We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and new”
Review of Emporium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emporium Hotel
Ranked #2 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice and new”
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We booked this hotel for our first night away from our children in nearly 8 years! I didn't want to be disappointed - and I certainly wasn't. We booked a King Suite package for $390 including valet parking, breakfast, etc. The room was not large, but beautifully appointed with absolutely crisp new looking luxurious furnishings. Huge TV with DVD player etc. Large bathroom. Everything looked brand new (as of course it is!). Service was nice and friendly. Breakfast was great - not a bland hotel buffet, but a choice of al a carte items at the French restaurant next door (or could have chosen another restaurant). The food was yummy. Real coffees made to order etc. (and the strawberry tarts sold at the attached bakery -yum!). Right outside the hotel there's a good choice of trendy shops, restaurants and coffee shops (one had music on Sun afternoon), and you can walk to James St in about 5 mins for more. Still, you wouldn't need to leave the Emporium precinct at all for a weekend away.

  • Liked — New and luxurious
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ethelredyappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    220
    46
    14
    11
See reviews for
65
596
64
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We just spent a night at the Emporium. It is seriously cool with a stunning foyer. The rooms were large and beautiful and the staff great. The hotel is set amongst a new shopping/restaurant district so there were abundant trendy places to choose from to eat and we had a great meal at 'Three' next door to the hotel.

  • Liked — great choice of restaurants next door
  • Disliked — almost too cool
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2007

Excellent hotel, very high standard rooms and polite and courteous staff, reasonably priced. Although a 5-10 min drive out of the city centre that is not a problem based on the favourable cab prices in Brisbane. My wife and I loved it and would stay there next time. Lets hope the price level stays similar to the AUD180-200 that we paid. I also stayed at the Saville on South bank and although that had a better location I would rate the Emporium as a far better overall experience. Several restaurants across the street for that evening meal or lunch.

  • Liked — Great standard and style
  • Disliked — out of the city centre, but only 5mins by cab
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank smaragdpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2007

This hotel is located in a car park (which was once a bus station) in the centre of 2 major one way roads. There is traffic going round the hotel all day and all night.
It is not really located in Brisbane, but in an area known as The Valley. So if you want to get to the downtown or river, you have a 20 to 30 minute walk along a major road -- not a pleasant walk with all the fumes. A cab ride to the city will cost you about $10. There is nothing to walk to from the hotel, apart from a car park and some cafes that overlook the carpark.
Would never stay here again.

  • Liked — New hotel
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank johnnyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

We had three days at the Emporium. This a great little hotel, we had the balcony room. Excellent facilities include great rooftop pool and Gym. Room has walk in robe, huge Bathroom, plasma
TV.

Staff were very friendly and helpfull. The bar is the hottest place in Brisbane right now and gets busy on weekends.

The hotel is in a busy trafiic and night life area but we had no noise in the rooms.

The only dissapointment was some very minor issues, Housekeeping was a little cheap with replacement amenties. No free broadband and service in the bar was very slow.

The location is in the valley but close to the city by cab.

We would stay again!!

  • Liked — Great fitout in he rooms huge bathroom
  • Disliked — No free Broadband in a 5 starhotel
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sydneyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We had two nights at the Emporium Hotel in Fortitude Valley Brisbane. A new property but beautifully decorated and designed. The rooms cleverly incorporated a mini kitchen and there was everything the fussiest person (myself) could want. We especially liked the efficient but unobtrusive service. Nothing was too much to ask for and the the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a precinct with restuarants and bars to choose from. A great place to stay and we look forward to returning there soon.

  • Liked — interior design and luxury
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elnewong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.6 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
1.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.8 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#6 of 157 in Brisbane
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#23 of 157 in Brisbane
2,533 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#26 of 157 in Brisbane
4,055 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporium Hotel

Property: Emporium Hotel
Address: 1000 Ann St | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Emporium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Australia's Leading Boutique Hotel - World Travel Awards 2017, 2016, 2015. Emporium Hotel is Australia's most awarded boutique luxury hotel, presenting a tangible vision of contemporary elegance and highly personalised service. The hotel has 102 beautifully appointed studio suites, rooftop lap pool, sauna, gymnasium, conference centre, 24-hour in-suite dining, Concierge, spectacular award-winning Cocktail Bar and Belle Epoque Patisserie. All suites feature a state-of-the-art entertainment system, Bose stereo, movies-on-demand and 10 free cable TV channels. Guests will find a marble kitchenette and private laundry facilities in every suite. Each private bathroom has a glass-enclosed marble shower with luxury Molton Brown or Etro toiletries. Some suites include a spa bath and balcony. The hotel is located in the Emporium lifestyle precinct in Fortitude Valley –a haven for lovers of fashion and food – just minutes from Brisbane's city centre and chic Valley nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Emporium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing