We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Brisbane(Brisbane)
$158
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jen Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$105
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal On The Park(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$113
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$96
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Point Brisbane Hotel(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$118
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$150
$99
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$147
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,083)
Filter reviews
2,084 results
Traveler rating
720
820
373
111
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
720
820
373
111
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskg barthe executive loungebalcony roomroom servicecity hallaccor membervalet parkingqueen street mallcentral locationreception areaan upgradecomfortable roomsrooftop poolbuffet breakfastwould stay againpublic transportbusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
1,789 - 1,794 of 2,084 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in Citigate King George when we came to visit our relatives in Brisbane. It was really nice since the rate is affordable and offers pretty much all the facility a 4.5 star hotel could provide.

The best thing about this property is its location. It is situated right the opposite the Brisbane Town Hall and less than a minute walk to Queens Street.

However, it seems that the bathroom need some extra attention to detail and the shower box is kinda small.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liong-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We needed a city hotel for one night and this room was secured through Lastminute.com. The receptionist's attitude changed when I asked detailed questions about the security bond taken from my card.
There was no offer of help with our bags (even though we would have declined).
When we called room service for some ice and a cocktail shaker we were told that the shaker wasn't possible as the bar was 'very,very busy'. It did arrive an hour later (shaker with no lid). However in the interim we visited the bar where we spotted one customer!
The bathroom ceiling height was not legal (i.e. false ceiling) and as such the shower head was great for our shoulders but we had to squat to wash hair.
Requested newspaper was replaced with the local rag.

In view of the fact that there are many city hotels, we would not bother with this one again. There was nothing outstanding here to leave a positive impression.

Room Tip: Twin share (double beds) have larger space
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed in the Sebel "Deluxe" room and I was pretty disappointed by the quality of the rooms for the Sebel name (and considering the 'deluxe' term).

When booking, I paid a bit extra and chose the Sebel rooms rather than the Citigate rooms as I expected a much better standard of accommodation but would rate it as average at best. What is interesting is that my colleague had recently stayed in the Citigate rooms and he mentioned that these Sebel rooms were still much better than Citigate...

The rooms seem quite dated, dull, lacking good lighting, cold and in general not totally comfortable. It was quite dusty in some parts, a few pillows were marked and the carpet really showed its age with many stains.

The bathroom was of the same theme and when you close the shower curtain, you are almost in darkness as the unattractive curtains will cover pretty much all lighting. Just a note, the bathroom photo on tripadvisor: "Sebel Deluxe Bathroom (Aug 2012)Provided by management" is NOT as it shows. My colleague had the same bathroom as me with the shower curtains and lack of good lighting so I can be pretty sure of this (check out my actual photo).

The location is pretty good, just a few minutes walk to Queen St mall and a fair reasonable walk to Southbank. The service was also good hence I would otherwise of given the hotel a 2 star poor rating but these factors brought it back to a 3 star average rating (just though!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krazy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane.

I’m sorry that you were disappointed by the quality of our Sebel Deluxe rooms. At present we do have several refurbished floors, these rooms are known as our Sebel Premium rooms. The rest of the Sebel tower will be going through a full refurbishment later this year to early next year. We are looking forward to the continuation of the refurbishment and hope to welcome you again soon.

With regards to the bathroom photo, it is in fact a picture of our Sebel Premium Bathroom. The title of the picture has now been rectified. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through feedback such as yours, that we can improve our product to meet our guests needs. I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I found this hotel through wotif.com, and stayed for three nights.
It was in a nice location, within walking distance of everything. The lobby was impressive and the staff were very friendly (the front desk staff maybe not so much, they were very proper and polite though). Our room was clean, but fairly small. The bed was very comfy and the shower was great.
Two complaints I have, is our TV was terrible (1406). Half the time the sound wouldn't work, or the screen wouldn't, so I had to turn it off and back on! They definitely require an update!
Another one was that at one stage, we entered the elevator and attempted to swipe the card to access the choice of levels, and it wasn't working. The door closed behind us and we went for a ride up to the top floor, picking up passengers on the way. It was highly embarrassing, and once everyone got off, the card STILL wouldn't work. So we went down to the Ground floor and at the front desk we were informed our card had expired. She fixed it up quickly and matter factly for us.
Apart from these two things, it was a comfortable stay, which is what you want when you're away from home!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane.

It is always great to receive any kind of feedback and I will ensure your comments about the TV and room key not working in the lift are passed onto our Engineering and Front Office teams.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I sourced this hotel through a wotif mystery package. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The highlight for me was the location a very short walk to the city. Unfortunately the room service was average and a limited menu. Whilst the room was clean an opened bottle of champagne from the previous occupant had been left in the mini bar.

Room Tip: Request an internal facing room otherwise you risk significant traffic noise
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane and your kind comments about the cleanliness of the room and the friendly and helpful staff. We too think the location is great!

It is always good to receive any feedback and I will ensure your comments about the room service and minibar are passed onto our Food and Beverage team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews