We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, fantastic location”
Review of Emporium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Emporium Hotel
Ranked #2 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 29, 2008

Had a great overnight stay at the Emporium in late February 2008. The hotel is set in a new residential-commercial precinct that is about 20 minutes from the airport.

Check-in procedure was quick, polite and efficient. No offer to show us to our room. Staff throughout the stay were friendly, and were able to answer questions about the local area, transport and airport transfers.

Booked a King suite, which was large, spacious and quiet at night, despite facing the street. It’s more than large enough for a stay of several nights or more. The room features a marble kitchenette (see photo) that includes a small microwave and a small dishwasher. Essentially the kitchenette could really only be used to reheat food, and as such, the dishwasher seemed a bit redundant. That said, the design of the kitchenette is stylish, and it’s nice to have a large preparation space in the room. The bathroom is large and finished in white marble (see photo); there is a concealed washer/dryer inside. There is nightlight in the bathroom that I thought was a nice and practical touch. The wardrobe hanging space is surprisingly small for a hotel room, let alone one as large as this. I’m estimating that the hanging space would be 50 cm wide. As one would expect for a hotel opened less than a year ago, everything is clean and new. The air-conditioning (absolutely essential here) worked perfectly on the day we arrived, but patchily the next.

Hotel facilities include a lovely rooftop pool with district and city views. There is a tiny gym that contains two treadmills, and elliptical walker and some dumbbells, but there is a large gym (Goodlife Health Club) about 5 minutes’ walk away in the City Homemaker complex on Wickham St.

I thought the Emporium complex and its location in Fortitude Valley was excellent. The complex contains more than 10 restaurants and cafés, which are good rather than great. (The service, whilst warm, is slow.) There is additional retail including a bookshop, fashion retail and a supermarket. Five minutes’ walk away is the James St market complex, with more cafés and retail. The centre of Fortitude Valley is about 10 minutes on foot, which includes Brisbane’s small Chinatown, pubs and clubs. For a leisure weekend, the hotel is perfectly sited.

Check-out is at 11:00, and a request for a late check-out resulted in an offer to use the room till 12:30. The staff said that beyond this, we would have to pay an hourly rate to use the room. Given the hotel was quiet, I think it would’ve been a nice gesture to be flexible on this. On further request, they did allow us to use the pool and pool shower (without charge) in the early afternoon.

Overall, I was very pleased with the hotel, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HardieBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,167 - 1,173 of 1,190 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2008

We stayed at Emporium for one night. We needed a good rest but was disappointed that we were disturbed at 8pm by housekeeping just to make our bed??We also had to wait 20minutes for milk to arrive in the morning. For a five star hotels we expected better service having stayed at other five star hotel around the area . Also we did not need valet parking but they insisted and spent like half hour parking our vehicle. Overall did not really get the privacy we needed and the staff was not friendly. To be precise the girl on reception she was quite ,However having bad service, we thought the rooms were clean and lavished. But we won't be staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gogreenBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We booked this hotel for our first night away from our children in nearly 8 years! I didn't want to be disappointed - and I certainly wasn't. We booked a King Suite package for $390 including valet parking, breakfast, etc. The room was not large, but beautifully appointed with absolutely crisp new looking luxurious furnishings. Huge TV with DVD player etc. Large bathroom. Everything looked brand new (as of course it is!). Service was nice and friendly. Breakfast was great - not a bland hotel buffet, but a choice of al a carte items at the French restaurant next door (or could have chosen another restaurant). The food was yummy. Real coffees made to order etc. (and the strawberry tarts sold at the attached bakery -yum!). Right outside the hotel there's a good choice of trendy shops, restaurants and coffee shops (one had music on Sun afternoon), and you can walk to James St in about 5 mins for more. Still, you wouldn't need to leave the Emporium precinct at all for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Ethelredyappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We just spent a night at the Emporium. It is seriously cool with a stunning foyer. The rooms were large and beautiful and the staff great. The hotel is set amongst a new shopping/restaurant district so there were abundant trendy places to choose from to eat and we had a great meal at 'Three' next door to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2007

Excellent hotel, very high standard rooms and polite and courteous staff, reasonably priced. Although a 5-10 min drive out of the city centre that is not a problem based on the favourable cab prices in Brisbane. My wife and I loved it and would stay there next time. Lets hope the price level stays similar to the AUD180-200 that we paid. I also stayed at the Saville on South bank and although that had a better location I would rate the Emporium as a far better overall experience. Several restaurants across the street for that evening meal or lunch.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank smaragdpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

This hotel is located in a car park (which was once a bus station) in the centre of 2 major one way roads. There is traffic going round the hotel all day and all night.
It is not really located in Brisbane, but in an area known as The Valley. So if you want to get to the downtown or river, you have a 20 to 30 minute walk along a major road -- not a pleasant walk with all the fumes. A cab ride to the city will cost you about $10. There is nothing to walk to from the hotel, apart from a car park and some cafes that overlook the carpark.
Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank johnnyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

We had three days at the Emporium. This a great little hotel, we had the balcony room. Excellent facilities include great rooftop pool and Gym. Room has walk in robe, huge Bathroom, plasma
TV.

Staff were very friendly and helpfull. The bar is the hottest place in Brisbane right now and gets busy on weekends.

The hotel is in a busy trafiic and night life area but we had no noise in the rooms.

The only dissapointment was some very minor issues, Housekeeping was a little cheap with replacement amenties. No free broadband and service in the bar was very slow.

The location is in the valley but close to the city by cab.

We would stay again!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sydneyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
1.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
1.4 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 168 in Brisbane
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 168 in Brisbane
1,128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
1.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#28 of 168 in Brisbane
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporium Hotel

Address: 1000 Ann St | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $149 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Emporium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Australia's Leading Boutique Hotel - World Travel Awards 2017, 2016, 2015. Emporium Hotel is Australia's most awarded boutique luxury hotel, presenting a tangible vision of contemporary elegance and highly personalised service. The hotel has 102 beautifully appointed studio suites, rooftop lap pool, sauna, gymnasium, conference centre, 24-hour in-suite dining, Concierge, spectacular award-winning Cocktail Bar and Belle Epoque Patisserie. All suites feature a state-of-the-art entertainment system, Bose stereo, movies-on-demand and 10 free cable TV channels. Guests will find a marble kitchenette and private laundry facilities in every suite. Each private bathroom has a glass-enclosed marble shower with luxury Molton Brown or Etro toiletries. Some suites include a spa bath and balcony. The hotel is located in the Emporium lifestyle precinct in Fortitude Valley –a haven for lovers of fashion and food – just minutes from Brisbane's city centre and chic Valley nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emporium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing