We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly good though possibly insecure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eton Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 62 Brisbane B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fairly good though possibly insecure”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed here for two nights. I would describe the room as a private hostel room, as we had a bunk bed and a double bed, this would have been good for three people but with only two of us the price was still reasonable. The first night we stayed in a room with an en-suite bathroom, the second with a bathroom outside of the room (this was cheaper), this is shared although I am not sure whether any other room were not en-suite.

The location is fairly good it is near other hostels which did make it a bit noisy although this didn't affect my sleep. The hotel has a small car park, which is free with the room, our car was the only one there, the hotel has seven rooms so I think the car park size is adequate though I'm not sure there is anyone keeping an eye on the car park to make sure the cars belong to the guests.

They use a self check-in whereby when you book you get the code (4 digits) for the main doors and they key to the room is in the room. There are sometimes staff in the building but there is no reception. We had no problems with this but I don't think it is that secure.

Room Tip: To save 10 dollars you could opt for the room with no ensuite bathroom, there are only seven rooms m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hibbs82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
11
22
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My parents booked a room at the Eton two months in advance while planning a multi-week trip to visit Australia from the United States. Two days before they were to arrvie, they received a cryptic email cancelling their entire reservation and leaving them without a place to stay upon arrival after their overseas flight because "there was increased pressure on rooms due to a Coldplay concert." READ: they could get a better price for their rooms because they're located close to the venue.

We were forced to scour the city looking for an available room at the last minute AND having to rent a car as they were no longer within walking distance of my home. I'm appalled at the level of unprofessionalism exhibited, and would not recommend this B&B to anyone. It's also in a noisy location near a major road with litter scattering the roadway nearby. We only chose it because it was close to my home - and will never make that mistake again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The room was very small (the bed took nearly all space in the room). If you are looking for cheap accommodation only, this might be an option. But if you are looking for a good night sleep I would go elsewhere. It is very close to the train tracks and you will hear the brakes from the train several times all night. It was not a pleasant experience. Room was very clean and you might be happy to stay here if you bring your ear plugs. We did not stay for breakfast, since we had to leave early and booked the accommodation without breakfast. There was free parking on the back of the house, not sure though if they can fit all cars or if it is "first in best dressed".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LillyPilly229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at Eton for 4 nights when in Brisbane for business. We found it to be quite small and poky and it got very cold overnight, although perhaps that's to be expected for a heritage building. The breakfast was quite good. Unfortunately it was very noisy at night because it's so close to all the backpackers, we were woken up at least once every night. The room wasn't serviced, which was a bit disappointing.

Also, the location isn't great, as it's a bit of a walk to the train station or the city, and the ferry isn't an option. Next time I will find somewhere to stay in the city, or even in Toowong and catch the ferry in.

Room Tip: Get one of the larger rooms if you are travelling with 2 people or a big suitcase!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickensinspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed at Eton this past June for 2 nites. We did not find traffic noise to be a problem. Used the train and bus system to get around but you can access the Southbank and shopping mall area by foot. Hostess was wonderful, will place food in the refrigerator outside your room if you must check in late or early, otherwise a communal breakfast is served as early as 7:30am. I even did a small load of laundry while there. Very accomodating and easy to find.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Stayed 6 nights at the apartment which had a bedroom and a separate kitchen. Lynne was the most wonderful host you could wish for! The place itself was very clean, the kitchen well-equipped and there was a lot of storage space in the apartment. The interior has a lot of character and charm with little touches like flowers, etc. The AC was most useful considering the hot Birsbane weather. The bathroom was spacious, new and clean.

The location is good - 5min walk from Coles supermarket, eateries and restaurants; 10min walk from tain and bus station. We didn't walk to CBD (would have been about a 30min walk), we used taxis which are relatively cheap in Birsbane.

The only negative we found with staying at this place was the street noise coming from traffic. It is certainly not a quiet place but even then we still managed to sleep ok (though opening the windows was out of the question).

All in all, it is a great value for money.

Room Tip: This place has one appartment - great value for money, lots of space, recommended! The other rooms l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTVIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed at Eton for nearly a week and could not have asked for more. Lynne, the manager, was so lovely and attentive to all our needs. The B & B was so typically and quaintly English, as was Lynne, who was so welcoming. As a family we stayed in the self-catering apartment at the top of the house and our eldest had one of the guest rooms. Both were so clean and comfortable and the apartment had everything you needed. Nothing was too much trouble for Lynne and Eton is so central you couldn't get much nearer the CBD. Eton is indeed a home from home and by the time we left we felt we had known Lynne for years. Excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
The Milton Brisbane
The Milton Brisbane
#35 of 157 in Brisbane
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
2.2 mi away
Ellie's Guesthouse
Ellie's Guesthouse
#30 of 62 in Brisbane
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Summer House Brisbane
Summer House Brisbane
#61 of 127 in Brisbane
40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Annie's Shandon Inn
Annie's Shandon Inn
#10 of 62 in Brisbane
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eton Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eton Bed & Breakfast

Property: Eton Bed & Breakfast
Address: 436 Upper Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eton Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eton Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eton Bed And Breakfast
Eton Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing