We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money - good location as well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane
Ranked #127 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money - good location as well”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Needed affordable accommodation for just one night in Brisbane and booked this motel as it was close to the event we were attending. We were upgraded to an executive room which was very spacious and had a view of the park across the stree (room 28). The staff are excellent - very friendly and helpful, room was clean, bed comfy, and there is free carparking. The Pineapple Hotel is almost next door and we had a great cheap meal there as well (Wednesday is $10 steak night but they have three different restaurants to choose from). There are also serveral fast food outlets very close.
We were thrilled with our stay and will definietly book this hotel again as it's location makes it very easy to get to several major areas of the inner city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
19
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Booked this online from the UK as seemed good value and good location, which it was.

Free car parking and easy to find. Reception staff overly helpful and friendly, even carried our bags to the room!

Good location for ferries and walking to South Bank, however, not sure you'd want to walk in the vicinity of the hotel at night (we're 2 your women!).

Sadly the price obviously attracts a mixed clientele and our corridor seemed to be full of people who weren't used to staying in hotels and enjoyed slamming doors, talking loudly on their phone in the corridor and even knocking on our door! Not the fault of the hotel but perhaps ask for a quiet/secluded room?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gsigsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManageratCityStar, Manager at Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Gsigsi,
Thank you for taking your time to write us a review.
First of all, I am delighted to hear that you have such a good impresssion on our room and staff and you think that we are good value for money. Secondly I apologise that you have altogether not a very pleasant experience on th night due to the noise and disturbance made by other guests staying at our property. Unfortunately, our Guest Service Agent who was on night shift was not aware nor informed of the situation, otherwise, he could have done something about it.
I would like to assure you that it was an isolated incident as most of our clientele are corporate independent travellers or elderly couples who visit Brisbane for a purpose. Every one in the team is now made aware of the situation and will endeavour the noise will be kept minimum.
Thank you again for coming to stay and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely,
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had a great stay recently, coming from Melb for the Collingwood match. First night my room near reception was noisy and we had asked for a quiet rooms when booking, but I was moved to Room 21 at the rear next night which was very quiet. Angela, manager, is very helpful, as were all the staff we encountered. Nothing is too much trouble. The motel is very clean, and we got a good sized continental breakfast included. We are already talking about going back next year as it is a short walk to the Gabba and The Pineapple Hotel. We enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms are motel rooms, not expensive hotel rooms, but are spacious, bed linen crisp and clean, bed comfortable, and there is everything you need for a short stay.

Room Tip: If you have problems with traffic noise, ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barabool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fürth, Deutschland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff!
Clean, spacy and good equiped rooms.
Free car parking, laundromat, guest kitchen.
Situated only 20 mins walking distance to the next city hopper pier!
Very recommandabel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tenshi1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I was herebon a busy night but had a great nights sleep. There is some road noise but that didn't keep me awake. Roomy, clean & comfortable with a quality flat screen TV & very comfortable bed & pillows I was able to recharge to hit the road again. Power points are only near the TV but I could work with that.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManageratCityStar, Manager at Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hi Bluey,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to learn that you have found our property both comfortable and convenient.
As you have most probably been aware that all our TVs, beds and pillows are recently replaced. It is our intention that all beddings in the room will be upgraded regularly to achieve a high standard of service. This is our promise to our guest that we will always provide clean and comfortable rooms at an affordable price. Our centralised location has made us a popular stopover for those who need to travel around.
Thank you again for staying and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely,
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed at the Econo Lodge for a week in order to attend an event at the Riverlife Adventure Centre, a short walk away.
The hotel is on a busy road and although measures are taken to eliminate the noise, it is there. Ask for a room away from the road and on the second level. If a light sleeper, earplugs may be the go.
The rooms seem to have been refurbished and ours had a very comfortable queen size bed with good pillows. Shower and toilet were clean, rooms serviced daily. There are tea and coffee making facilities also a bar fridge.
Friends were in Room 21 in the second wing with a double and single bed and the area seemed a bit quieter.
The staff were very accommodating and always pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrialRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here overnight as I was visiting a nearby relative. It was the first time I had been here and was very impressed by the accommodations which were clean and spacious. I was upgraded to an executive room on my arrival at no extra charge and the receptionist on duty was an extremely pleasant asian lady. Its close to everything.

I ordered the breakfast of sausages and eggs with came with toast and this was a very ample and well cooked meal for the princely sum of $9 - great value.

Overall, a very pleasant inexpensive say. Will come here again.

Jenny, Bribie Island

Room Tip: Stayed in an executive room which opened out to the pool area. The room was quite large, and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Wellington Apartment Hotel
Wellington Apartment Hotel
#69 of 159 in Brisbane
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Hillcrest Apartments
Central Hillcrest Apartments
#100 of 159 in Brisbane
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Sebel South Brisbane
The Sebel South Brisbane
#103 of 159 in Brisbane
332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
#48 of 159 in Brisbane
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#20 of 159 in Brisbane
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane

Property: Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane
Address: 650 Main St | Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane is conveniently located at Kangaroo Point in Brisbane. It's close to the CBD, with buses right outside the motel to the CBD. You can also take a 15 minute walk to the ferries to go to the CBD. We're situated opposite to a pleasant park and we're just 5 minutes walk away from the Gabba (Brisbane Cricket Ground), the Kangaroo Point Cliffs, Southbank, Shaftson University, and the Story Bridge climb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing