We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really Pullman or Accor worthy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Ranked #43 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not really Pullman or Accor worthy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hotel is in major need of a facelift, staff had major attitude and were extremely unhelpful. Room was dirty with a layer of dust on the bed side table, the mini bar area wasn't to clean either. We stayed in an Executive Room with Executive privileges, on arriving to the executive lounge (located on the ground floor, and not signed) we received a very unfriendly welcome then spent the next 15minutes trying to convince the lounge attendant who we were and that we had in fact not checked out! Turn out she was marking the wrong room off, but took 15minutes of discussion to work this out. Location wise it is well located for Queen Street Mall. Local taxi drivers however did not know hotel had been rebranded Pullman, and this caused some confusion. To rub further insult to the stay, we order a bowl of fries and a bottle of wine - $78 and 55minutes to deliver! On check out we were told that we needed to pay additional money for staying in a club floor even though we had a confirmed and printed reservation with a price and confirmation! Over all, I will NOT be staying at this hotel again, nor recommending it to anyone. MASSIVE THUMBS DOWN!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank cub78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear cub78,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square.

We have just recently had a refurbishment of our Pullman rooms and lobby area but we do hope into the future we give our external walls up the building a facelift as well!

It is disappointing to us that the service you received from the staff been unhelpful, cleanliness of your room to the unwelcome reception you received. Please accept my apologies for the above, it is not normally representative of our service and I will definitely pass you comments onto the relevant team members.

With regards to your charges, please be assured that this will also be passed on. We take all feedback very seriously at the hotel and it is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs. I do hope you give us another chance into the future.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    724
    318
    91
    52
See reviews for
276
632
115
574
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lovely spacious room, we had 2 queen size beds - super comfortable. Great bathroom with double vanities. Received drink vouchers on checkin for the KG bar. The bar is nice and intimate. All staff at reception, restaurant and valet service lovely. Great location, the Queen st Mall is literally 1 minute walk, the casino about 3 minutes and Southbank 7 - 10min walk. Flat rate of $35 for parking self or valet and you can leave car there until 2pm even after checking out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Fantastic to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and what a treat to receive a drink voucher! The staff are great and such an asset to the hotel.

Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I normally stay with another chain but by chance, the hotels in Brisbane were high in occupancy rates which meant i had to be "disloyal" for once. I thought i would give the Mecure chain another chance.

This particular hotel used to be the Seible i believe, and it was quite old and rundown the last time i had an event here. Now, there is a nice open reception area that looks quite modern, the rooms have been modernised and overall comfortable.

Rates in Brisbane have always been slightly higher than thier other east coast counterparts like Melbourne or Sydney and this time was no different.

Room was a standard, King with study desk, bath/shower mix, twin wash basins with a balcony overlooking the old st Andrews church across the street.

Issues i had was the noise level. Even though i was on the 7th floor, the noise from street level is quite loud but that dies down after about 11:30pm.
The key card system here is still quite old, (you know the ones with a magnetic strip that erases itself when you you put within 6 feet of a mobile device) i had to get my key card reprogrammed 3 out of 4 nights which is annoying. Not sure about the security level of the lifts, as the card would allow access to my floor but not allow access to my room. Having to go down 7 floors and wait behind guests checking in to get a key cut every night is not my idea of fun.

Internet connection is $29 for a 24 hour period, again a pet gripe of mine with hotels however at least the Pullman has this service on both Wired and wireless flavours. Speed isnt the best, but decent for emails and general surfing.

Breakfast service was average, no one offered any tea or coffee on arrival, all self service but there is wait staff to remove plates etc.. The deal is to prepay for breakfast which costs $20 as opposed to paying on the day which is around $39.00 per person.

Taxi rank in front of the hotel is great, never a long wait for a taxi here but it is quite central and walkable to most of the city sights for tourists and businesses .

Overall, i probably will try my preferred chain first but i think the sofitel of the mecure chain would be option B, with this property as option C.

Room Tip: Dont get a street facing room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear GavinP12,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. We have in the last 12 months done a full refurbishment of the Pullman rooms, conference facilities and lobby area, making it nice and modern for our guests.

We always try to maintain a competitive rate for our guests, as Brisbane is a smaller city it is quite a competitive market. The Accor Hotels website often has some great deals at the hotel. I’m sorry you were disturbed by the street noise, I hope that it did not disturb your night too much and thank you as well for your comments regarding our key system, it is most definitely something we can look into in the future along with the internet charges.

Please accept my apologies regarding the service you received at breakfast. This is not usually representative of the service that we offer at the hotel and I will pass your comments onto our Food and Beverage Manager for follow-up.

GavinP12, please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback from our guests, that we can continue to improve our service to meet our guests needs

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indooroopilly, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our FIJI Airways flight was cancelled, we were immediately ferried by taxi (Indian driver took us on the scenic route) to the hotel. Reception area is borderline informal, however, looks can be deceptive, staff are up to standard. No, the star rating is definitely not deserved.
The rooms are comfortable, the beds exceptional, firm and the linen was beyond reproach.
Location, location, excellent. Unfortunately, we didn't take advantage of the breakfast buffet, (hangover), but I had a gander, yes, it looked absolutely grand. I would never pay this kind of money, I would suggest that one take a good look around, price wise, if you want value for your hard earned bucks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philwarner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear QuechanAustralia,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. I’m sorry to hear your flight was cancelled, delaying what I’m sure was a lovely trip to Fiji. We have just recently refurbished our reception area, making it welcoming, which you seem to have experienced in our staff. The beds are quite fresh and new in the rooms – such a luxury. What a shame you didn’t get to experience breakfast in the restaurant, perhaps next time you stay with us.

We always have great promotional rates going at the hotel for people to enjoy a stay with us, I would recommend having a look on Accor Hotels or perhaps becoming an Accor Advantage Plus member to enjoy the great rates and benefits they have to offer.

It is always wonderful to receive positive feedback and I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Success, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed here for a work conference and was really impressed from the moment I arrived.

I flew in from Perth late at night and was welcomed as if it was first thing in the morning. The room was spacious and offered everything you would need. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were huge. The only complaint was the shower wasn't powerful enough.

Breakfast was fantastic and the choice was great. We has our conference on site and it was great. The rooms were spacious and the food provided during the breaks was excellent.

I would stay here again without a second thought. You're also a short walk to all the local sights and attractions.

Thank you Pullman you're great!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_nathan_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear d_nathan_99,

Thank you for the kind feedback you have left about our hotel, it is much appreciated.

Fantastic to hear you had an enjoyable stay from the size of the room, comfort of the beds, breakfast in the restaurant to our conference facilities. You really did get to experience all aspects of our hotel! Thank you as well for your comments regarding the shower, it is most definitely something our maintenance team can look into.

d_nathan_99, I hope we have the chance to welcome you again into the future.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary and we did it in style. We caught a flight from our home city of Sydney destination beautiful Brisbane. Our hotel of choice was the Pullman. Although the hotel was going through renovations, the staff were most warm and friendly and catered to our every need. The room was high and extremely clean. We had everything you could wish for. The down stairs bar was reasonably priced and the service was second to none.
Our bed was one of the inviting and comfortable we have slept in.
I recommend this hotel for its location (central to everything).

Room Tip: Ask for a high room above 7 and request to face east
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear John,

Happy Anniversary! It means a lot that you spent your anniversary here at the hotel. What’s even better is that it sounds like you had a terrific stay. We strive to cater to every guest need at the hotel, it’s fantastic you got to experience that and have a sleep in!

John, thank you for your feedback, it will serve as good encourage to the team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiara, Solomon Islands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star - The Star Rating for this Pullman Hotel are very small in deed.
No way that the Pullman Brisbane King George Square is a Five Star Hotel - do not be fooled by by the rating, this is maybe a Three Star at best, an old hotel with a rating way beyond the stars.
The room I was given was darkish and dingy, small too by a Five Star Standard, very dated, the bathroom was gruby, the grout between the tiles in the shower had not a good clean in a very long time, no complmentary tooth brush or razor, no free wi fi or internet.
A good location, but expensive, service or the lack of it is note worthy, asking for a taxi and being told there is Taxi Rank out on the street and pointing to the vehicles parking lot out front (none of which were taxi's) is not very professional for a Five Star Establishment, having drunken youths running wild in the reception area and no sign of security is not what I expected either. Being told at the front desk that the elevators are down there round the corner is not what I expected either, no offer of assistance with baggage, not what I expected either. A very noisy crowded bar called the KG Bar with drunks falling over one another, again no sight of security. I have to wonder why a Hotel is given a Five Star Rating and charges Five Star Prices for belonging to an Exclusive Hotel Group. We did not eat there as we were informed at reception that the Hotel is rather full and the dinning room is too busy, you could try room service??? No thanks took a short walk for take aways.
Been there, done that, ticked it off and am over it - wont be back.

Room Tip: Try a Different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwimotorsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear TropoKiwi,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Mercure Brisbane King George Square.

It is disappointing to us that the service you received was not of the standard that you should expect when staying in a hotel, please accept my apologies. We do take all feedback very seriously at the hotel. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs. I will ensure your comments are passed onto our Food & Beverage Manager, Executive Housekeeper and Rooms Division Manager.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#22 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Brisbane King George Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Brisbane King George Square

Property: Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Address: Cnr Ann and Roma Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#26 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#43 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Brisbane King George Square 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Brisbane accommodation located within walking distance of the Queen Street Mall shopping precinct offering guests a full range of services and facilities in relaxed yet sophisticated surroundings. Facilities include restaurant, cafe and bar, fully equipped gymnasium, rooftop swimming pool and Brisbane's largest hotel conference and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Brisbane King George Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate King George Square Brisbane Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing