We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Okay Place (Some Apartments can be Noisy)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brisbane Street Studios
Ranked #88 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed in a "budget" apartment for 5 days (on a conference visit across the river at UQ). Although the accommodation was small, we had everything we needed for a short stay. Small fridge, microwave, kitchen utils, iron-board+iron, and a small TV (with remote :) ).

We had frequent buses from the PA Hospital station to UQ (that was a relief. I was kind of worried about the public transport) and also to the city.

Like mentioned in other reviews, the location is next to a main hospital (PA) and therefore, might be little noisy; but, the hospital related noise didn't bother me much compared to the noise of the high way next to the studios. Some of the units (unit numbers 9-16) are facing the Ipswich road and they are with noise and I wont recommend those units (we got one of those).

Overall, I think it is worth the price and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Some of the units (unit numbers 9-16) are facing the Ipswich road and they are with noise and I wont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roshan_Ragel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 36 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

We booked here only a few days before we were due to leave the UK for Australia. I had an email asking if I would pay a deposit and I asked if I could pay in full when I arrived. This was agreed too which I was very grateful for as I didn't want my credit card charged straight away. When we arrived we were welcomed and shown to our room. Told a bit about the local shops and left to get our things sorted. The room although small was well equipped with what you would need in a serviced apartment. More importantly it was clean, no problems with towels, sheets or kitchen, everything was spotless. We did find as we were on the main road it could be a bit noisy but we slept fine every night and it didn't spoil our stay at all. There are rooms that are not on the main road and would be quieter. In fact we had a three night stay back in Brisbane before we were due to fly out and we didn't bother to find the cheapest deal we decided to book straight into here. The cheapest rate wasn't available so we paid a bit more and had a much bigger room with its own washer/dryer - previously though our washing was done for us free of charge! Free wireless and plug in internet is a huge bonus. It is convient to the train station, shops and close to the city without being in the centre. The man who checked us in the second time we stayed was so friendly and helpful I was glad I stayed there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loulouberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I too found this place noisy. It is next to a major hospital so sirens can be heard frequently. The shower has not screen so water goes everywhere in the bathroom. This only works if your floor is well drained, the one in my room wasn't. The bed was not so comfortable and the TV in the room was small with no remote.

On the plus side, it is near a shopping centre and many restaurants and cafes. The internet is complementary and it is fast.

Would I stay again, only if I could not find somewhere better for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keithsutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauriceBSS, Manager at Brisbane Street Studios, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Disabled bathrooms in 3 of the studios are large and open so guests in a wheelchair can move around. There was a problem with water splashing so we have installed shower curtains to prevent this problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I had booked my agenda for a 16 day stay, but found out later that I only needed 6 days.....the booking company had taken 186.00 from my credit card and I was not informed of this in the initial booking....when I went to cancel they told me NOTHING was refundable.....If you plan on staying here, beware of this non refundable charge,,,,,EVEN if you make changes OR cancel....thereare plenty of other reputable booking companies (in fact, this is the only one that I know of that does this) that charge NO deposit and fully refundable fees.......

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakelady3143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauriceBSS, Manager at Brisbane Street Studios, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

If you book via our website our website manager will charge a commission of 10% of the total cost of your accommodation. This is not refundable if you cancel or change your booking and this is clearly stated when you make your booking on the site. If you wish to avoid this cost then book directly with us by sending an email to bookings@brisbanestreetstudios.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Echoing review of other guests, I found Brisbane St Studios small & very noisy, primarily due to main road passing less than 10 metres away from the room. Rooms are otherwise clean, compact & modern. Dutton Park rail station is an easy 10 mins walk and restaurants, supermarket, cafes and a bottle shop are all within 5 mins walk. If you need to be close to PA hospital this is an ok choice for a short stay, but don't plan on a peaceful nights sleep.

Room Tip: Insist upon a room as far as possible from Ipswich Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonkersdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We had a room at the Brisbane Street Studios for a week in March 2011 and found them to be much smaller than we anticipated but they were clean and had all we needed for a weeks stay. The biggest problem is the noise. The apartments sit on the corner of Brisbane Street and the Ipswich Road and at the side of the Princess Alexandra Hospital. The Ipswich road is a 3 lane highway into Brisbane central and is always very busy and very noisy even at 6.00 am. We never slept later than 6.30am. Also, the helipad for the hospital is right behind the apartments and we were woken 3 times one night with helicopters landing and taking off. Not Good!
The train and bus stations are a 10 minute walk away. The owners also gave us a parking permit to park on the street but we had to pay a $40 deposit for it but it was refundable.
I would recommend anyone looking to stay for more than a few nights to try and find somewhere quieter.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryAndSteve068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Éviter la numéro 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laurence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauriceBSS, Manager at Brisbane Street Studios, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
5.1 mi away
Hampton Court Apartments
Hampton Court Apartments
#70 of 141 in Brisbane
27 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 170 in Brisbane
2,519 reviews
2.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#63 of 170 in Brisbane
1,639 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 170 in Brisbane
1,214 reviews
2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#30 of 170 in Brisbane
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Street Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Street Studios

Address: 70 Brisbane St | Annerley, Brisbane, Queensland 4103, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range: $79 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisbane Street Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 self catering apartments in the inner city suburb of Annerley. Range from Budget rooms at the front of the building to the much larger Triple and Quad rooms. All units have a kitchenette, FREE internet access, bathroom, Air Con, Foxtel TV. Washing machine in all units except budget rooms. Shops, Cafes and Gym across road. Walk to Uni of Qld. Buses out front to City Center, Gabba and Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brisbane Street Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing