We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintenance and house-keeping need to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Festival Towers
Ranked #59 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I have been staying at Festival Towers when I am in Brisbane for work over the past year and have noticed the maintenance of the apartments deteriorating each time. The apartments vary in standard and during my current trip staying five nights, my apartment is sub-standard with the curtains broken, the bathroom light so dim I can't see properly and the hallway dirty. Last year the apartment foyer was improved which is good however the apartments also need improvement to ensure apartment standard is the same. I also have found in the past that the lifts at peak times are congested and staff not very helpful. I am now on the look out for a new place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IStayThereforeIAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback regarding Oaks Festival Towers. It is disappointing to read that the standard of the apartments have left you feeling dissatisfied. Please accept our apologies for your concerns and be assured that we have forwarded you review to the Hotel Manager and Maintenance Department for investigation.

We do hope that you will consider returning to Oaks Festival Towers or another one of our properties soon to experience the best of what Oaks Hotels & Resorts has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 831 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

I've stayed here on a couple of occasions with groups of friends when catching a show in Brisbane. It is in a great location, close to Queen Street and casino and within walking distance of Southbank. Glimpses of the river as well. However, on my first trip here, my car was towed. Through a series of events, I was not informed that cars absolutely had to be moved to the lower level or they would be towed. The Oaks accept no responsibility for this and they really don't go out of their way to make sure ALL guests are aware of the situation. As it happened, the towing company was closed so I wasn't even able to get my car until the following day which cost me another nights accommodation in Brisbane as well as the cost of towing. An expensive mistake on my part but I really feel that the staff could be more on top of this. They had plenty of opportunity to inform me personally of the parking situation but neglected to.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 333Rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Oaks Festival Towers. We apologise for any confusion in regards to car parking. Your suggestions have been forwarded through to the Hotel Manager for serious consideration.

We do hope that this experience has not affected your opinion of Oaks Hotels & Resorts, and you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Friendly helpful staff. Gained early entry to apartment which was on the 37th floor so it was quiet and had good views however, the door hinges to the cupboard containing the water kettle & toaster were broken, there was no soap provided and no trays for the oven. Minor things I suppose because overall position, courtesy of staff and views take a bit of tossing. Will continue staying at Oaks which to us, seem the best chain of apartments .

Room Tip: Have stayed several times and have never had a 'bad' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Many thanks for your review of Oaks Festival Towers. We are delighted to read that you are repeat guests and enjoy the accommodation we have to offer. We do apologise for the elements of your apartment that you were dissatisfied with. Please be assured that the Hotel Manager has been informed.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in Dec. Overall we were very happy with the 2 bedroom apartment we had. It was very spacious and well located. I agree with other reviewers that this hotel could be so much better managed. The most critical things that management needs to deal with are the cleaning and the staff. Both of our bathrooms had not been properly cleaned. The showers had black/pink stain on the . Also, after meals and at the end of the day, there was no way to clean/sweep the floors. If you miss the 2 hour housekeeping window, which we did because our baby was sleeping, your room does not get cleaned. Also note that depending on the rate you pay, a vacuum may not be included.
An interaction with a staff member at reception left me cold. After a cleaner accidentally broke one of our belongings iin front of us in our room, I was on my way out and went to report this to reception. The very helpful young man behind the desk told me that he didn't like my attitude!
Hmmmm....

Room Tip: Ask for a clean room:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StarNvigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

We appreciate that you took the time to comment on your stay at Oaks Festival Towers. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us at Oaks Festival Towers.

Our Customer Feedback Representative would sincerely like to learn more about the elements of your stay that left you feeling dissatisfied, please email customerservice@theoaksgroup.com.au at your convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This is such a disappointing hotel.It so conveniently located and yet they just cannot get their act together. The room I had was really quite nice but it had a musty SMELL. The corridors had a musty smell and the lifts were dirty. This place could do so much better if they only took the trouble to clean the place up, make sure the rooms and corridors don't smell. Maybe some decent ventilation is required.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PerthFrequent_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Oaks Festival Towers. Your review has been passed onto the Housekeeping Department and Maintenance for investigation.

We do hope to welcome you to one of our Oaks Hotels & Resorts properties again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed at Oaks Festival Towers a few years ago on a business trip and that visit started my love affair with the Oaks hotel chain. Stayed this time for 3 nights over New Years. Lovely spacious apartment.Good views over Brisbane. 2 min walk to Queens St Mall and the transport hub. Plenty of restaurants around at night and the taxi rank was just up the road. We checked in at 3am in the morning and the lady on the desk was lovely. Had a really good sleep on the beds. Didn't spend too much time in the room as was out enjoying Brisbane most of the time.
Also went to QPAC to see Mary Poppins and had an easy stroll back after the performance.
There isn't anything I can criticise so very happy to give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missCTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive and kind review of Oaks Hotels & Resorts. We are so pleased to read that you enjoy staying in our chain of hotels and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We went back after four months... what's happening??? total lack of organization, cleaners forgot to clean the room, reception didn't help, maintenance didn't show up... last time was totally different we had problems with the power and a locked bathroom door, it took few minutes to have everythinf fixed, cleaning was done timely and efficiently, this time a total disaster!!! Please change your managers obviously you're going the wrong direction!!!!

Room Tip: check all the appliances and everything else as soos as possible, demand to change room if not up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank taylor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

We thank you for informing us of your recent stay at Oaks Festival Towers. It is very disappointing to read of the inconveniences you suffered Please accept our apologies.
Be assured that your comments have been forwarded to the Hotel Manager for serious investigation. We do hope that you will stay with Oaks Hotels & Resorts again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#45 of 169 in Brisbane
1,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#61 of 169 in Brisbane
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#60 of 169 in Brisbane
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oaks Aurora
Oaks Aurora
#66 of 169 in Brisbane
800 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#30 of 169 in Brisbane
1,057 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#14 of 169 in Brisbane
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Festival Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Festival Towers

Address: 108 Albert Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#53 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $111 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Festival Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime position and providing spacious modern design, first class technology and facilities, is Oaks Festival Towers. Guests can sample top restaurants and late-night bars, irresistible shopping, galleries, theatres, movies and museums which are all nearby. Oaks Festival Towers comprises of one and two bedroom contemporary, self-contained apartments each with a private balcony and city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oaks Festival Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Festival Towers Hotel Brisbane
Oaks Festival Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing