We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad for other Oaks Apartments to be associated with this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Festival Towers
Ranked #60 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Based on this last experience we will never stay at an Oaks establishment again!! We have stayed in 4 other Oaks apartments in Brisbane and Sydney and Festival Towers was a big!! let down.
I have advised the travel agent of this and the reason for this decision.
1. Dirty cutlery and crockery
2. Dirty torn and saggy furniture
3. Window covering torn and not fitting to the window
4. Basic good customer service was lacking. (with the exception of 2 Staff members there was a gross lack of "customer service")

After having to change rooms because of a broken TV and torn damaged furniture, the second room was not a lot better.
I'm sorry to say I didn't fully read the last few reviews....I wish I had!!

Room Tip: The view is good if facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwoz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Festival Towers. It is disappointing to read that our hotel did not meet your expectations and you were unhappy with the apartments you were allocated. If you wish to discuss these issues further, please contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au. We do hope to welcome you back again to an Oaks Hotels and Resorts property to experience the standard you had experienced in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 695 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

I regularly stay at a couple of Oaks establishments in Brisbane when travelling for work, and Oaks Festival is not my first choice. Whilst the rooms are a good size, and the location is excellent, I have found consisently that the standard of cleaning is well below par; and there is often a bad smell (like sewerage?) in the common areas, lifts etc. Again, this time my bathroom had mould in the shower and even the handbasin had mould around it - inexcusable, when supposedly cleaning happens daily. The bed was very comfortable though, and the towels new and fresh. The recpetion service is average, and even though I stay regulalrly, there is never any indication from the staff to acknowledge that I am a frequent stayer.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mummsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on you recent stay at Oaks Festival Towers. We are delighted to know that you are a frequent guest with Oaks Hotels and Resorts. However, we certainly do apologise for the issues you experienced with the cleanliness in your apartment. Please be assured that your comments will be passed onto the Hotel Manager and Housekeeping Manager for immediate attention. We do look forward to seeing you at one of our Brisbane properties again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We have stayed at Oaks Festival Towers back in January and had a fairly well presented apartment with a Digital TV which you would expect in all apartments. The lounge needed replacing as it was sagging and uncomfortable but overall it was fine. We then booked another 5 night stay in April. Went to check in and discovered there was an extremely old analogue TV without a Digital Box!!!!!!!!! Rang and was asked to check next door as we had booked another apartment for our friend for the one night, this had a flat screen T.V. but Yes it was still an analogue. About one and a half hours later we were told to go to another apartment this one was WORSE Yes again another old T.V. but the coffee table had been replaced with a round white PLASTIC sagging scorched marked horrible looking one. After talking to the lady receptionist who was always pleasant, then she put us onto to a man who was extremely unpleasant and asked me "WELL WHAT CAN WE DO FOR YOU"? I simply said all I wanted was a modern Digital TV the building is only 6 years old for goodness sake!!!! I also reminded them that they are suppose to be 4.5 AAA rated. He said this was going to take a long time for us to go back into the apartment or did we want to spend the night there and move the next day I said "No" as we like to fully unpack and not live out of suit cases. I didn't want to go back up to the apartment as I was afraid they would forget about us. We waited on the lounges in reception. He went up to another apartment came down and told the receptionist, she came over and said this one is fine. As I have said she was very pleasant he needs to be more accommodating and if he is in a higher position should of came over to us and apologized for the inconvenience as this was two hours later!!!!!!!!!!!!

That apartment was fine it was reasonably clean and comfortable. Obviously they do not have many of these!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Foyers get extremely hot, there are air conditioning vents on the walls but they do not turn them on so you get stale air and the smells from the garbage shoots.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali_Mick_Geraghty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Many thanks for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Festival Towers.

It is disappointing to read that you felt some aspects of your stay were unsatisfactory. As you may be aware, our apartments are owned individually and as a result are often furnished differently. We do sincerely apologise that the room you were allocated was not the standard you were expecting and do hope that you will stay with Oaks Hotels & Resorts again soon to experience the quality apartments for which we are renowned for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Fantastic spacious living accomodation with all mod cons.
Could have been cleaner, but certainly not filthy. There was an 'odd' smell in the corridor that led to the swimming pool area which seemed to get stronger on a daily basis.
Staff at front desk were curtious, but not particularly friendly.

Room Tip: High up and facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayESABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Festival Towers.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I spend a lot of time travelling and have to say this place rates as one of the worst I have stayed in recent times. Needs a major shake up in a number of areas (service/cleaning). Only good point is the location otherwise stay else where - you have been warned.

The rooms are bland and I was shocked at how dirty they were - shower had mould around edges and the TV remote looked like it had been dipped in a tray of chinese it was that grubby and greasy (didn't matter anyway because the TV speakers were broken). The fridge was covered in dirty finger marks and the over all presentation was a joke.

Save your money and stay in a back packers as this would be better value ! A real let down and not good value at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Festival Towers.

We regret the shortcomings you experienced in the standard of cleanliness. Please be assured that we aspire to the highest standards of cleanliness at all times. We are consistently liaising with our housekeeping staff to ensure rooms are maintained to the best possible standards and we will address your particular concerns with the Housekeeping Manager.

Please do accept our apologies and consider staying with Oaks Hotels & Resorts again when travelling in order to experience the quality apartments for which we are renowned for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This place seems more geared for residential use than a short stay. The tiny reception counter was undermanned for the busy checkin checkout times and the lifts slow. We seemed to wait an eternity for each lift no matter what time of day.
The rooms were plain and sterile with very little though given to furnishings or decoration. Our lounge chair even jutted part of the way across the bedroom doorway.
There is no hotel restaurant, however it has a few cafes and restaurants nearby.
We stayed in a one bed apartment and for what you get I don't think it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to provide comments following your stay at Oaks Festival Towers. We would like to apologise for any disappointment you felt regarding the apartment in which you stayed . We have shared your comments with our Product Development team for their consideration.
As a team we aim to provide exceptional service and quality accommodation that exceeds our guest expectations and it is disappointing to read that we did not achieve this during your stay. We do hope that you will choose to stay with Oaks Hotels & Resorts again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The location of this hotel is great - just one block from the big Myer Centre and close to Queen St.
Things we enjoyed about it: great shower, some Foxtel channels, deck that overlooked the city, great little kitchen.
Not so great: Internet in your room is really expensive - about $12 for two hours but the fast speed only lasts about 10 minutes if you're checking email, Facebook etc. Then it says you can continue and keep using the internet until your 2 hours are up but it goes so slow it's impossible to do anything. So pretty much $12 for 10 minutes.
Our visit was also spoiled a bit by the discovery of lots of blood on the mattress when I was making the bed.
Without that it would have been a nice hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can go to avoid the sound of roadworks, partiers etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieNz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Many thanks for providing feedback regarding your recent stay.
It is disappointing to hear that you felt some aspects of your stay were unsatisfactory. Mattresses are inspected following the departure of each guest to ensure cleanliness and we apologise for the issue you experienced. We have addressed your comments with our Housekeeping Manager for immediate attention. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future to experience the best that Oaks Festival Towers has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#53 of 168 in Brisbane
908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#56 of 168 in Brisbane
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#57 of 168 in Brisbane
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#33 of 168 in Brisbane
1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#11 of 168 in Brisbane
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#17 of 168 in Brisbane
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Festival Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Festival Towers

Address: 108 Albert Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#56 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $96 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Festival Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime position and providing spacious modern design, first class technology and facilities, is Oaks Festival Towers. Guests can sample top restaurants and late-night bars, irresistible shopping, galleries, theatres, movies and museums which are all nearby. Oaks Festival Towers comprises of one and two bedroom contemporary, self-contained apartments each with a private balcony and city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Festival Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Festival Towers Hotel Brisbane
Oaks Festival Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing