We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understaffed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Ranked #43 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Understaffed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Basically this is a Mercure and a Pullman rolled into one - but has only ONE reception .

Very nice rooms and facilities. But let down by poor staffing levels.

It does have a coin laundry and good gym

Try somewhere else if you can

Room Tip: get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Propertyking2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Propertyking2000,

Thankyou for taking the time to tell us about your stay. The hotel is in fact 2 separate towers with a shared reception and food & beverage services. I’m sorry if you felt let down by our staffing levels, during certain periods in the hotel we do roster according to the demands of the hotel. I hope that one day you will give the hotel another opportunity.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    724
    318
    91
    52
See reviews for
276
632
115
574
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

The interior of the building generally looked very outdated and worn, and could definitely do with an upgrade. Technically, the Deluxe King Guestroom looks like the photos on the website but not as bright and new; it looks a lot more drab in person. The size of the room is a bit small for 2 people. The bathroom definitely needs more light, especially above the shower. The bathroom door also didn't fit properly into the door frame. The TV is small and outdated. The aircon is also very outdated; it looks like it's from the 80s or 90s.

Not the best view (train tracks). Otherwise, excellent location - across from King George Square and close to Queen St Mall and relatively close to train stations.

The pool is tiny (maybe 10x2m) and it's shared with the Mercure Hotel next door. It also isn't the cleanest.

It's definitely not a 5 star hotel and I probably wouldn't stay again, considering the Hilton is comparable in price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We recently stayed at the Pullman in Brisbane for three nights. It was a beautifully appointed rooms. Clean and well maintained. Fantastic location. The pool and gym are in the connecting hotel Mecure which was a task to get to in itself. The only down side was the service was terrible. We payed a very high price for the service we received. We arrived after a long flight from Perth. We had four bags. Not one of the concierge came to help they were too busy talking to one another in what they called "the welcoming desk". We were promptly seen to when we approached the reception desk but still not helped with our bags or offered a trolley. We took our bags to our room and settled in. In the morning we went for the breakfast. allure was being renovated so I could understand them being a little disorganized but they were REALLY disorganized. We waited a bit for some form of direction. Someone yelled across the restaurant just fill out a piece of paper and sit anywhere. We went to the side filled out our details and then realised the kitchen staff were too busy talking about how sore their arms were from the latest PT session. In the three days we were there we were not greeted, seated or asked if we needed anything once. Even the back packers down the road had better service. The food was barely passable. It's a lovely hotel with a great location but staff are not very tentative or helpful. Based on that I would not stay there again. Especially when there are cheaper hotels offering better services and a gym/pool in the same hotel. I was very disappointed,

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princesschaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Princesschaos,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay it is very clear that we have let you down during your stay and for that I’m very sorry. It’s fair to say the experience you had here was not of the standard someone would expect from a 5 star property. I will be sure to pass you feedback onto our Leadership team for follow-up.

Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guest’s needs.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanthorpe Qld Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have stayed at the Pullman -King George Square on numerous occasions over the past two years.
Its location is very convenient - only a short walk from the Queen Street mall. Parking is easy- the additional fee for valet parking is well worth it especially if you need the car at various times during your stay.
Room types vary. We usually stay in a Deluxe Corner room or a 1 bedroom apartment. The better value is the corner room for a few nights. Bathrooms are large and well appointed. It's always a good idea to ask for a room with a view of Roma Street.
The room service menu is fairly standard but service is efficient and prompt.
Housekeeping staff are cheery and our room was serviced to a high standard each day.
Check in and check out procedures are efficient and there us always an opportunity for feedback via an online survey.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a view of Roma Street
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank greenlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatton, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

My Daughter and I love going to Brisbane to see musicals. We were lucky enough to get a Scoopon deal to stay at Pullmans we were so excited and we were not disappointed, when we arrived we were taken care of by a lovely girl with a lovely name that suited her Victoria Rose in fact all the staff were amazing. We did not have to wait long for our room and while we waited we enjoyed a pot of tea and a muffin at there coffee shop. That night we had pizza for dinner at the Kg bar so tasty and a full buffet breakfast the next morning, all the food was delicious and staff so friendly. The room our first word was wow and the beds so comfortable and Bathroom wow we felt so special all the little extras shower gel etc everything you need. We Love Brisbane and if we ever see a Scoopon for Pullmans again we will be sure to get it we will be on the look out for special deals at this hotel.The location is amazing easy walk to everything and it was quiet. All in all we we had a wonderful overnight stay and we would be happy to do it again and we recommend it highly if you don,t like it here then you are just to hard to please. Wendy & Sarah Aus

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Wendy,

I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to tell us about your stay, I’m very pleased to read what a wonderful time you and your daughter had with us. I’ll be sure to pass onto each department your feedback, which I have no doubt they will be grateful to hear. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again one day!

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I had read some of the reviews on this hotel and they were negative. Our room did overlook the air conditioning and a brick wall but I was not in Brisbane to look at the views from our room so it did not bother me.

We found the check in and check out process very good and our room was spacious and clean.

We would stay there again. It is a fantastic location.

We did not include breakfast as we thought it was over priced and there are other restaurants close by that offered similiar for a better price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,964 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#22 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Brisbane King George Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Brisbane King George Square

Property: Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Address: Cnr Ann and Roma Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#26 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#43 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Brisbane King George Square 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Brisbane accommodation located within walking distance of the Queen Street Mall shopping precinct offering guests a full range of services and facilities in relaxed yet sophisticated surroundings. Facilities include restaurant, cafe and bar, fully equipped gymnasium, rooftop swimming pool and Brisbane's largest hotel conference and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Brisbane King George Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate King George Square Brisbane Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing