We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Ranked #43 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the pullman the last week in March and found it an overall pleasing experience. The valet parking, quick no fuss checkin. The room was large and well furnished. One small but important feature were the pillows, most comfortable. The one complaint I had was the air conditioning, it was loud enough to be annoying, I had to turn it off during the night.
The hotel is well situated (next to City Hall) a short walk to the Casino and the Mall.
The cheerful and friendly staff went a long way towards making this stay a most pleasant experience.

Room Tip: our room at the front had a view of the parklands, a room at the rear, from the upper floors at leas...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,886)
There are newer reviews for Pullman Brisbane King George Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,469 - 1,475 of 1,886 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed for one night in late March 2012 due to a missed flight connection so the stay was basically at the expense of Virgin Australia.
Check-in was prompt and efficient and my questions on what was included by the airline were answered efficiently.

I received a voucher for dinner in the bistro and to be honest it was very disappointing.

I started to take exception when I was told twice by the surly staff that the Virgin Australia voucher was not for drinks and the food that I had ordered was over the $50 limit. I didn't care! I had been travelling for over six hours and was hungry and thirsty! Unfortunately the restaurant or Bistro, as I think it was called, didn't really deliver on either count. The so called medium "Black Angus" steak should have been supplied with a chainsaw and the glass of Shiraz that I ordered with the meal never arrived. I have eaten a lot of Black Angus steak and I would seriously talk with your meat suppliers, someone is getting ripped off....The ice cream dessert however was very good.

The room was clean and comfortable for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrAustralasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear SteveMani,

It’s unfortunate to hear your experience in the restaurant was not up to the standard you would expect from a hotel such as ours. I will most definitely pass your comments onto our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager for follow-up.

Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I took this hotel needing to stay within the Accor group to reach status level. I had an Executive King room. Location much closer to the action than i was expecting - it looks a long way to walk on the map down to Southbank/Convention centre, but it wasn't at all.
The lobby is spacious, the service at front counter friendly and helpful.
The lifts were always fast and available.
The decor was all brand new - still new carpet smell - the toiletries were good, aircon worked fast, good shower strength. Room service was prompt, although too prompt the second night (I was there on a project so staying in to work!) - the dim sum dish was not cooked. Quickly replaced though. I had WiFi issues (my own) - the service provided was very efficient and helpful. I was pretty happy with this hotel, and I'm very fussy - except as a Gold Accor member, I am supposed to get special extras at Pullmans - I didnt know this til I got home, and they certainly didn't offer them, so point it out if you go there!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goingfor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Goingfor100,

It’s fantastic to hear the hotel was better than you were expecting, thankyou for your kind comments. Feedback like yours it most definitely encouraging for our team and I will pass it on.

I’m glad you had a good stay at the hotel and thankyou for bringing to our attention that you did not receive the extras you were entitled too, please accept my apologies and I will bring it to the attention of our Rooms Division Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Nice property, nice rooms,well serviced, one of the best concierge services I've encountered.
Only issue is with that Australianpractice of charging your account with an extra $100.00 then leaving you to wait to get the credit. Nasty way to deal with the concern that is expected to protect the hotel from.
Also, very outdated approach to providing wifi access. Could certainly join the norn and make it free at a place of this standing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brians101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The name of the hotel was too long and hard to remember not good if you want to ask a taxi. The lobby was freezing cold so every time you enter the lobby you think its cold outside get changed and roast outside.
On Sunday morning the cleaner decided to start vacuuming at 6am with the nearby room door open. Then she returned again at 7am and did another room with the door open. Common courtesy would be to close the door when vacuuming at that hour especially on the weekend.
On a birghter note the rooms look good and the location is great

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pooleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Pooleh,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. I’m sorry you were woken by the cleaner at an early time. I have spoken with our Executive Housekeeper and we will look into the procedure of cleaning early room.

Pooleh, again I thank you for your feedback and I hope that you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We got this hotel on a Mystery Deal quite cheap and was not expecting much. Well it was great 2 queen beds to 1 room - very comfortable. Was then given the chance to upgade and so glad we did. Service was 10/10 especially the lady doing breakfast on her own in the lounge. Will defo go back to this hotel and pay full price

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shani_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Shani_1990,

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. It is always wonderful to receive positive feedback and I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is definately nothing to look at from the outside. The pullman tower and adjacent Mercure are a bit of an eyesore. But accor have done a good job on renovating the Pullman rooms. Great furnishings and decor. The bathroom looked original but was clean and functional. Although I do hate a shower over a bath...
Staff were friendly and professional. I didnt visit the pool, but was advised that it was located at the top of the Mercure tower. The lifts were a little confusing to know where you are going... Despite this being a very old hotel, the renovation has been done well and I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Roma Park
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brocko25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Brocko25,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. It is always wonderful to receive positive feedback and I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team!

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Pullman Brisbane King George Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 168 in Brisbane
2,402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#14 of 168 in Brisbane
3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#29 of 168 in Brisbane
4,137 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#30 of 168 in Brisbane
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Brisbane King George Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Brisbane King George Square

Address: Cnr Ann and Roma Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#26 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#27 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#42 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $118 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Brisbane King George Square 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Brisbane accommodation located within walking distance of the Queen Street Mall shopping precinct offering guests a full range of services and facilities in relaxed yet sophisticated surroundings. Facilities include restaurant, cafe and bar, fully equipped gymnasium, rooftop swimming pool and Brisbane's largest hotel conference and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Brisbane King George Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate King George Square Brisbane Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing