We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay this time around. Pros & Cons below”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Ranked #42 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great stay this time around. Pros & Cons below”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
1. Executive rooms are large;
2. Duel basin bathroom;
3. King size bed is a true king size and not just 2 mattresses pushed together;
4. The TV volume is not restricted

Cons:
1. Wifi not free and extremely expensive.
2. Over bath shower screen forces a lot of water on bathroom floor.
3. Located in a culturally deprived part of the CBD but its a short stroll from Roma St Station.
4. Lower levels of the hotel may suffer traffic noise.

Summary;

As a regular traveler to Brisbane, this was only the 2nd time staying here after being left disappointed a few years ago. However scored a great room special for executive suite ($144p/n) and decided to give them a 2nd chance.
I was given top floor (15th floor) with views to the north over Roma St Station.
The room was one of the better rooms I have stayed in and the bed was very comfortable and large. Curtains provided good blockout as the sun does come up early and I didnt hear any noise. I was also offered one free mini bar item daily.
Its not in the best location with the only convenience being that to Roma St Station or local business around western Ann & Turbot st. Saying that its not far to walk to Queen St Mall.

Overall this experience was a positive one and its back on the "go to list".

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Smittzel,

I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay, it is most welcome. Accor is taking steps to assess the internet access in hotels. The 3 higher tiers of our Le Club members now have access to free standard internet.

I was pleased to read and thankful that after a few years you decided to give the hotel another go, I bet it looks different now to when you stayed last! Indeed we are located close to Roma Street station and only a short walk from the River and Queen Street mall.

Smittzel, glad the room was ok for you and what a great rate you got! Thankyou again for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again at the hotel

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    740
    324
    94
    53
See reviews for
285
648
118
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I will start with the positives the hotel is in a great location and the refurbished lobby is certainly very well done and a vast improvement. The upgrades in the room do look okay.

Now the downsides the staff are average but certainly not warm nor welcoming as with many other pullman hotels we have stayed at, the concierge staff were quite ordinary i used my car 4 times in one day through the same person and he still had no idea who i was i mean come on that is pretty weak in my eyes.

Secondly the beds are just disgraceful for a 5 star hotel i cant believe how bad they are and to top it off my partner got bitten both nights by bed bugs, (my partner is a pharmacist) so we know that they were bed bugs by the bite marks on her legs. The bed was also very uncomfortable very rough and not soft at all not what i would call a 5 star experience.

The road noise coming through is quite loud to we were on the 10th floor and still the noise was quite bad not what i would have expected from a hotel of this supposible calibre. There was a note pad in the room with one page left on it i mean come on keep and eye on this and top it up before it gets this low.

The TV did not work although maintenance did come after a while to rectify the problem.

Just the staff in concierge one or two were helpful and the rest were quite arrogant and not helpful with bags or door openings when nearby, once again not up there with other Pullman branded hotels we have stayed at.

I would probably not stay at this hotel again unless there was some changes to bring it inline with what is expected at a 5 star Pullman hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrRedgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear DrRedgrave,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. It is through such feedback that we can improve our service to continue to meet our guests needs.

I was disappointed to read your experience was less than satisfactory and not of the 5 star standard anyone would expect, please accept my apologies for the problems that arose during your stay. You have made some very valid comments that I will pass onto our leadership team for immediate follow-up. Please be assured that we take all our guest back seriously and I hope that in the future that we can welcome you back so you can see that this is not normal standard for the hotel.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corowa, NSW
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Valet car parking at the front door is very convenient and the staff there provided a warm welcome, a great first impression of the hotel. Check in was quick, genuinely friendly and efficient. I ate dinner in the restaurant (Allure Bistro), which was ok. The room was large and bedding very comfortable. Room service breakfast was delivered on time and was huge. Check out was also quick and efficient. All in all, very nice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Germanaussie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Germanaussie67,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. I was pleased to read the team were welcoming, friendly and efficient to you upon arrival, your comments will serve as a great encouragement to them. Overall I’m glad you had a nice stay.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had a quick one night stay for business on Tuesday night. Room was nicely refurbished from my last visit many years ago, and it suited me just fine. It's in a handy location also,near Queen St mall.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Graeme017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Graeme C,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent here at the hotel. Great to read that you found the refurbishment of the rooms nice and we too think the hotel is in a handy location for all that Brisbane offers. Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for a week while on business. The hotel was fully booked when I arrived and couldn't check in early so waited in the nice lobby with a coffee and watched the TV until my room was turned around. The staff where all great, nothing was too much trouble. I did eat in the bar and that was good, with a bit of atmosphere, but there was rugby on the big screen TV which helped.
My room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Comfy bed, with good pillows.
It is the location which is best about this place. If you want to be north of the river then there probably is no better. A 2 minute walk and you are in the pedestrian shop/bar/restaurant area. Its a short walk to the train station if you want to go to "Surfers". A 15 minute walk across the river to the swanky South Bank Area.
I would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welwyn_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear welwyn_steve,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. It sounds as though the hotel met your needs perfectly! We look forward to welcoming you again into the future.

It is always wonderful to receive positive feedback and I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 159 in Brisbane
2,337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#27 of 159 in Brisbane
4,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#9 of 159 in Brisbane
2,756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#52 of 159 in Brisbane
1,702 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#29 of 159 in Brisbane
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Brisbane King George Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Brisbane King George Square

Property: Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Address: Cnr Ann and Roma Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#26 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#41 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Brisbane King George Square 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Brisbane accommodation located within walking distance of the Queen Street Mall shopping precinct offering guests a full range of services and facilities in relaxed yet sophisticated surroundings. Facilities include restaurant, cafe and bar, fully equipped gymnasium, rooftop swimming pool and Brisbane's largest hotel conference and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Brisbane King George Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate King George Square Brisbane Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing