We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Only Base in Brisbane” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emporium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emporium Hotel
Ranked #1 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The Only Base in Brisbane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a really special hotel. As other reviewers have suggested it's funky and luxurious - even better though, is the location. When I'm in any city I like to feel that I'm in a neighbourhood, rather than in a sterile, business part of town. The Emporium fits the bill - great cafes (including the in-house patisserie) in the same precinct and just a couple of minutes walk to James Street Market. I highly recommend walking to the river - its a very pretty walk along the banks to Teneriffe or you can hop the river cat town or Southbank. A 20min fast-paced walk through Fortitude Valley (they don't call this Brisvegas for nothing!) will have you in the CBD.

The pool is perfect for laps and the pool deck is comfortable with great views over the city. Rooms are luxurious and more like a studio than a room - great having the kitchenette faciltiy with dish-draw and hidden laundry.

Brisbane at its best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thekeystotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    209
    44
    13
    11
See reviews for
62
577
62
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I keep coming back to the Emporium, why? Great location next to great cafes, restaurants and shopping. Room service is good nd includes vegetarian options. Nice bar and areas for small meetings. Excellent staff and service. Beautiful rooms, comfy beds and pillows. Washing/dryer machine. The decor is very funky. I recommend this hotel to anyone I know visiting Brisbane and for the quality it is very reasonable price.
Just recieved of bottle of champagne for my 10th visit here. I wll be back again soon for sure!

Room Tip: Great cafes close by for breakfast! Get a room with a spa bath for a small extra fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaFSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as a special birthday night away. The hotel is magnificent - you feel like a rock star when you stay here. The lobby alone, I never really care about in hotels, but it's just incredible. The rooms were impeccably clean, quite and comfortable. Very modern appliances and fixtures. Our deluxe room even had a microwave and dishwasher, which I've never seen in a hotel room before. Bathroom was to die for! Staff were top notch and I appreciated their attention to detail. My only gripe would be the $35 valet parking - I reckon they could throw this in for free due to what you pay for the room!! Great restaurant precinct below the hotel, and a gorgeous little French café for breakfast, which was beautiful. Also a shoutout to Tartufo restaurant, also under the hotel - best meal I've ever had - I enjoyed it more than Aria. Don't hesitate to stay here...if you can afford it, it is worth it!

Room Tip: They were all good!!! We were on the first floor, and didn't hear a peep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qldfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporiumManagement, Executive Assistant Manager at Emporium Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Qldfamily,
Thank you for your review of the the Emporium Hotel.
It is rewarding for our team to hear that the service standards we strive for on a daily basis are appreciated and have made your stay a memorable one.
We receive positive comments daily regarding our unique location within the Emporium Precinct as we are surrounded by boutique stores and an amazing selection of restaurants. Our guests can even charge back to their room account from your new favourite restaurant, Tartufo. After recently being recognised at the 2012 Australian Tourism Awards by winning the Luxury Accommodation division , the Emporium Hotel team are delighted you 'felt like a rock star' during your stay as our service initiatives continue to be enhanced.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This place avoids the stuffy atmosphere of most 5 star hotels. Decor is out there;staff are friendly and helpful and rooms are comfortable.Whilst a little bit out of the CBD,the precinct has a wide selection of restaurants and shops and is handy to all the upmarket car dealers. The roof top swimming pool is private and cosy.The funky bar area has live music and a great atmosphere.For something just a bit different from the usual run of the mill hotels.

Room Tip: all much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob & Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Well you have to pay for Internet, breakfast, car parking on top of your expensive room fee. Service is good. Nice pool. No spa. No parking unless you pay 35$ pet night no breakfast u less you add to bill so for $315 per night is would be on my opinion a very expensive stay that is not local to Brisbane night life. Still have to taxi to town. Lovely staff. Great service but very over priced for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporiumManagement, Executive Assistant Manager at Emporium Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Ms Sandra ,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in March. As Australia’s Best Boutique Hotel 2012, we pride ourselves on providing five star service, extensive room amenities, inclusions and exquisite experiences for every guest.

Fo the benefit of Trip Advisor readers Emporium Hotel offers free internet for our in-house guests, (up to 300MB download). Accommodation packages that include breakfast and valet parking (secure parking) are available to guests requiring these services. All packages are highlighted on the Hotel website. Emporium Hotel is also delighted to provide the most affordable valet parking of all Brisbane’s five star hotels at $35 per night.

In addition, guests that book in advance may be eligible for a discounted rate called ‘Advance Restricted’. These rates are available when you book at least 7 days prior and are pre-paid at the time of booking. Please contact our reservations team for updates on any upcoming promotions and specials.

Thank you once again Ms. Sandra.
We would look forward to welcoming you back to the Emporium Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The staff from the second you walk in the door were brilliant, friendly, welcoming and helpful. Given my shaver had gone flat and the shorts and t-shirt I was wearing i was still treated like a million dollar guest.
Even supplied friends with bottles of water waiting for a cab home after a few drinks out on the town. Excellent work guys.
Great sleep, clean room and exceptional bathroom. Everything was new well placed good sized tv but such a shame not digital, still was not there to watch TV but given everything digital is expected these days in such a great hotel.
Stayed on 7th floor so perfect access to gym and rooftop pool with great views.
Bit of a walk to the city 20-30 mins but no big deal as transport is easy if you don't fancy the walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericstravelguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I find the decor over the top but the room was very comfortable with a nice little kitchen, washer and dryer. The bathroom was lovely! I'm an interior designer and I love a beautiful bathroom. Compact but very nice. Service was excellent and location is great as there are so many cafes and restaurants in the development.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventuregirl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.6 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.8 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#2 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
1.5 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporium Hotel

Property: Emporium Hotel
Address: 1000 Ann St | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Emporium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Emporium Hotel is Brisbane’s leading boutique property presenting a tangible vision of contemporary elegance and highly personalised service. The hotel has 102 studio suites, rooftop lap pool, sauna, gymnasium, Conference Centre, Cocktail Bar and Belle Epoque Patisserie. All rooms at Emporium Hotel Brisbane feature a state-of-the-art entertainment system, Bose stereo system, movies-on-demand and 10 free cable TV channels. Guests will find a marble kitchenette and private laundry facilities in every suite. Each private bathroom has a glass-enclosed marble shower with luxury Molton Brown or Etro toiletries. Some suites include a spa bath. The hotel is located in the heart of Brisbane’s Emporium precinct in Fortitude Valley –a haven for lovers of fashion and food – the Emporium is just minutes from Brisbane's city centre and chic Valley nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TravelClick so you can book your Emporium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing