We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thank you”
other travelers have booked this property
Entrance to charming apartment in Auchenflower
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to charming apartment in Auchenflower
Main Bed Dining to kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Entrance to charming apartment in Auchenflower
Main Bed
Dining to kitchen
Bathroom
Verandah
Office & Bunks
Kitchen to dining
Lounge Chairs
Main Bed 1
Kitchen 2
Lounge & Jen's Piano
Kitchen 1
Main Bed 2
Relax
Study and bunk room
Bunk Beds
Main Bed 3
Piano to dining
Loo
Dining 1
Coffee
Bikepath and walk beside the Brisbane River
Restaurants
Bikepath and walk beside the Brisbane River
Park Road Restaurant and Coffee precinct
Brisbane River
Swim at Southbank
Regatta Hotel
River bikepath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Brisbane, Brisbane Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cecily C
2 reviews
“ Thank you ”
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We have recently had an extended stay at Green Gables. Jen and Ian were away but always within touch through emails or phone. We treated it as our home and it became a haven for us. Peaceful private verandah and garden. A warm hearted friendly neighbour. Most important for us was that it was walking distance to the Wesley hospital. Easy access via train or ferry especially to the city. Great little eatery and corner shop just round the corner. Thank you Jen and Ian for making Green Gables available to us at this time in our lives. It was just so easy to move in and go to the kitchen and feel at home. It felt like we were having a holiday with family. Thank you for everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2017
It was just wonderful having Cecily and Dennis at Green Gables. Beautiful, warm, friendly country folk who totally respected our home and were an absolute delight to work with. Always so open and honest do deal with.
We would love to have them back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret...
1 review
“A Quaint Queensland cottage near city heart”
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were welcomed very warmly and the accommodation was as advertised. Lovely water pressure and instant hot water in the shower. Difficult parking but a convenient spot for the trains .Close to all the little shopping areas of Milton Rosalie and Paddington and Red Hill. thanks again Jen and Ian

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2017
It was wonderful having Margaret and her friends stay at Green Gables. Absolutely delightful people and they left out home beautifully tidy and clean. Unfortunately they didn't get my message about our free parking permit and had to park down the back. We would truly love to have them back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanjgar...
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Step back in time”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My twin sister and I recently met in Brisbane for a short holiday.
Green Gables offered us a home away from home on every level. Our hosts made us feel very much at home.
The unit was furnished and equipped with everything a traveller would want and need. Such a charming older style property to spend quailty time in, but also close to public transport, local shops and restaurants.

If you want a unique holiday rental experience then Green Gables is the place for you. You'll love it I'm sure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2017
Susan and Olga were the most beautiful and gracious ladies to host. So creative, artistic and appreciative of our city pad. Communicative, open and warm hearted. They left the place so immaculately and 100% respected the space - we'd just love to have them back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue08
kent
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“We had a different experience to other reviewers”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

On the plus side there was a lovely shower, great air con, comfortable bed and easy parking.
The unit had a very 'lived in' feel and the standard of cleanliness was not what you would expect from a holiday rental. The main lounge area has 4 separate chairs which are ok to sit in for a short while, but not very relaxing and it felt like a waiting room. There are 2 bedrooms- with the TV being in bedroom 1 and bedroom 2 is used as an office by the owners and is across the veranda outside the main door. The kitchen area was functional but we had to wash items before we could use them. There was also an infestation of ants on our arrival which I can appreciate does happen in warm climates, but this was the only property during our trip to Australia that this was such a problem. I booked the property through the TA website and the owners emailed a few times requesting an early settlement to the balance, which was outside the normal payment schedule set up by TA, I declined their request and kept to the payment timescale. There was also lots and lots of email correspondence from the owners before and during our stay, as they clearly love their property and want others to do so. We had a few issues during our stay and they owners did apologise and compensated us by offering chocolates and wine. I would not want to stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2017
We would have to agree with with Jill It was a very different experience hosting this lady from all the other T Adv warm appreciative guests we have had the pleasure of. We quickly came to realise that though the standard of the flat was just perfectly fine according to all other guests and the cleaners work was checked (we have not had any other complaints on any level there before ) nothing would be satisfactory.... eg though we explained ants come in heat waves and spray and wipe immediately solves the problem and we had as ever checked the crockery /kitchenware was thoroughly cleaned etc were, nothing can be enough.
Our request for early payment was simply so we had her details to contact her with info re her journey as she had questions re another segment of her holiday.
We would have to remark the second lockable bedroom (not office) adjacent to lockable deck is directly by the lounge door within the the whole complex .
We were grateful Jill accepted our compensation (we were still not really sure what it exactly was for .... we think perhaps there was just a slight personality clash??) and as previously stated we wish her well on onward travels and her whole party for sure
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lea O
Cairns
2 reviews
“Clean , spacious and well located”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Nice spacious two bedroom apartment well located to attractions in Brisbane or if visiting the university.. Very convenient for Wesley hospital if needed.
Check that parking available during the week as street parking is metered, weekends are not an issue.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2017
It was great to have Lea and Doug stay at Green Gables. They were so easy to communicate with and left our little pad very clean and tidy.
Off street parking is available at the rear of the building.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer18...
2 reviews
“So much character, so convenient.”
Reviewed January 19, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I brought my daughter and her friend down to dance at the Queensland Ballet school in West End....it was so close I could zip across to drop them off and collect them. And while they were dancing I went for a bike ride along the river, which is just a few 100 meters away.
It was a a heat wave so we swum at South Bank, once again so close.
And when we wanted to leave we just popped onto the inner city bypass and so avoided traffic.
Most importantly the place had a lot of character and Ian and Jenny looked after us tremendously.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2017
It was just great having Jen and her beautiful girls to stay and great too that everything was close and easy for them. They took such care of our little pad and we'd love to have them back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Recently stayed at Green Gables for a Friend’s wedding in Brisbane. The house itself is fantastic. Exactly as seen the photos. Very clean all everything required is provided.
Location is great, it's just outside the city but loads of local shops / bars / cafes all very close. Transport into the city is easy and quick, bus or train stops close by. We got the ferry into the city which was a nice way to travel.
Jen and Ian was excellent hosts, anything we needed was dealt with quickly and great to deal with.
Highly recommend this house to anybody wanting to stay in Brisbane

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
It was a literal joy to have Keith and his lovely party of friends mark and mel to stay at our unit. These people were just the most warm open lovely communicative folk and delightful to host. They left the property so immaculately and truly appreciated and respected it. We would truly welcome them back with absolute open arms people of this calbre are a rare treat to cross paths with and we wish them well for sure
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing