We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emporium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emporium Hotel
Ranked #1 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a great find! The Emporium Hotel is a modern, well appointed hotel in the buzzing Fortitude Valley area of Brisbane. We stayed recently for an overnight following the theatre and weren't disappointed. Beautiful room complete with large bathroom and kitchen. The addition of a washing machine/dryer made it so comfortable we could have stayed - pretty much indefinitely! Great bar downstairs with wonderful cocktail and wine selection. Heavenly...

Highly recommended although the $35 for parking is very steep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaview088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    207
    44
    13
    11
See reviews for
61
575
62
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

One night was enough in this expensive and somewhat pretentious hotel. The restaurants that are located around the hotel that the complex is found in are varied but to be honest I found $280 for a night with an additional $35 for parking was not value for money. The king room I stayed in was fine but nothing special. So why was I not impressed? No opening windows. No bath but the shower was fast and furious (good) but the water leaked all over the floor (bad) - I used all the towels to mop up. This is a an issue the hotel should take seriously - the possibility of someone slipping is significant. On the evening I arrived there was a private function in the hotels only bar - no cocktails or even a beer. The rooftop pool is small and the gym is tiny.
If going to charge a premium compared to other hotels in Brisbane (why are hotels so expensive in Brisbane anyway?), need to get the little things right and make sure guests leave with the perception money well spent - sorry not so on this occasion.

Room Tip: There are better value hotels in Brisbane. For the same price you will spend on the cheapest room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporiumManagement, Executive Assistant Manager at Emporium Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Emporium Hotel and for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

On the day in question our Cocktail Bar was closed for a private event, however we do have reciprocal arrangements in place with our partner restaurant located adjacent to the hotel. This bar offers a range of premium cocktails, wines & beers and hotel guests are able to charge items consumed here to their hotel account.

Our valet parking price is the most affordable among Brisbane’s five star hotels and the majority of our room types feature baths, many with luxurious spas and balconies, or windows which are able to be opened. For any future bookings, may I suggest that you contact our Reservations Department directly so that we can ensure that our different room features are fully explained and we can assist you to choose the most suitable accommodation type.

In relation to the safety issue you have raised, we will investigate this immediately and remedy the direction of water flow from the shower head to avoid any further water displacement.

Once again, we are sorry that this most recent stay did not meet your expectations, but I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at Emporium for 3 nights - and at the end we weren't ready to leave! Our room was a king spa suite on the 7th (top) floor. It was extremely spacious and modern, had a comfortable huge bed, and the bathroom was lovely. It was very quiet, we had three great nights' sleep.

The location was great with a variety of restaurants on your door step and easy access to the river and CBD.

The staff were extremely helpful and polite, in particular the staff who greeted us at check-in on the afternoon of April 13th. They also made a great restaurant recommendation - Mecca Bah just across the street which we really enjoyed.

The cocktails in the bar downstairs were amazing! We also enjoyed the rooftop pool, really nice setting.

Overall we can't criticise anything, would love to return.

Room Tip: King spa suites are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaB_45678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporiumManagement, Executive Assistant Manager at Emporium Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear EmmaB_45678,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Emporium Hotel.

Being an independent luxury boutique property, we value your feedback and are so delighted to read that every element of your stay created a memorable experience. I will share your comments with the team, especially staff who we’re on duty the afternoon of 13th April.

With the launch of our new Winter Cocktail Bar Menu in May, I hope to welcome you back again soon to try some delicious Cocktails.


Kind Regards

Justin McConnell
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Emporium Hotel with my husband during a visit to Brisbane. What a sensational hotel. The rooms were spacious and luxurious and the roof top pool divine. The hotel's location is perfect with a number of great restaurants close by and great shopping on James St.

Must do.. cocktails in the funky bar

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormeau, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed at this fabulous little find on Monday night. From the moment we pulled up to the Hotel till the moment we left, it was a lovely experience. It boasts the longest cocktail list of any hotel I have seen in the world. Great meeting place for friends and colleagues. They cater for business luncheons with a great selection of food and in room dining was just as good. I had a small child with me that was treated with delight and a small bag of entertainment, pencils and stickers etc. at no time were we make unwelcome by the staff as we had a long wait in the bar area before we could leave.

The rooms were spotless and the bed was made up with beautiful linen. A sink and dishwasher was in the room as was an iron, slippers dressing gown etc.
I will definitely be returning next time I need accomodation in Brisbane.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place feels like a funky New York Hotel. Awesome room, great location and plenty to do and see with its own hub of shops and restaurants that surround this hotel. Be sure to use the pool with its great outlook.

Room Tip: Try the pool with a great outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnsy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a dozen times and what can i say great service accommodation value for money wouldnt stay anywhere else in brisbane

Location great walking distance to great restaurants in james street

Lovely moulton brown products choice of pillows

Concierge extremely knowledgable about where to dine etc

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlingdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporiumManagement, Executive Assistant Manager at Emporium Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Emporium Hotel strives to create exquisite stays for our guests and we are delighted to read through your comments that that this was achieved.

From May, we are launching our ‘Suite Winter Escape’ package, which is another fantastic package that provides excellent value.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.6 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.8 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#3 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
1.5 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#26 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporium Hotel

Property: Emporium Hotel
Address: 1000 Ann St | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Emporium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Emporium Hotel is Brisbane’s leading boutique property presenting a tangible vision of contemporary elegance and highly personalised service. The hotel has 102 studio suites, rooftop lap pool, sauna, gymnasium, Conference Centre, Cocktail Bar and Belle Epoque Patisserie. All rooms at Emporium Hotel Brisbane feature a state-of-the-art entertainment system, Bose stereo system, movies-on-demand and 10 free cable TV channels. Guests will find a marble kitchenette and private laundry facilities in every suite. Each private bathroom has a glass-enclosed marble shower with luxury Molton Brown or Etro toiletries. Some suites include a spa bath. The hotel is located in the heart of Brisbane’s Emporium precinct in Fortitude Valley –a haven for lovers of fashion and food – the Emporium is just minutes from Brisbane's city centre and chic Valley nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Emporium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing