We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible! Don't bother!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astor Apartments Brisbane
Ranked #68 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible! Don't bother!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

As soon as i had booked this hotel it was as though management could no longer bother with customer service. The Receptionest/Management seemed as though my request to do a credit card payment over the phone instead of via an email was putting her out.
Once done the comunication got worse in regards to our stay. I called Astor a few times before our arrival and inquired about parking and a few other general things.
All four times that week i spoke to the receptionest she informed me that street parking was available and we could go park in another car park near the Apartment. My friend who was also staying with us sent an email and Mark replyed to her right away informing her she could park at the Astor for one day for an additional fee (this was never once mentioned to me)
On arrival to the Astor the 'driveway' we were told to park in was barely a 'driveway' cars were trying to go in and out whilst we were trying to get in and go get our keys.
Because we arrived after hours i had to go to the late arrivals area and use the safe to collect our keys. Once keys were collected we noticed the 'buzzer' was not on our key ring with our keys so we were unable to even get into the car park, let alone get into the hotel!! After calling the 'after hours phone number' located on the envelope the lady awnsered the phone (after a few calls) and it all just seemed like to much of an effort to send someone down to give us the 'buzzer' to get in. Once downstairs the man gave us our 'buzzer' and he informed us that he knew that he had forgotten to put it on....
Eventually we arrived in our apartment for our two night stay and it was dirty! The windows were not clean and there was pubic hair on our bathrooms. The kitchen wasn't cleaned properly and to top it off all of the windows to the apatrment plus the sliding glass door on our balcony had been left open! June winter nights in Brisbane can be freezing and this night certainly was!
In the morning i had to go down and pay for our second nights accom. Once in reception the lady was unfriendly and unhelpful. We had ordered two pull out beds for some more friends that were arriving that morning that had not come yet, and we did not have enough towels for the four of us that stayed the first night, let along the two more yet to come. Once questioned about this the lady (once again) acted as though i was putting her out by asking her questions in regards to this.
Overall i would NEVER recomend staying in this hotel to anybody! No matter your budget! Stay in a backpackers instead - the staff are friendlier!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    39
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
44
23
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed for a week in a one bedroom apartment in May 2013.
We were very happy with the spacious apartment, it had lovely views over the city and a nice balcony which got sun in the morning allowing us to sit outside and enjoy breakfast.
Bed very comfortable as were the two sofas in the TV area.
Great location only 5 min walk to central shopping area and close to local cafes and shops.
Also close to many medical specialists and Brisbane Private Hospital so good choice if you going for any medical appointments/procedures.
Close as well to the lovely Roma Street Parklands which is great for a walk and relax.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 903 is where we stayed, it was a corner one and very light with good views. May be hot in summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ContentedTraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for 1 night only in a 2 bedroom apartment and were very pleased with our accomodation. The 2 bedroom apartment we had was a corner room and had excellent views across the city on both sides. The room was very comfortable and clean and the location is excellent. It was also very easy to follow directions from the internet site. Will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiandraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed early November 2012, lucky is was coolish as the air conditioner wasn’t working in 1105. Lucky there was 2 fans in the apartment! The manager attempted to get it repaired, but alas not in time for our 3 night visit. Management were accommodating as I had booked 2 apartments and due to illness, I had to cancel, they kindly waived the cancelation fee and refunded the deposit – so thanks for that! Apartment 1105 was fine, clean and spacious, and would accommodate a family of 2 adults & 2 kids easily. Location is good, just on the northern edge of the CBD, we walked everywhere, down to the river to eat and catch transport etc., and it’s only a short walk over to china town in the valley.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneferu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Thankyou to the staff at the Astor Apartments. Our 2 bedroom Apartment was spacious, and very clean when we arrived. Everything you may need in the kitchen and laundry for some easy meals and washing/ironing etc. Plenty of space for all your luggage int the wardrobes and cupboards which was nice.
It was a quiet weekend so we hardly saw anyone, and had the pool and spa area to ourselves the majority of the time. The location was a quick trip to most spots around Brisbane, and walking distance to the Queens Street Mall, and even Southbank too.
The staff were very helpful, organising a late check in for us and also locking up our bags on check out day, as we had a late flight and so could go out for lunch without lugging them around. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice self contained unit that has all thwe basics you need, plenty of space and a good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom Apartment with our two Adult Children in early April 2012 and found the apartments to be well equipped, comfortable and excellent location.
The Manager at reception could not do enough for us and made us feel extremely welcome from the time of check, to storing our bags and check out.
They are security apartments and we had a very adequate sized balcony with City Views with doors open during the day there was minimal traffic noise but then again best to keep them closed for the airconditioning. There is a starter kit supplied to each unit included small fresh milks for Tea and Coffee, the only suggestion we made especially for the short term traveller was perhaps bigger bars of soaps or at least two little ones.
Not being serviced was not a huge problem as there is a dishwasher, washing machine, dryer and iron and ironing board.
We were going for a Very Good Rating but when writing this review realised there was nothing to suggest that they should receive an Excellent rating.
Would certainly recommend and stay again!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricksusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The photos on their website are probably taken 10 years+ ago when the condition of the apartment is still looks okay.

My company has arranged to put me in this apartment for 3 months, and I am looking to change apartment as of now.

Cons:
- My current 1 bedroom apartment has a mouldy smell to it (I believe it is coming out from the really really old air-conditioning unit).
- Unit front door worn out and looks old.
- Aircon only cools the general living room and kitchen areas, and NOT the bedroom.
- All 1 bedroom apartment faces east, so when the Sun rises in the super early morning in the summer it heats up the bedroom (5am) to an uncomfortable level and aircon cannot cool this room down.
- Receptionists aren't friendly.
- Bathroom looks very budget and old.
- Oven smokes when turned on.
- Generally the apartment unit is not well maintained, gives you a feeling that it's not clean.

Pros:
- Takes about 10 to 15 minutes to walk to CBD.
- Spring Hill free bus stops pretty close to the apartment.
- Price is cheap (not the cheapest value for money) compares to other serviced apartment in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Camo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
City Park Apartments
City Park Apartments
#100 of 157 in Brisbane
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#8 of 157 in Brisbane
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#48 of 157 in Brisbane
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Spring Hill Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Apartments Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Apartments Brisbane

Property: Astor Apartments Brisbane
Address: The Astor 35 Astor Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Astor Apartments Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star apartment style accommodation in the heart of Brisbane. Beautiful cafe's and restaurants with in walking distance. Sunny Pool, Spa and BBQ area so you can relax. Huge self catering units all with balconies. FREE secure underground carparking and also FREE WIFI in common area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astor Apartments Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing