We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boring but good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Brisbane King George Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Ranked #45 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Boring but good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Unlike Sofitel, Pullman recognises Le Club status. That's about the only thing you can say that Pulman has going for it over its Accor cousin.

I quite liked the Spa Suite I stayed in. It's certainly nice, modern and spacious. Oversized desk is good, facing into a wall, bad. The bed is good though standard. The bathroom is very spacious, however probably doesn't define luxury at this point, which another way of saying it is dated.

The executive lounge is merely good as well, if not somewhat lackluster. Perhaps it's because I'm very partial to the Sofitel lounge, but an enclosed room on ground floor with no view whatsoever is a bummer. The breakast is fine if continental is all you're after. You will have to look elsewhere for a hot foods - and I don't mean the on-site resturant, which is decided average. On a positive note, happy hour is great ....

As far as service goes, walking through the door I was dismayed by the tiny checkin desk which services both Pullman and Mercure. However, to their credit they were very accommodating and efficient on all my dealings.

Overall then, I think Pullman is fine - it's good, though certainly not 5-star in my opinion. It's worth a look if you can score a special rate and you have status. Otherwise, there are better options in this price bracket elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifford712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Clifford 712,

Thank you for the time you took to review your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. I’m glad you liked the room in which you stayed and as the lounge is still new to us, we welcome any feedback from our guests that have experienced it, so thank you.

We are presently finishing the final touches of our refurbishment. The reception desk which you were checked it at, is in fact our old concierge desk (the old reception desk was dismantled several weeks ago) and as of yesterday the boarding went up in the lobby for works to begin on our new reception desk which will be positioned in the middle of our lobby area in front of the doors.

Clifford712, I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    715
    313
    91
    51
See reviews for
271
624
115
568
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Desford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very comfortable beds and a great location but I found the hotel was let down on 2 counts by it's "gym" facilities.
When compared to sister hotels (also part of the Accor group) in the mercure and Novotel, I had a work out just to get to the gym and then found it had limited access (novotel is 24 hour) and minimal equipment. When away from home I wanted something more.
One night i ate in the restaurant with a colleague and while the food was ok it could have been so much better with just a limited choice and too many standard dishes. I didn't eat breakfast at the hotel because (like so many Australian hotels) the prices are just a rip off. It also annoys me that Australian hotels think it's ok to charge extra for wireless internet access. (both are pet peeves of mine)
All in all though if you ignore the annoyances I would go back here as the rooms are good and sleep quality fine. I'd jsut make sure I ate elsewhere and brought my own exercise equipment with me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Pieter,

Thankyou for your review of the hotel. Unfortunately the gym isn’t 24hours as you found out, however it is open 5.30-10.00pm each day. You have some very valid points in your comment for us to follow-up on and I thank you for that as it helps us to improve our service for future guests.

Pieter, I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at the Brissy Pullman which on the site I booked was a self rated 5 star - I think they are a little ahead of themselves and it shouldn't be rated 5 probably 4. There are two towers of this hotel one side is the Mecure and the other the Pullman - The Mecure occupies the older of the two towers but has the swimming pool and gym. The Pullman has been renovated and the room was spacious, clean but not luxurious as expected in a 5 start. You have to go down in the lift and cross over between buildings to use the pool or gym - on the roof. The location is good, the bar downstairs was a great place to sit and relax. The concierge staff were very good and valet parked our car - and had it ready on the driveway the next morning. There is an additonal charge for parking - $28 which is very good in the city. Our room overlooked the Roma Street parklands and train line - so I'm sure the other side would have had some city views - would have preferred that of course. Check in and out was quick and the staff friendly. Wouldn't be my first choice in Brisbane but is ok if you get a competitive room rate just dont expect 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask if you can be on the town hall side for a possible city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Judi M,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. It sounds like you got to experience the fantastic customer service our staff deliver at the hotel. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs and I hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Large and comfortable bed, full blackout darkness (important for those of us trying to have a rare sleep-in!) and staff at check in-and-out were fast and friendly. I will stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Infinity_Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalby, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Staff were wonderful. Executive room was well appointed, very clean and spacious. Club lounge nibbles were nice but were a little slow in replacement. Not exceptional... but nice. Club staff were attentive with drinks. Restaurant was disappointing in regard to the menu. The Room service menu was exceptional, but Restaurant did not have similar meals - especially the Wood fired pizzas. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and have booked our return stay already!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 541401Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear 541401Mike,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

When a hotel bills itself as 4.5 stars, it sets expectations. When these expectations fall flat, it creates disappointment. That's what happened here.

It's not that the hotel was bad, however, my overall opinion of this place was that it was a bit of a ripoff. There is some competition in Brisbane now for upscale accommodation, and these guys don't have a clue.

Overall, the place would be a reasonable 3 stars. Calling itself 4.5 stars is taking the mickey. The room was functional, but small, there was no ice in the minibar, the sounds of water running in nearby rooms was so bad I asked to be moved. There was absolutely no view from either of my rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porotodean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Dear Sir/ Mdm,

I am writing to let you know how much I appreciate the outstanding customer service that your staff provided. I'd like to compliment a few of your employees, Keiron, Micheal, for the excellent service they provided me last week. They helped me to search for my misplaced items when I checked out on the 23rd January 2013.

Please let Keiron and Micheal, as well as the other employees in your department, know that their efforts did not go unnoticed. You have put together a great team that makes customers feel respected and valued.

Yours sincerely,
Ruth

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruru21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Ruth,

Your comments regarding the customer service and team at the hotel are much appreciated and we cannot thankyou enough. We do have some fantastic team members at the hotel and I will ensure your comments are passed onto Michael and Keiron.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#26 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,918 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#52 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Brisbane King George Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Brisbane King George Square

Property: Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Address: Cnr Ann and Roma Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#26 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#44 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Brisbane King George Square 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Brisbane accommodation located within walking distance of the Queen Street Mall shopping precinct offering guests a full range of services and facilities in relaxed yet sophisticated surroundings. Facilities include restaurant, cafe and bar, fully equipped gymnasium, rooftop swimming pool and Brisbane's largest hotel conference and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Pullman Brisbane King George Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate King George Square Brisbane Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing