We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“QUICK TRIP AWAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eton Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 61 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“QUICK TRIP AWAY”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Booked this property as we knew other people staying there at the same time. Booking was easy and information to check in received by email just before arrival as it is unattended. Rooms and whole house very clean. As it is not serviced I did have to ask for new towel 2 days into our 5 day stay which was happily given by cleaners though not the norm. Our room& ensuite though very small was adequate, had small fridge but small TV had no signal. Was pleasantly surprised that with it being right next to train tracks and main roads house was quiet and we slept well. Very central. Parking at back, however if more than 3 cars you could be jammed in. All cupboards in kitchen locked. Plastic plates in rooms and coffee mug. No laundry area to speak of. House is in 3 levels with steep steps to kitchen area. Positive stay though wouldn't recommend if staying more than 2 nights.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 5 and 6 are the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
11
22
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
200 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Booked this property as we have a similar age home and it is placed well for a walking holiday (no rental car). Was with my darling wife and a little taken aback by the four bunks in our room. Cleaner and downstairs guy Richard worked hard and when we came back there was a queen bed ready for us. awesome effort guys but could have been avoided if the booking information had been followed. Would come again but specify room 1, 5 or 6 which are much more spacious. Does not specify that the property is on three levels with steep stairs to the basement kitchen and lounge. Not wheelchair friendly if that is important to you. Feedback for caretaker Don... Please don't lock the cupboard downstairs with extra plates/pans and wine glasses in it. That is also where the fire extinguisher is!!! Never seen a backpackers with own plates etc in rooms, just need to sort it downstairs. Guest laundry is haphazard with line area not accessible due to storage of extra beds etc. Overall was a positive experience but not for those who need to be hand fed.

Room Tip: As above.Book room 1/5 or 6 and ensure you check the bed set-up meets your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicnJen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Arrived at night to find the house dark and no staff in sight. After 10 minutes of stumbling around, found by room which looked like a basement store room. Cold (no AC remote), and dirty.

Bathroom was too dirty and only used it as an emergency. When I left at 08:30 I had yet to see a member of staff.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked a room with queen bed, en-suite. On arrival we found a tiny, narrow room with a single bed and a bunk bed. Room number 2. The single bed was the width of a bunk bed; possibly obtained by removing the top bunk. The bathroom was so small that sitting on the toilet meant that your knees were under the wash basin. Fortunately our luggage fit under the beds; as floor space was very limited.

A small fridge and chest of drawers were sandwiched between the beds, about a meter from our pillows. We listened to the fridge cycling on and off for awhile before unplugging it over night. An electric kettle sat on the top of the fridge and a flat screen TV which had no reception sat on the chest. Two small reading lamps were also included - one behind the TV and one on the fridge top next to to the kettle. These appliances were served by a single duplex outlet, via a pair of daisy-chained outlet strips.

For charging cell phone or other small electronic items, there was another duplex outlet in the bathroom, which was OK provided the item didn't fall into the wash basin or the toilet.

We never saw any owners or staff. Except for a white board and an emergency phone number, there was no way for guests to communicate with the management. The room was clean. But rubbish was not emptied even in the kitchen. No extra toilet rolls, even when requested.

Even with everything turned off, the lighting circuit in our room lost electric power one night - we discovered this when the room lights wouldn't switch on in the morning. Apparently this circuit is shared with the building's hall lighting; so the fault was noticed and the breaker was eventually re-set, possibly by one of the other guests.

And why call this property a Bed & Breakfast when no breakfast is included? We were able to find a nearby food store and prepare our own breakfast. However we had to look for the store ourselves, because the person taking the booking had no idea whether food could be purchased near the property.

Downstairs kitchen and generally clean room are the sole reasons for not rating this property as terrible.

For $110 a night it was poor value and the nearby YHA would have been a better choice for budget travellers. Plenty of train and traffic noise for rooms at the front.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 2 unless you are a solo traveller who is small enough to fit in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We needed a hotel for one night close to the Roma Street Railway Station,that would not break the bank.
We arrived on early morning flight and walked the 10 minutes to the Hotel in Upper Roma street, since the reception was unattended we could ring the manager on outside phone and to our surprise he told us,the room is ready for you, it was only 9.30 am, and check in is 12 noon (already quite a bit earlier then the big hotels.
We got the entrance code, and found the room very cosy and homely, not like the usual uniform hotel rooms you see everywhere.
Everything we needed was there, separate toilet, but bath and shower right next to the bed , and all the usual things like tea and coffee making facilities, wash basin wardrobe. table and chairs and TV,with a DVD.
The walk to all the restaurant is pleasant along the Brisbane River, but if you wanted there is a fully equipped kitchen downstairs with comfortable living and dining area.
Although we were a bit surprised at first to find a house in the midst of all the backpacker lodges and hotels, we really liked it,and even though it might not be everyones taste, we would happily stay again, especially with the prize quite reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I've stayed there for a couple of nights,The hotel was very clean and the rooms were cosy, also it was convinient since i could walk to the supermarket. Great place and anytime i am around i dont mind spending a night there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I am a regular customer and find staying here very satisfactory.It presents very well and is always clean & tidy. Love self check in system, because it is easy to follow and works satisfactorily.
Most rooms are self contained. There is a common kitchen and lounge area.
Eton House is a historical home within walking distance to the city.It has a nice feel about it and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: No preference all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Gambaro Hotel
Gambaro Hotel
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Milton Brisbane
The Milton Brisbane
#41 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Annie's Shandon Inn
Annie's Shandon Inn
#9 of 61 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
0.7 mi away
RFH on Gregory
RFH on Gregory
#17 of 61 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Big Bird Backpackers
Big Bird Backpackers
#95 of 128 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eton Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eton Bed & Breakfast

Property: Eton Bed & Breakfast
Address: 436 Upper Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eton Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Eton Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eton Hotel Brisbane
Eton Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing