.

Post-order, starters' bread arrived quickly, with mains following some 15-20 mins later. Our steaks and veal medallion were cooked perfectly (as requested), however there wasn't sufficient jus - as an indication, halfway through the main, the plate was dry. This experience was unlike our previous one where there was a generous serving of jus with the steak and medallion. The duck breast was well seasoned, however one of the slices (the centre piece) was undercooked. After informing the staff, that slice was brought back to the kitchen for 're-cook'. The child's meal chicken tender was cooked beautifully - no qualms there.

At 7 pm on a Thursday night, the restaurant was just under 50% occupancy judging from the tables that were laid out, hence the ambience was light and easy, not too boisterous. Rather romantic I'd say, quite different from other posts where diners had a converse experience.

Whilst the meals were pricey, the quality of the food, ambience (overlooking the lit story bridge) and cheerfulness of the staff certainly makes it worthwhile. Definitely worth dining here again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ProfVau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Skal function in March 2014”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Wonderful place for a function our Skal Internationals AGM dinner function was a great night, pre-dinner drinks on the terrace over looking the river on a balmy night. Good staff, no trouble for a special dinner request. Beautiful heritage building.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Dinner Experience”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The food was very good. The setting with view, the quiet ambience and the excellent were standouts. You left feeling that you had a great experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Customs House Restaurant also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Customs House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing